OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 41 First(s)
No. of Review333 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1722 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲230 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 333 Reviews in Singapore
Just Superb Roast London Duck Smile Mar 15, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/10/just-superb-roast-london-duck-tunglok-signature-orchard-parade-on-9mar2016/
went with wife to tunglok signature @ orchard parade last evening on 9.3.2016. ^^
my favoruite restaurant but not been there for a while.
last time i had an excellent meal here was on 4.8.2015.
we ordered a scottish razor clam each. unfortunately server came back to say they served the last to some diners in the room.
i ordered a 蒜泥白肉 & the salted egg & wasabi prawns to replace.
this 蒜泥白肉 looked nice but was mediocre this time. sliced pork was quite plain & sauce was heavy, i scrapped away most of it.
i think my own 蒜泥白肉is taste-wise much better than this, though looks need to improve.
the roast london duck was simply incredible!
so tasty & flavourful from the fat & the skin very crisp.
overall it was even better than the excellent duck we had 2 days ago at ya wang 鸭皇 at sentosa in JB! so good it was!
but of course the duck itself was different, this a smaller duck from ireland. S$30 should be the going price in the good restaurants except here we have the 50% palate discounts for 2pax so, only S$15++
the meat was very tender & juicy.
the salted egg & wasabi prawns were between mediocre & competent.
in fact, the nicest was the tomatoes.
not that it was really no good, but it was more ordinary than ordinary. some zi char restaurants do better la!
the string beans though was very good. crunchy, fresh, sweet.
the zha jiang mian炸酱面 was more like a bakchormee, and it was pretty good too.
not my ideal noodle dish to order in a restaurant, but in fact equal or better than many.
& good ingredients too, scallops & prawns & loads of minced pork. chilli sauce was also good.
the dessert 雪中情怀 was my perennial favourite.
really enjoyed it, very refreshing. a lot of pomelo inside & of course mango.
altogether a very enjoyable dinner. after palate discounts dinner came to S$59 all-in for 2pax. yes! ^^

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 09, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Hawker Centre | Chinese Soup | Claypot Rice

See my full review & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/12/new-lucky-claypot-rice-some-say-the-best-on-11mar2016/
a friend bought dinner at new lucky claypot rice this evening on 11,3,2016. ^^
my wife & i are low on carbs and generally don’t eat claypot rice.
new lucky is very near my place, i knew of it for a long time but have not taken it here before.
just last week, the same friend was with me, but we were late & new lucky was closed by 1.20pm, we ended up having coffee at hans & sharing a sandwich.
this time i was there at 5.45pm. my friend was already there & the food had arrived within 10mins of his order.
we shared a S$10 claypot rice for 2 & a S$4 watercress soup with pork soft bones.
the rice was very fragrant, individual grains.
the chicken was very tender, and i liked the pork & liver sausages. there was also the salted fish.
my friend said not to add the dark sauce, and to taste & enjoy the fragrance of the rice.
i did that too. i also added the dark sauce. you see, i enjoyed the fragranc of the dark sauce as well…haha! :-)
while i enjoyed the rice, it was really a lot of carbs for me. i am thinking i will try this dish myself, with a lot less rice, a lot more chicken. haha!
the soup was good. not the good restaurant standard lie tong kind of good, a good hawker stall food centre soup kind of good.
i like pork soft bones. this was good & make for a sweet tasty soup.

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 11, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $7

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Excellent Frog Leg Porridge Smile Mar 12, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Porridge/Congee

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/12/excellent-frog-leg-porridge-g7-sin-ma-on-11mar2016/
a friend, my primary school classmate, bought me an excellent frog leg porridge lunch at G7 sin ma on 11.3.2016. ^^
i have not taken frog leg porridge for the longest time.
this was really excellent! ^^
liked the lunch a lot.
1 bull frog goes for S$8. buy 2 get 1 free so S$16 gets you 3 frogs.
1 portion porridge is S$3. & 2 of us took only 1/2 of that 1 portion. :-)
if you order 3 frogs, you get 2 free, so 5 frogs for S$22 & porridge is free as well. so for S$3 more we get 2 frogs more.
my friend wanted me to try the ikan tenggiri (mackerel) with thai sauce. so we kept it at 3 frogs + 1 portion porridge at S$19.
this was actually the same sin ma at lor 3 geylang which my other friends were telling me.
this a lot leh for 1 portion. 2 of us shared & we took about 1/2 of it.
the gong bao frog leg 宫宝田鸡was really excellent! ^^
the bull frog were meaty, fresh, tender, tasty. very good la! the sauce was excellent not too sweet & really wonderful together with the porridge.
ikan tenggiri (mackerel) was good. :-) fish was fresh & sweet if ordinary, the garlic & thai sauce gave it an extra kick.
my friend ordered too much but he is actually a small eater. so i ate most of it. :-)
& this fried kai lan蒜蓉芥兰 was very good. plain, simple, tasty, not oily.
i will definitely go back again. don’t really need the fish but can do with the S$22 for 5 frogs porridge + the very nice kai lan.
after lunch, we went over to carpentor & cook for a cuppa. a very enjoyable, relaxing lunch & coffee chat for me.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 11, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $24

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good But Expensive Food  Smile Mar 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Seafood

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/06/ri-g20-mar2016-dinner-good-but-expensive-food-first-culinary-on-24feb2016/
for mar2016, the organiser arranged dinner at first culinary at ITE college central 2 Ang Mo Kio Drive on 24.2.2016. 11pax attended.
we had the S$468 menu.
food taste was good actually. but it was quite expensive for the type of dishes & ingredients. we paid S$55 each.
some didn’t like the longevity buns so we had the deepfried mantous instead. they were nice though they didn’t fit into the dishes & perhaps the original longevity buns would do.
the cold dishes was quite good standard. all were quite tasty. roast pork nicely done & standard of any good restaurants like tunglok, imperial treasure etc.
fish skin, baby octopus, ribs & the egg were all good.
our group now more nevironment conscious, so sharksfin changed to fish maw soup. bravo!
the fish maw was also very good standard, tasty, with good amount of crab & fish maw, not the gluey starchy type.
& the stock, soup base was good, so a sweet, tasty soup, beng thin standard la…
there was a wasabi & peanut sauce prawns.
both were very well down. same preparation deep-fried very nicely & added sauce. first time i had peanut sauce. it was good too.
we had a large soon hock, probably 1 kg size.
it was HK steamed 港蒸, very nicely done too, fresh, quite the perfect timing, very good.
the abalone dish was good standard but nothing special.
abalone is abalone, the duck web & brown braising sauce ok but nothing special, bot specially tasty..i had better la…
scallops & broccoli were all good. the basket was not yam basket but some potatoes, so so to me, no one took much.
yee meen noodles were pretty tasty.
sea coconut was the usual.
it was another wonderful evening of old friends coming together, great chat & sharing, strengthening of friendship & bonds.
overall the food was ok or good but pedestrian. nothing special except for the price, which was rather expensive at S$55nett each for the type of dishes. price was not outrageous but not great value also.
still between good value but mediocre food & this, i would rather have good standard food preparation & taste, and not so great value.
i heard hong kong people talking in the streets (actually in the MTR station), “sin you ho sek, yin hao dai sek” 贤要好吃,然后抵吃…so first good taste, then good value la…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 24, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $55

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Coffee & Waffles & Cake in a Jar  Smile Mar 06, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

See my full review & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/06/coffee-waffles-cake-in-a-jar-grin-affair-bishan-on-3mar2016/

after a nice late lunch at kim san leng food centre, another friend joined us & 4 of us walked over to grin affair for a cuppa on 3.3.2016. ^^
the place was recommended by a friend’s daughter. these days, it’s the young folks that recommend hip places to us.i had my usual flat white. did not take a photo.
coffee was good, though nothing so different. i would say carpenters & cook,assembly coffee, dutch colony, CSH etc has better ambience & overall experience, and some have better pastry.
this place is ok.
there was a 1 for 1 promotion for the waffles at S$5.90.
it was pretty good. came with ice cream (we picked durian, strawberry, earl grey etc), and very nice cookie & cream soil at the bottom. at S$3 it was quite good & the small portion of waffle was just nice for us each.
there was some other voucher on the table so i took a snap.
bought some cake in a jar for my daughter also – a laichee passion fruit & a greentea.
she was good with it. i tried 1 teaspoon myself…laichee was good, green tea so so for me la…

 
Grin Affair

Grin Affair

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $9

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0