OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 41 First(s)
No. of Review333 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1721 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲230 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 333 Reviews in Singapore
Much Below Par Crab Beehoon Soup  OK May 10, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Zi Char

See my full reviews & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/05/07/much-below-par-crab-beehoon-soup-uncle-leong-jurong-east-on-6may2016/
i arranged a 5pax lunch with my OPS primary school buddies at uncle leong jurong east on 6.5.2016. ^^
i had quite many excellent crab beehoon soup at uncle leong jurong east last year (2015).
& recently a OPS primary school buddy bought a very good lunch at red house, so i wanted to let them try the crab beehoon soup at uncle leong.
price of crab has gone up from S$63/kg to S$68/kg. adding soup still S$5.
higher price is ok, but somehow the soup was not as intense & flavourful as every of the previous times i had???
if you look at the 2 past photos above, the soup previously all had a deeper yellow colour. just by the look, it appeared more delicious than what we had today!
also, as one friend mentioned immediately, the crab was not as “strong” ie the meat texture is not as firm, and i felt also not sweet as a very fresh good crab should taste.
recently i made a 6-course dinner including crab beehoon soup for a very good friend’s birthday.
the crab beehoon soup i made using 2x250g small crab was very nice. i commented that uncle leong’s was much better, but if i were to c/w what we had today, i think mine was better both for the soup & the crab. my crabs were tiny but very sweet!
the cereal prawns was still good.
however for comparison, i just had cereal prawns at red house 2 days back for another friend’s 7pax bjrthday dinner, and red house cereal prawns were so much better.
the seafood pot was still very good.
many good ingredients including fish maw, sea cucumbers etc.
this hotpot tofu was the worst dish. no comparison at all with any zi char tofu dish say the likes of kok sen etc
i used to think this was the best 3-egg tofu.
my taste buds must be different today, but while it was still pretty ok, i thought the recent 3-egg spinach at red house was better.
when we first tried the crab, immediately we told the server it was not so good.
i did not really expect anything, it was not so good but it was not like “bad”. anyhow the server arranged a complimentary longan sea coconut dessert for us.
the lunch came to S$176nett for 5pax like S$35pax. it was really quite below my expectations, much below par.
the last many times i came in 2015, i used a $51 for S$100 voucher so those meals were first super nice & second like super value-for-money. this time no discounts, but i was ok if only the food were as good, but they were not….

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $35

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Fujian/Heng Hwa | Zi Char

See my full review & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/05/10/good-s13-80nett-teochew-muay-buffet-gimtim-on-9ay2016/
friend bought 3pax lunch at gimtim at amk ave 4 on 9.5.2016. ^^
this was a follow-up of our last makan at toa payoh lor 8 food centre on 30.4.2016.
i have been to 2 other gimtim group restaurants & they were pretty good-
imperial court @ grassroots club suckling pig set
tim palace @ SAFRA toa payoh ala carte semi-buffet lunch
they have a S$13.80 nett teochew muay weekdays buffet lunch.
buffet turned out better than i expected.:-)
setting & dishes were humble, but the taste was quite good.
chicken was good, tender & sauce tasty.
duck wings so so, can skip.
mui choy 梅菜 was good, not salty, nice flavour.
kiam chai咸菜 also good, not salty, & sweet.
egg plant boleh da…
chicken feet was good. friend went to get a second helping.
ter kar (pig trotters) nice gummy tecture & tasty. people took most of it i managed to get some odds & ends.
tau kee average competent.
pork & cauliflower simple, ok.
egg tofu quite well done. with wood fungus & chinese cabbage, sweet.
strange they did not have kong bak. friend only picked up pig head meat, tofu & egg. they were good.:-)
there was a refill, but only pig ears. good too.:
the i think ikan selar? was good. people took the tails so only eft heads.
i will try to cook this dish myself.
i enjoyed all these little sides – fermented beancurd, peanut ikan bilis, olive vegetable, haebeehiam & radish pickles.
all memory foods from childhood la….
had some fruit (papaya) + pulut hitam.
i don’t mind this place. can come back some time again with my sis.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 09, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $14

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fabulous Mother’s Day Lunch  Smile May 08, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum | Seafood

see my full review & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/05/08/fabulous-mothers-day-lunch-majestic-restaurant-on-8may2016/
bought wife & family a fab 5pax mother’s day lunch at majestic today on 8.5.2016. ^^
look at the crab roe sharksfin soup (top photo), a perennial favourite of ours at majestic. it was still so good! one of the very best soup i had, so sweet & tasty.
majestic does a mother’s day ala carte buffet lunch at S$68pax++ with 15% citibank discounts.
a new item on the ala carte buffet menu was chilli lobster (used to be a NOT great chilli crab). for me, still not great la…
we came early at about 12pm. restaurant was full by 1230pm.
i did not find a recent post on majestic on my blog. perhaps i did not record.
the one i had was 3 years ago, a world gourmet summit dinner in apr2013.
for today, there was a self service station. the roasts were excellent!
roast duck was especially good. we had a few individual helpings. char siew was good. siew yoke ok not as good as the usual cube roast pork servings in these kind of good restaurants.
the lotus bun was good. we shared one among 5 of us. i took the braised duck wing. the pumpkin with 肉松was non descript for me. wife liked it though.
i wanted to try the porridge. took a tiny bit. it was good!
the braised belly pork was very flavourful. texture was tender though it didn’t look it in the large serving claypot.
from the ala carte menu, har gao was average. many dimsum places like crystal jade, imperial treasure better
the crab roe sharksfin soup was limited to one serving each. top draw stuff!
the chilli lobster was so so for me.
chilli gravy was good especially with the bun which was excellent.
lobster meat was not bouncy. did not feel like live or fresh lobster.
the thai lemongrass chilli lobster i had recently at red house was far, far better.
wasabi prawns were very good. tops!
did not look it though with too much of the green mayo. but the batter was very good, not like most places where they were thick, hard, tough. prawns were very fresh, water melon a great balance, counterpoint.
i love chilean seabass, & majestic served very good steamed ones in their regular menu.
here it was non descript.
the galbi style beef ribs were ok.
somehow it works better when served in individual small portion courses.
the sharksfin soup was limited to one order. there were like 3 or 4 other soups unlimited orders. we ordered 2 lobster crab roe broth to share.
a pretty good soup, though no comparison with the crab roe sharksfin soup.
the spinach wolfberry was good.
wife love the oyster mee sua.
it was very tasty with nice oyster flavour.
the salted egg custard buns流沙包 was very good here.
the best!
& the deepfried durian ice cream, another perennial favourite here.
i ended up eating 1.5 portion.
really enjoyable lunch & family time on mother’s day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 08, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $68

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Seafood

See my dinner review at = https://chefquak.com/2016/05/06/wonderful-7pax-birthday-dinner-red-house-at-prinsep-on-4may2016/
had a wonderful dinner for a very good friend at red house @ prinsep street on 4.5.2016. ^^
i ordered 7 dishes.:-)
there was a promo thai lemongrass chilli lobster at S$88. the chilli was excellent. everyone loved the taste. it was quite a large serving too, 2 lobsters.:-)
we ordered cereal prawns 400g at S$7/100g. this was really good too.
crabs were priced at S$72/kg. we ordered a small sri-lankan pepper crab, 800g for S$58.this was a red house signature dish, and it was very good!
the 苏格兰面包螃蟹 (similar to dungeness crabs at pier 39 san francisco, also a common crab dish in hong kong & china seafood restaurants) was priced at the same S$72/kg. it’s 1.2kg so S$86, quite a bit more expensive. this also red house signature dish. the crab meat was quite solid & more firm than sri-lankan crab.
i felt sri-lankan crab was tastier & had a better texture.
also the chilli sauce was quite poor really, quite sweet but not intense with meat sweetness, instead gluey, sweet not spicy, more like a tourist version. this crab had a lot of roes & tomalleys.
we ordered a medium spinach tofu, 9 pieces S$21.i liked this dish. it was very good.:-)
the 3-egg spinach also very good. but really this 3-egg spinach dish the best i had was at uncle leong jurong east.
we ordered a medium seafood hor fun. it was pretty good. several friends commented good wok hae! the broad kuay teow was especially flavourful. & the serving had quite a bit of prawns & sotong. it was a good round-up dish for the dinner.
dinner came to S$409. it was less than S$60pax nett. i think pretty good for this quality of food & actually cheaper than the recent 5pax lunch (which was S$311 for 5pax).
the service here was excellent, very friendly, very attentive, keep changing plates & gave a lot (continuous supply) of wet tissues etc. very good service indeed!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 04, 2016 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $59

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Very Nice Chendol Smile May 01, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Desserts and Cakes

See my full review & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/04/30/good-scissor-cut-curry-rice-at-toa-payok-lor-8-food-centre-on-30apr2016/
after the scissor cut curry rice lunch, my friend went to get the chendol, the stall that former PM mr Goh Chok Tong likes.
this the really authentic version. very nice kidney beans, quite a lot of palm fruits (atap chee) & very flavourful gula melaka & coconut milk.
one of the best chendol i had, very nice, really enjoyed it!

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 30, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $2

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0