OpenRice Index
  
gogofoodie
This is gogofoodie . I am a :]I like to hang out in City Hall, Clarke Quay, Pasir Ris. Japanese, Fusion are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, Café and Seafood, BBQ, Desserts and Cakes.
Member 83 First(s)
No. of Review739 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity4469 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1416 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant13 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲551 Follower(s)
gogofoodie  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 739 Reviews in Singapore
Best Matcha Parfait? Smile Oct 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Desserts and Cakes

 

 
Being a fan of green tea desserts I had to try Nana's Green Tea. I got a matcha parfait which has green tea ice cream, red beans, crunchy cornflakes, vanilla ice cream, and green tea jelly at the bottom. Portion is huge so share among 2 or 3 people. It is actually the closest to the matcha parfaits I've tried in Japan; strong matcha taste for the ice cream. I would prefer a chewier jelly to the agar agar-like green tea jelly at the bottom though. Bill amounted to $13+.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dim Sum OK Oct 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

 

 

 

 

 

 
I've read about a few unique dim sum dishes at Mouth Restaurant and so specially made a trip there to try them. They have a tea time promo from 3 to 5pm, 30% off dim sum; but the colouful har gao, squid ink bun and liu sha bao are all not included in the promo.

We loved the XO sauce that came with the colouful har gao ($9.80), the skin made from sweet potato, squid ink, pumpkin, carrot, spinach, if I'm not wrong. They actually taste rather similar but it's quite attractive with it's different colours. Squid Ink Char Siew Bao ($5++) is not available for dinner (their other dim sums are available whole day will 7.45pm); it's really normal char siew bao, just that perhaps the bun is a little fluffier than the normal ones.

Had to try their famous liu sha bao ($5.40) which is baked instead of a steamed bun; didn't like that the filling was very oily, and I would prefer steamed buns as the salted egg custard is already very overwhelming and oily, and the baked bun is buttery as well, a plain bun would be better.

Was disappointed that they didn't have the dessert combination I saw on pictures (perhaps only at the other outlet) that came with durian mochi (?). I nevertheless ordered the purple sweet potato puree to try. It was cold and grainy, a good refreshing dessert, but quite filling, so it's better to share.

Bill came up to $40 for 2.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good (but expensive) Pies Smile Oct 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

 

 

 

 
I've read about this place and so made a special trip there on a Friday afternoon. It was late afternoon but was extremely crowded, customers coming in non-stop to get takeaways, and all tables were occupied, so it was a little noisy.

The decor was rather impressive, from the store front (as you can see, like a small little hut) to the interior, it was like a place out of some fairy tale; gives a warm cosy feeling. You can't help but keep staring at this gigantic lazy bear lying beside the wooden trees.

 
As I didn't like desserts that are overly sweet, I picked the Coconut Lime Vodka Pie - "Filled with zesty lime curd, intoxicating cubes of vodka jelly and topped with a swirl of coconut cream" - basically that's it. I like how the lime taste is distinct but not overpowering, and the vodka jelly within is actually a little bitter. Great pie.

I also got the Grasshopper - "a yummy chocolate flourless cake base topped with a crazy fresh mint cream". This is one of the rare chocolate based dessert that is not too rich or overly sweet. The chocolate cake tastes like fluffy mousse, and one won't get sick of eating it, unlike many other chocolate desserts (and the s'mores pie I suppose?). The mint cream complements the whole pie very well.

 
We were very full from the two pies but were greedy, so we got the Strawberry Lemon Pie - which was recommended by their staff as their best-seller. A very refreshing and fragrant tart. I especially loved the 2 strawberry jelly-like sticks within; just like solid strawberry puree/fruit chews, very good. However, I would still prefer the Lime Vodka pie to this as this is rather common-tasting.

We also had a pot of tea at $6; you can smell the tea leaves and choose from among 5-6 different Gryphon teas. We got the Aloe Vera one and it was smooth and goes well with the pies. The best thing about it is it's for 2, and you can refill the pot with water as many times as you like (tempts people to order more pies as well).

The pies cost $7-$8, quite expensive, but I guess you pay for the decor, ambience, and a change from the usual cakes. They frequently introduce limited edition flavours, like the Bourbon Pumpkin pie that will soon be released in conjunction with Halloween - be sure to catch that.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Coconut Lime Vodka Pie,Grasshopper
 
Date of Visit: Oct 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chicken Wings Smile Oct 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | BBQ | Kids-Friendly

 

 
My mum bought home some chicken wings from the famous stall at Bedok 85; I haven't been there since it was renovated though. This stall is one of the more popular stalls selling chicken wings, at one for $1.30. The chicken wings were a little soggy when they got home, but they were still very tasty and well grilled. Meat was also very tender and easily detachable. I preferred the wings to the drum sticks as the meat is more tender.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cream Puffs OK Oct 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bakery

 

 
I wanted to get something for breakfast and decided to get cream puffs from Beard Papa, which used to be my favourite cream puffs. It costs $2.40 for the original one, and $3 for mango and durian. It was quite disappointing that their cream puffs seem to have shrunk in size, and is much smaller from the last time I got their cream puffs (which was very long ago). Nevertheless, the custard cream is still good when chilled. I also tried one durian one, and the durian cream was rich.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0