OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 41 First(s)
No. of Review333 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended10 Recommended
Popularity1749 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲231 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 61 to 65 of 333 Reviews in Singapore
Great meal Smile Sep 16, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/09/16/great-lunch-kopi-roti-central-on-19sep2015/
went to my good friend’s dental clinic at central on 16.9.2015.
after that god-sis led the 3 of us to kopi roti central for lunch. ^^
god-sis went to get the food. i had the chicken rendang. it came with sayur lodeh & egg, for S$5.
it was a very good meal!
rendang was very good & reasonable helping size. both the egg & sayur also good. $5 is not cheaper nor more expensive than say a economic rice at coffeeshop. important thing is that it was tasty, a very nice wholesome & balanced meal for S$5.
my dental surgeon friend had the curry chicken. looked great too!god-sis had the nasi lemak. came with chicken wing, egg, nuts & ikan bilis & otah.
i think the price of the curry chicken was also S$5, and likely the nasi lemak too.
there was laksa, but from the wall photo it didn’t appear to come with cockles.
i will try some of these dishes next time. i would say for S$5 it was as good as my favourite adam road nasi lemak (adam’s nasi lemak & selara rasa nasi lemak) kind of meal! ^^

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 19, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lagi Shiok!  Smile Sep 15, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hawker Centre | Kids-Friendly

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/09/15/lagi-shiok-adams-nasi-lemak-on-15sep2015/
went to adam road food centre to ta pao (take out) nasi lemak round about 830am this morning on 15.9.2015.^^
no queues at both stalls, adam’s nasi lemak, and selara rasa.
every time my son back in singapore, he would buy from his favourite, the second stall ie selara rasa. and it seems that more also prefer the second stall to the first, judging by the usual queues at both stalls.
for me, i prefer the first stall, adam’s nasi lemak.
i had the fish set + chicken wing S$4.50. adam’s included kachang (peanuts) which selara rasa does not.
there is also the fish cake.
other than that, the 2 stalls almost similar, and price-wise too.
the rice was perfect, very fragrant & individual grain. chilli was tops too. don’t feel much difference between the 2 stalls.
for chicken wing, selara rasa’s is more crispy. i didn’t feel it was better than adam’s previously but for today, adam’s chicken wing a bit average. the ikan kuning fish was quite standard.
both were better than that at mizzy corner at changi village food centre which i had last week with friends before we went for the uniquely Singapore pulau ubin “cooling off” walk.

and the horrendous sri sujana nasi lemak also at changi village food centre.

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 15, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $4.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/09/12/nice-lunch-reddot-brewhouse-dempsey-on-9sep2015/
reddot brewhouse @ dempsey offers good value set lunch in a nice ambience & also free parking.

i had a few lunches there previously including the one here. 3 of us went there for lunch again on 9.9.2015. ^^

the 2-course set lunch + drink had gone up to S$20 from S$18 previously (S$24 for 3-course from S$22 previously).

i had the reddot salad – great salad! & a good helping. 1 friend had the smoked salmon salad. very good too.

& he had the seafood marinara spaghetti. it was good too & a good lunch choice at this price.

i wanted to try the salmon. it came with truffle cold capellini, very sweet vine tomatoes & mesclun. cold capellini was very nice & fragrant. the salmon was excellent!

the special for main course today was pan-fried seabass. my friend said it was great and the plating was quite impressive too.

very pleasant place to have a relaxing lunch with old friends.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $24

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Bars/Lounges | Hotel | Restaurant

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/09/12/interesting-8-course-chinese-dinner-mitzo-on-5sep2015/

there is a ongoing UOB credit card 1-for-1 promotion at mitzo.i came here for a lohei dinner in mar2015. it was an ok, in fact better than expected, experience.

as mentioned then, mitzo is also apparently positioned as an inventive cocktail bar, serving some cocktails from a teapot.

so we decided to try out the S$108pax (S$54pax after 50% discounts) 8-course signature set menu on 5.9.2015.

we were in luck this evening. F1 is round the corner & they were rolling out some new F1 cocktail, and for this evening, we stumbled onto a free F1 complimentary cocktail promotion. it tasted pretty good actually, not too sweet. i think it was rum & some citrus & other concoction.

the dimsum trio was fine food. taste was pretty good, if not awesome.
radish puff was a very good pastry, and tasty. the breaded prawn roll was a little heavy, & average. the crispy glutinous pumpkin in custard was good.

the mitzo special char siew was good, but a tad too salty. it is not the standard of the chargrilled pork neck 炭烧猪项肉 at imperial treasure nanbei we had recently.

the lobster bisque with poached scallop was a bit of a fusion oddity. it looked gluey like a chinese sweet sour soup. but the taste was superb! & with so much cut scallops & lobster pieces! this was the best dish this evening. ^^

the deep-fried prawns with creamy lemon sauce was good, very competent. a good crisp outside, tender & tasty inside. its a regular dish like any wasabi prawns or salted egg prawns with a different dressing, ok but not awesome.

the oven baked chilean seabass with lemon grass was good standard. not among the better chilean seabass i had, including oonboard SIA!

the pan-fried lamb chop with enoki mushrooms was very tender, except it tasted by geyland lor 9 horfun kind of chinese very tenderised kind of tender. so i was just ok with the dish not not really my thing.

the other very tasty best dish of the evening was the braised thick beehoon soup, with prawns, scallops & cod. i really enjoyed this. finish all the carbs. shiok!!

the dessert was not really my type. avocado cream with ice cream…i took just a little. i always like sesame dumpling. still this time i did not finish it. well, this not a set i would want to take too often. if the consideration were just money vs ingredients, this was certainly a very good deal!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $64

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lagi Bagus Smile Sep 12, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Indonesian | Halal

See my full revies & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/09/12/sinar-pagi-nasi-padang-lagi-bagus-geylang-serai-food-markey-on-8sep2015/

(this is the branch at geyland serai market)

a friend brought me to a nasi padang eating stall in geylang serai some time ago. i did not have a blog post, so i guess it must have been like 3 years ago (i started blogging in mar2013).

at the time my favourite was river valley nasi padang at zion road. it had been for many years from the time when children were very young. we even ta pao food for large 10+ parties & really relished the curries. river valley nasi padang was expensive, and some though the curries were too salty. i quite agree. it is closed now.

the other place i liked was at the old tanjong pagar railway station. it was also closed. so i have not had nasi padang at the stalls for a really long time. i did have some at rendervous.

this time the same friend brought me to sinar pagi nasi padang at geyland serai market on 8.9.2015. ^^ i had wanted to try this the last time when i saw the food beautifully displayed & the long queue, but at the time we already had our lunch at the nasi padang stall across sims avenue on the joo chiat side.

well, never too late. another friend joined & my friend bought lunch.

the beef tripes curry (top photo) was very good. it was not as salty as river valley nasi padang so on that score i guess it was better.

curry chicken was lovely too! curry was very tasty. some how in my memory, the yellow & red curry chicken at river valley nasi padang at zion road was still better.

assam fish curry was as good as any. chilli brinjal was ok, but i think not great. my helper can make it better & tastier. egg kind of non-descript.

lunch was S$21. actually not cheap, no cheaper, i guess, than river valley nasi padang at zion road. anyway, company of old friends was great. we chatted about GE2015. & over food i liked and enjoyed. lagi bagus!^^

 

 

 

 

 
sinar pagi nasi padang

sinar pagi nasi padang

 
sinar pagi nasi padang

sinar pagi nasi padang

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 08, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $7

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0