OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 41 First(s)
No. of Review333 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1729 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲230 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 333 Reviews in Singapore
The Best Crab Beehoon Soup Smile Nov 20, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Zi Char

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/11/20/the-best-crab-beehoon-soup-uncle-leong-jurong-east-on-17nov2015/
bought S$200 groupon voucher & 5 of us went to uncle leong seafood jurong east for crabby dinner on 17.11.2015. ^^
all my friends agreed this the best crab beehoon soup we had for years!
2 of us were there slightly earlier at 6.45pm. the crowd came in later & place was quite well patronised, not sure if it was because of the groupon deals.
we managed to get 2x1kg sri lankan crabs. ^^
at first the lady server said may not have 1kg (only bigger) but she went anyway to check & i went over also, and she got the 2x1kg crabs.
they had display shelves.
we decided on 1 crab beehoon soup. i asked about the dry crab beehoon but seemed that it was not a popular order. we picked the golden sand crab + 1 deep-fried mantou 馒头 (or buns).
crabs were S$63/k. we ordered 4 other dishes – a 3eggs spinach, spicy minced pork tofu (锅仔豆腐), sea cucumber seafood pot and a pumpkin prawns.
the crab beehoon soup was pure heaven!!! ^^
so intense, smooth, sweet, and the crab was firm & “solid” (there was actually a clause on the online menu saying they do not guarantee that the crabs are “solid”).
for me, heaven was a long time coming.
last time i had crab beehoon soup was december 2014 at mama kong. no comparisons really!
& before that, maybe fast backwards 15 years? at melben toa payoh ave 8.
the other dishes we ordered turned out to be good, very good to excellent too.
the spicy minced pork tofu (锅仔豆腐) belonged to the just “good” category. a very competent dish actually, can’t really criticise it, but the spicy chilli not the type i like & not so matching food.
this 3 eggs spinach was quite excellent.
one of the best tasting i had. spinach was crunchy not overcooked & you could taste the 3 eggs distinct flavours quite well.
& this was a really, really good sea cucumber seafood treasure pot.
the sea cucumber, prawns, fish, razor clams, scallops etc were all very fresh & the broth was really delicate, smooth but super tasty, par excellence!
for me, this dish can rank with what top chinese restaurants here can deliver.
the pumpkin prawns was very competent dish. prawns were fresh, same preparations basically deep-fried. only difference with wasabi, salted egg etc was the sauce.
for me, the golden sand crab was very good too. this was their signature dish.
the crab though same 1kg, somehow had smaller claws, still good but overall the crab beehoon soup trumped this.
deep-fried mantou 馒头 (or buns) to dip in the creamy sauce.
dinner came to S$234, so with the groupon voucher discount (S$119.80 for S$200), it was S$154 for 5pax, 6 excellent dishes with 2x1kg crab dishes & a really “right up there” sea cucumber seafood treasure pot. about S$31pax nett.
i must add that the service & attitude (almost entire army of chinese servers) were really good. i gave them a sizable tip when leaving.
we all enjoyed the dinner & company tremendously.
i bought another voucher when i got back.

 

 
crabby dinner

crabby dinner

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 17, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $31

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Very Nice Chendol Smile May 01, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Desserts and Cakes

See my full review & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/04/30/good-scissor-cut-curry-rice-at-toa-payok-lor-8-food-centre-on-30apr2016/
after the scissor cut curry rice lunch, my friend went to get the chendol, the stall that former PM mr Goh Chok Tong likes.
this the really authentic version. very nice kidney beans, quite a lot of palm fruits (atap chee) & very flavourful gula melaka & coconut milk.
one of the best chendol i had, very nice, really enjoyed it!

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 30, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $2

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Really Nice Fine Chinese Dinner Smile Oct 02, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/10/02/really-nice-fine-chinese-dinner-xin-cuisine-on-1oct2015/
wife & i went to xin cuisine for dinner on 1.10.2015.^^
though this is a palate restaurant, we had never use the amex palate privileges here before today.
the last time we had a superb fine dining here was 2.5yrs ago on 31.3.2013 for a ANZ set promotion.
in fact, soup looked quite pathetic but it tasted phenomenal!!!
i think this excellent lie tong 例汤 should be offered & served in a nice earthen pot like at tunglok or say lei gardens in hk instead of an individual per portion serving. at the very least, either if it is served per portion, it should be done in a nice bowl instead of a jack’s place kind of soup serving!
must try to do this lie tong at home.
actually the duck & veg were just as phenomenal!
this tea infused duck is the best roast duck i tried!! definitely better than the very nice duck at canton paradise.
the tea fragrance was so lingering! amazing! restaurant manager said it was because the hk chef not only smoked but also marinated the duck in tea.
maybe i will try my tea infused duck again…
this preserved vege with chinese small cabbage & egg plant was super also.
the flavours of the preserved vegetables with the light soy sauce, not salty, was inviting.
a very fine vegetable dish.
the big prawn crispy noodles was great, as expected.
crispy noodles & broth all good.
lobster noodles also good, but broth tasted perhaps just a wee bit not as good.
overall still a very good dish.
i tried my own king prawns braised noodles previously which tasted pretty good too.
this a really nice enjoyable dinner & with 50% for 2pax amex palate discounts, dinner was just S$69.
for me, the dishes were very fine, the soup was wonderful, & the duck quite divine, delicate & lingering tea flavours, and so was the veg. the prawn noodles & lobsters noodles were more ordinary dishes but very well executed, real good class.
service was ok, except at the beginning server took inordinately long time to respond to taking orders (even after acknowledging which already took long time) when there were just 3 tables including our own.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $35

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Enjoyable Dinner  Smile Apr 19, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | Restaurant | Fine Dining

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/04/18/enjoyable-dinner-at-il-lido-on-12apr2015/
had delightful 2pax dinner with wife at il lido on 12.4.2015.^^
had not been to il lido like 5yrs maybe? recently daughter was here & shared photos on family whatsapp, so we decided to come try ourselves after so long.
we came just before sundown & sat outdoor. not so humid this evening & really pleasant terrace ambience & wonderful dinner.^^
we were served 2 amuse bouche.
first was a mushroom cappuccino/foam. there were mushroom bits at the bottom & some balsamic cream & some barley etc on top. taste was intense, fabulous. texture combination excellent too.
wife said what the server liked to hear, that this was better than jaan’s.
for me though, nothing beats jaan’s cepes mushroom tea amuse bouche. but since jaan’s was taken out of feed at raffles, and i am never going to pay full price for the degustation dinner at jaan, this would be the next best thing, i guess! & its close too!^^
second amuse bouche – crispy cheese risotto…quite ok i guess, but no impressions vs the mushroom foam.
quite good bread basket.
we ordered a grilled octopus to share.
it’s pretty good really. octopus was tender (like sous vide). there were some sausages.
for the mains, we basically go with the restaurant favourites & there server’s recommendations, and ordered the scampi & sea urchin taglioni & the black cod, asparagus & sea urchin. both were featured in the degustation set menu.
the scampi & uni tagliolini was tasty, not intense but subtle & pleasing. tagliolini though was too soft NOT al dente.
it had expensive ingredients like uni but overall taste & experience wise, i would not consider it better than most pastas i do myself.
black cod was great!
will try the other signature dish, the bone marrow crusted angus beef tenderloin next time.
we had a passionfruit sorbet & a coconut gelato to share. sorbet was tangy & excellent, gelato no coconut flavours nothing like the delicious coconut ice cream on 雪中情怀mango pomelo dessert we had at tunglok.
dinner cost S$100nett include 1 glass of white.
it’s really quite excellent ambience & food for a couples dinner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 12, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/01/19/irresistible-curry-chicken-noodles-ah-heng-on-19jan2015/
went downtown to do some chores on 19.1.2015.

could not resist dropping by hong lim food centre to eat ah heng curry chicken noodles. ^^

i was lucky there was no queue at about 3.20pm. this my favourite hawker food. used to be bakuteh but these days i don’t take that much & bakuteh is so easily done at home.

not that i eat curry chicken noodles often either. the last time i took ah heng curry chicken noodles was on 16.9.2013. but of course i had heng kee’s curry chicken noodle not so long ago on 7.11.2014.

of the two, i still prefer ah heng. for me, even the food photos for ah heng looked more appealing.

i took the S$6 large noodle with chicken thigh (鸡尾). i mean the chicken was really tender & sweet, better than some chicken rice stalls. i can do the chicken pretty well actually (in my own curry chicken noodles), but there is just no comparing the curry! it is sweet, tasty, flavourful, spicy.

just as well this place not near my house. got to drive, park & pay ERP somehow just to get here.

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 19, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0