OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review332 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1708 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲229 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 332 Reviews in Singapore
Mediocre Bakchormee Cry Sep 24, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Chinese Noodles

I wanted to try out the hawker food at changi village food centre on 21.9.2014. turned out to be a huge disappointment.
my wife went first to get her food & came back with bakchormee some 15mins later. she bought from the stall with the longest queue "amigo". this amigo refers to the stall at #01-34 & NOT #01-05

this amigo bakchormee was really mediocre, which really meant it was quite poor by comparison, far below the standard of 6th avenue jalan tua kong, lau lim @ bedok simpang, ming fa @ upper thomson etc. the noodles were not QQ, and the chilli & flavours were what can i say, mediocre!
don't think i want to try this stall again.

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/09/23/nasi-lemak-truly-sucks-changi-village-food-centre-on-21sep2014/
amigo bakchormee

amigo bakchormee

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 21, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Halal

I wanted to try out the hawker food at changi village food centre on 21.9.2014. turned out to be a huge disappointment.
there were 4 nasi lemak stalls. i decided not to queue at “mizzy corner” the one with longest queue. but my short queue (i was the 4th in the queue) at malay stall sri sujana turned out quite long as 2 before were buying 4packets & 5packets. The man was very naggy at every customer. service was poor & not cheerful. 

that would be ok if food was ok, but it was not! rice was poor and did not have the fragrant coconut flavours. & sambal chilli the most important ingredient was outright bad & odd tasting. it was salty & like having tau jeoh??? not sure can call it sambal?? to me rice & chilli were like the backbone of good nasi lemak, & both failed completely. 
oath was bad, the chicken was quite ok to good, the ikan tuning was ok. this was really poor c/w both stalls no.1 & no.2 nasi lemak at adam road food centre.
i will never eat from this stall again.

see my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/09/23/nasi-lemak-truly-sucks-changi-village-food-centre-on-21sep2014/

 
sri sujana nasi lemak

sri sujana nasi lemak

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 12 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 21, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Hawker Centre

I went to a friend’s house for a marathon evening of 2 wimbledon semis – Federer vs Raonic & Djokovic vs Dimitrov aka baby Fed. 
we took the pleasant stroll to east coast lagoon food village. the last we came was during roland garros on 8.6.2014.

this time we tried the supposed famours pig trotters at han jia bakuteh & pork leg. i wanted bakchormee so i skipped the rice & just had the trotters. according to my friend, this stall was quite good except that it was less good in the evening as the trotters got to be too soft.
my bakchormee was ok but not of the standard of tai wah bakchormee, jalan tua kong lau lim at bedok simpang, jalan tua kong meepok tar at 6th avenue etc.
my 2 other friends ordered also taupok, chai buay + peanuts & kidney, liver soup. all were ok except the pig trotters. partly because we ordered the lean trotters, but this was way below the standard of any good trotters stall like ng ah sio bakuteh, song fa bakuteh etc. i think even my own pig trotters were far better!huffy
i had tried several stalls here after 4 visits including laksa, orh luah, satay, beef noodles, bbq chicken & now the pig trotters. except for the bbq chicken wings & orh luah which were good, i have to say that this food centre is way below par c/w with say maxwell road hawker centre, amoy street hawker centre, hong lim hawker centre & bukit timah food centre.

After dinner we enjoyed the top drawer sound system & music, this time jason mraz, & the wimbledon semis & world cup quarterfinals between france & germany. we left about 2am, skipping the brazil-columbia game.

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/07/06/pre-wimbledon-semiworld-cup-france-germany-dinnereast-coast-lagoon-food-village-on-4jul2014/

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 04, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Chinese Noodles

Did some errands at hollandv. walking through the food centre & thought the bakchormee stall looked different. i had a good bakchormee at a commonwealth crescent fai zai eatery bakchormee here on 24.9.2013. now the stall is called ming fa (明发). i guess ming fa (明发) has acquired & franchised the stall. it used to be a middle-aged man hawking, now there were 2 women.
i tried ming fa (明发) at upper thomson road couple times recently & it was 1 of the best. the branding was the same so i decided to give it a go.
must say this was really quite poor. the meepok noodles were slightly soggy not enough qq (al dente), ingredients were less. taste was just passable but not great. the previous stall commonwealth crescent fai zai eatery bakchormee was a lot better than this, though the ming fa (明发) at upper thomson was far better. but this ming fa (明发) at hollandv is quite poor indeed!
i am not sure this thus the brand any good at all!

see my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/06/17/quite-poor-ming-fa-明发-bakchormee-hollandv-food-centre-on-17jun2014/

 
ming fa (明发) bakchormee

ming fa (明发) bakchormee

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $3.50(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Below Par Tapas Set Dinner  Cry Jan 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hotel | Chicken Rice | Chinese Noodles

See my full review & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/01/29/below-par-tapas-set-dinner-tapasan-dorset-hotel-on-28jan2014/

Bought a deal.com voucher so went with a friend on 28.1.2014 to use it before expiry on 31.1.2014. the S$29.90 voucher for 2pax tapas dinner set include selection 4 cold tapas, 2 hot tapas, paella & drinks at tapasan (pappasan) at the new dorsett hotel at bukit pasoh.

The ambience was great. we sat at a table alongside the long glass windows facing new bridge road.

choice of drink included artois stellar or hoe garden beer. my friend ordered the spanish beer & i ordered a guava juice. we arrived restaurant at 8.45pm. website said last order 9.30pm but the spanish server informed that they ran out of paella & would replaced by a seafood fried rice & they were about the same. i told her paella & seafood fried rice were not the same. anyhow she gave us an extra guava juice to make up. service & attitude were ok, nothing great.

The 4 cold tapas (ham, cured meat, salmon, cheese/egg) were ok i guessed, but i should really say below par for a decent tapas restaurant. likewise the hot tapas of cheese meat balls & fries with egg/sausage pieces. And of course really it was quite meaningless to have seafood fried rice at a tapas restaurant instead of seafood & chicken paella in the dinner set menu. The fried rice was okay to good standard, so as a meal it was okay.

My idea of a good tapas restaurant was la cicala at club street which served excellent S$25pax set lunch include 3 tapas, main & coffee, but I think it had closed for sometime already.

To be fair, price-wise at S$29.90 net for 2pax dinner (a good paella alone could cost that much, well that was if we actually had a good paella instead of substituted seafood fried rice), food was ok-ish & really i should not complain, but i would not want go back for sub-par food even at cheaper prices.
cold tapas

cold tapas

 
cheese meat balls

cheese meat balls

 
seafood fried rice

seafood fried rice

 
fries with sausage bits

fries with sausage bits

 
 
Date of Visit: Jan 28, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0