OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 41 First(s)
No. of Review333 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended10 Recommended
Popularity1749 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲231 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 71 to 75 of 333 Reviews in Singapore
Great SG50 5-course Dinner  Smile Aug 13, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | European

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/08/13/great-sg50-5-course-dinner-oso-on-11aug2015/
organised a belated birthday for a close friend at oso on 11.8.2015. ^^

we took the SG50 5-course dinner menu. we had 7pax.

we were served some rye bread & focaccia with olive oil & balsamic. quite ok.

first was a cured salmon with caviar & some shaved fennel. it was nice. not exceptional but a great starter.

we had cream of cauliflower soup. soup was smooth, quite tasty, a bit thick. pretty ok but no better than my own cream of cauliflower.

pasta was also average. good pasta certainly, but quite ordinary, no stand out.

we had 4 orders of veal cheeks & 3 orders of fish. dory not my choice fish. i tried some from my friend. it was pretty ok. i guess good for a dory fillet.

the braised veal cheek with beetroot – stracotto was excellent though. tender, totally consistent & not very beefy, quite gentle & quite excellent bite, not the sinewy stewed meat type. i would say one of the best braised meat.

& the crotata – choc lava tart was marvellous.croatata – choc lava tart it’s like any good choc lava cake, with the tart giving it very good combination of texture.

the restaurant was told that it was a birthday celebration, so they provided a tiramisu cake for the birthday, a good gesture practiced by most good restaurants.

however, when i called to reconfirm the reservation on the day, the person who answered told me he reserved a nice quiet corner for us. but in fact we had 7pax seated on a table 6 with 1 chair at the end & next to the kitchen with a lot of traffic. that would have been quite fine if the restaurant was full but it was just 50% occupied, so i think that was not quite the level of service for a good restaurant.

anyway we had a great evening. food was good, especially the braised veal cheeks & the choc lava tart. the cured salmon was pretty good as well. dinner was S$50pax for 5-course. we were all quite happy with the meal & ambience.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $59

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/08/11/authentic-thai-meal-quite-shiok-nakhon-kitchen-hollandv-on-9aug2015/

family decided to try out lunch at nakhon kitchen at hollandv on 9.8.2015.^^
(friend brought me to nakhon kitchen @ AMK recently. i enjoyed the authentic thai food very much).

place opened at 12pm & don’t take reservations. restaurant was also quite empty at 12pm but filled up soon enough.
no frills decor, no frills prices.

we ordered the mango salad. not to be compared with relish burger’s prawn turnip salad which was >2x the price, but it was ok.
the chicken wings were surprising very good. and it’s comparable (almost i guess) to patara’s, which are >2x the price. that’s how good it was. 
tomyam talay (seafood) soup was competent, maybe nothing to comment i guess for S$6. my daughter prefers the tomyam noodles (S$6 student price) at le wu. only 1 prawn so maybe so do tomyam gung next time instead of talay. but i would rather have the S$10 one at thai gold food which we had recently.
we all loved the red curry beef. it was really good! ^^ for me the red curry was patara’s standard.
the green curry chicken was much less good. it was ok, but strangely it seemed much thicker & from the photos looked completely different from vibrant, yummy one at nakhon kitchen AMK. that one i finished up all the curries.
my son wanted the deepfried garoupa. i had some doubts it would turn up like the really excellent dish at patara. the server said it was a favourite dish here. it was quite small. but it was quite good actually, so i didn’t mind it. but i thought i could do this easily at home, only have to conjure up the right sauce. 
the one at patara cost S$39++but is like 2x the size & sauce much better, so i think patara more worthwhile. 
pad thai was just S$5. it’s not my favourite dish, but it’s quite authentic here, not too sweet. overall quite good.

son ordered the basil minced beef rice. taste was ok. cannot c/w with le wu’s fried basil beef but i guess not really a like for like comparison.
we also had a S$5 mango sticky rice to share. did not take photo. anyway sticky rice not fragrant, a dish i could do without.
lunch for 4pax came to S$80, or S$20nett, no service, no GST.
must say it was a very authentic thai meal, quite shiok!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Burgers Smile Aug 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Burgers and Sandwiches

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/08/10/great-burgers-relish-burger-cluny-court-on-4aug2015/
wife had a groupon that was expiring. son was in town & he loved burgers. so we arranged to have 3pax lunch at relish burgers by wild rockets at cluny court on 4.8.2015.^^

i don’t mind burgers. they are not ranked anywhere in my priority though. the last time i had relish burger was with wife at serangoon gardens in dec2014, also by way of groupons. haha!

place was bright & pleasant. quite well patronised maybe because of groupon discounts?

wife ordered a prawn turnip salad. it was very good. prawns were very fresh. salad was refreshing & tangy, very appetising.

wife & i shared a wild rocket burger. it is true that the burger is excellent. charred outside, medium rare & moist inside, very nice flavours with peppers & mustard & onions.

son ordered the popular blue cheese & william pear burger. it was very good too. the blue cheese left a very nice lingering after taste.

the last time we liked the deconstructed strawberry cheese cake. i even tried making one myself, which was quite good really but maybe not yet up for comparison.

that’s part of the fun for me eating out, tasting different food & making an assessment if i can reproduce w/o much hassle.

the lunch was S$77. somehow we could not locate the groupon so we paid the full amount & the restaurant (angie the lady we spoke to) agreed to let us used it the week after even though it would have expired. part of good service i guess.

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 04, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $26

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mutton Ribs Soup 羊排汤 Smile Aug 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Noodles

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/08/07/hawker-food-food-republic-vivocity-on-6aug2015/

went with son to vivocity & decided to go food republic at the rooftop on 6.8.2015.^^

i thought of having bakchormee, but somehow could not find a bakchormee stall. there was a stall selling some noodles with different variations that might include bakchormee.

(P.S. later i found out that there is supposed to be a lao da hua 老大华 stall there)

anyway i decided to take the chinese mutton soup. did not pay attention, maybe it was the hong kong beef noodles stall (they sell mainly beef noodles but also has mutton soup).
the girl told me they only serve mutton ribs, so i should call it 羊排汤. it was expensive too, at S$8 & what looked like a few pieces of meat floating around.
my favoruite is chai chuan tou 柴船头羊肉汤 at bukit merah view food centre & it’s only S$6 for the large serving.
the soup was good but when i first tasted it, i thought it confirmed my suspicion as the soup was not so good c/w chai chuan tou 柴船头羊肉汤.
but the mutton ribs, i think it was 崩沙腩,was really good, excellent in fact! ^^
it was very meaty, and still came with the collagen bits just like the very good beef briskets 牛腩i had in hong kong, except that this was mutton. & the texture was perfect tender but not sinewy. chai chuan tou 柴船头羊肉汤‘s mutton also like this but this ones here were a lot thicker & meatier. this is something i really like, so S$8 was quite worth it!

 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $8

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fried Hokkien Noodles Smile Aug 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fujian/Heng Hwa | Food Court | Noodles

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/08/07/hawker-food-food-republic-vivocity-on-6aug2015/
went with son to vivocity & decided to go food republic at the roof top.on 6.8.2015.
son took the fried hokkien noodles, think it was thye hong hokkien noodles. expensive leh S$5 for a small serving! guess i don’t go food court often and only reference hawker centre prices which are quite a bit lower.
the flavours was good though, very good wok hae!
 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0