OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 41 First(s)
No. of Review333 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1721 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲230 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 333 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Seafood | Zi Char

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/02/07/very-good-dinner-holland-village-xo-bee-hun-on-6feb2016/
wife & daughter wanted to have zi char dinner.
daughter had just been to wah chee dover, and wife & i had just been to hong kong street old chun kee 香港街老珍记 at commonwealth crescent.
we decided to try holland village XO fish head bee hun (on 6.2.2016). i had takeawy from here about 1 year ago. ^^
the coffeeshop was quite crowded at 6.45pm on friday evening.
a medium fish head bee hoon is S$10. to add XO, S$2 more.
it was very good though, very tasty, slightly intense, reminded us of uncle leong’s crab bee hoon (even though it was really no comparison…uncle leong’s was just soooo good!).
taste wise it was a lot better than hong kong street old chun kee 香港街老珍记. a simple dish yet quite different satisfaction taste wise.
but hong kong street old chun kee 香港街老珍记 gave large pieces of meat even for the S$6 bowl. here it was a lot too but mostly bones.
it was too troublesome & tiring for me. next time i will just order sliced fish.
the fried kai lan was excellent!
so fragrant, super wok hae! ^^
san lo hor fun was very good too.
really, these 2 quite basic dishes the satisfaction quite different la.. for these 2 dishes i will come back here & not old chun kee.
the HDB ghim moh edge apartments looked really nice like private condos – the veiw from where we were sitting at the coffeeshop.

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $11

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Zi Char

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/01/29/great-wanton-mee-ah-huat-dunman-food-centre-on-27jan2016/
went to my primary school classmate for a walk at siglap park connector (PCN) this morning on 27.1.2016. ^^
we were not in contact for a long time.
recently another classmate came visiting from the states, so i joined a few of them at din tai fung @ gem after lunch on a saturday as i already had a lunch appointment that day.
one thing led to another & a group came to my place for a 14pax homecooked dinner last week.
after the walk, my friend drove to dunman food centre.
he told me there were 2 good wanton mee here – a huat & another stall on level 2. Eng had moved out some time ago.
there was a large electronic queue number. there were just 2 before us, so it’s like 5mins.
we had a S$3 bowl each. it came with quite a good helping of char siew plus 3 wantons. not too much noodles. for me just the right amount & really, a very decent meal. noodles were completely al dente, QQ.
the chilli sauce was really good. overall a very good standard wanton noodles.
my favorite is still kok kee(国记) @ lavendar food square.
the place came under redevelopment & kok kee moved out but i have not yet tried kok kee at the new location at balestier food hub, hoe nam building.
the other stall was the red ring at holland drive, also excellent wanton mee.
there is also a good pontion wanton mee at bedok interchange food centre.
there were a few others but for me ah huat ranks among the best.
dunman food centre

dunman food centre

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 27, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Wanton Mee  Smile Jan 29, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/01/29/great-wanton-mee-ah-huat-dunman-food-centre-on-27jan2016/
went to my primary school classmate for a walk at siglap park connector (PCN) this morning on 27.1.2016. ^^
we were not in contact for a long time.
recently another classmate came visiting from the states, so i joined a few of them at din tai fung @ gem after lunch on a saturday as i already had a lunch appointment that day.
one thing led to another & a group came to my place for a 14pax homecooked dinner last week.
after the walk, my friend drove to dunman food centre.
he told me there were 2 good wanton mee here – a huat & another stall on level 2. Eng had moved out some time ago.
there was a large electronic queue number. there were just 2 before us, so it’s like 5mins.
we had a S$3 bowl each. it came with quite a good helping of char siew plus 3 wantons. not too much noodles. for me just the right amount & really, a very decent meal. noodles were completely al dente, QQ.
the chilli sauce was really good. overall a very good standard wanton noodles.
my favorite is still kok kee(国记) @ lavendar food square.
the place came under redevelopment & kok kee moved out but i have not yet tried kok kee at the new location at balestier food hub, hoe nam building.
the other stall was the red ring at holland drive, also excellent wanton mee.
there is also a good pontion wanton mee at bedok interchange food centre.
there were a few others but for me ah huat ranks among the best.

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 27, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $3

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Simply Delicious Mee Pok Tar  Smile Jan 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Noodles

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/01/03/simply-delicious-mee-pok-ta-ah-hoe-mee-pok-blk-710-outlet-on-2jan2016/
had the ah hoe japanese girl proprietor bakchormee ay blk 710 clementi west street 2 again today on 2.1.2016. ^^
a friend organised it. we first went to blk 713. it was closed & a sign said blk 710 was opened. we went over & there was a long queue…
our younger friend (3 of us) queued for 50mins from 10.45am & only got noodles 11.35am
this my second time here.
the first time i try ah hoe mee pok was on a weekday at 11am on 2.11.2015.
there were 9 of us & no queue, or like just 2pax ahead.
not sure today’s long queue was because blk 713 stall was closed or because of festive period or saturday..in any case it should be wise to come outside rush hours on weekdays.
this time friend ordered S$ bowl.
still very good, like it & will go again (provided not much queue like my first time).
it really was a good quality, yummy noodles, great texture totally qq & good tasty ingrdients!
mustn’t be trapped with concept of bakchormee, this was simply a very good delicious noodle dish, whether it is 100% bakchormee or 90% or not at all did not quite matter la…
when we finished our noodles nearer 12pm, the queue was even longer. at the slow rate they were serving, probably tale >1hrs.
after that guys came my house & we had kungfu cha 功夫茶till 1.30pm.
then one friend had to go for meeting, & i joined tea for a primary school ex-friends gathering.
even longer queue at 11.45am on saturday

even longer queue at 11.45am on saturday

 
long queue at 10.45am on saturda

long queue at 10.45am on saturda

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $4

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Simply Pathetic! Cry Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

I went to thai noodle house with wife for dinner this evening on 2.1.2016.
used to be one of my casual go-to place for thai beef noodle soup. don’t do much of that lately.
last time i was here was on 6.10.2013.
unfortunately this time it was totally off for me, so bad i will never go back again.
quite apart from the price becoming ridiculously high for a ridiculously small serving, the centre-piece S$8 beef noodle soup (which in fact was the dish that was NOT exorbitant), the taste was totally gone!
if you look at my photo of beef noodle soup in 2013, that soup was clear, this one was mirky. i hope it was a one time anomaly.
but there was no sweet taste in the soup. i took maybe 20% of it. fortunately the sliced beef, braised beef, beef balls were still the same, quite nice.
for the other 2 dishes, they tasted as good a sbefore. but the S$13 beef was served in a 4in x 4in plate (100cm x 100cm).
likewise the sweet potato leaves…where does one find a 4in x 4in plate (100cm x 100cm)?
i think it was purely bad taste…how much more does a bit more sweet potato leaves cost?
for me, i guess i rather pay ridiculous price to have nicer food than the not ex price to have a tasteless beef noodle soup, but anyway all of them were quite pathetic as far as i am concerned. place was quite crowded though at 8pm+ on a saturday night so maybe other diners did not share my sentiments…haha!
but for me, it’s no no!

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/01/02/simply-pathetic-thai-noodle-house-on-2jan2016/

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $16

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0