OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 41 First(s)
No. of Review333 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1721 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲230 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 333 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Chinese Soup

 

 

 

This mutton soup stall at blk115 bukit merah view is my favourite chinese mutton soup place, which is NOT saying much as i don’t know many mutton soup stalls & i had not ate here for quite many years (the ones i had taken more recently were the excellent kambing soup at bahrakath @ adam road hawker centre).

 

In fact, i can only remember 1 other very good mutton soup stall, which is the one at amoy street food centre. i think i also tried one along smith street many years back but no impression really. and talking about it now i recall another mutton soup stall at berseh food centre where i took the fu he turtle soup recently, but also not much recollections of the taste.
anyhow today, 2 friends suggested to have 羊肉汤 at bukit merah view. 2 of us decided to join, making up 4pax. 
i was at the carpark at 1120am, the LED signboard said FULL alamak! 
fortunately turnover was fast & i got my parking lot almost immediately. the 2 friends who were earlier were already in the queue (about 4th in a 10+ person queue which grew), smart guys. we ordered 3 bowls of meat + tendon and for me, 1 bowl meat + tendon + stomach. i did not take rice.
wa….it was really shiok! didn’t miss 羊肉汤 until then as i relished the really tasty broth & the excellent meat, stomach, tendons with the chilli. i must have this again! :-)
the queue continued to be 10+pax, and my friend said if you came after 1.30pm, likely everything was sold out, and no more liao!

 


See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/08/14/very-shiok-mutton-soup-chai-chuan-tou-柴船头羊肉汤-on-14aug2014/
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 14, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Wonderful Turtle Soup  Smile Aug 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hawker Centre | Chinese Soup

This was our favourite turtle soup place, but we had not taken this for a while now. anyhow we proceeded to berseh food centre. it was about 1.45pm on a sunday on 10.8.2014.
we ordered a S$40 pot. it seemed a lot more expensive than the last time which must be several years ago. we used to take like S$25 or a big portion (supposed whole turtle) at S$30. but now they said we don’t get the cartilage if we ordered S$35, so S$40 it was.
it was really good though! 
the soup was heavenly, very sweet & flavourful. and it came with a lot of meat. i liked both the meat pieces like the leg with skin & meat & muscles, and also the plentiful pieces of soft cartilage. real yummy! 
and of course they refilled quite a big portion of the piping hot soup. 
the herbal soup came with lots of cordyceps & i think “huai san”? i remembered in the very early days, i always thought cordyceps (冬虫夏草) were worms that lived through winter & died in summer & became a plant. much later i learned that actually it was a parasitic plant that consumed the worm as it grew.
it was a wonderful dish after not having it for so long. the famous S$2 sungei road laksa was just round the corner so we decided to walk there & take the laksa as well.

See my full photos & reviews at = http://chefquak.com/2014/08/11/fu-he-turtle-soup-jalan-berseh-on-10aug2014/

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fu He Turtle Soup,Turtle Soup
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 10, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $13(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Sushi/Sashimi | Japanese BBQ/Teppanyaki | Omakase | Fine Dining

Seemy full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2013/10/31/great-brunch-mini-kaiseki-keyaki-quick-update-on-27oct2013/

a quick update. last had excellent brunch here on 18.8.2013. everything was good as before. the mini kaiseki brunch was truly good quality & great value. thumbs up! smile

menu items same as before. sashimi (kajiki, sake, maguro) were good quality – sweet & fresh! chopstickchawanmushi was very good – very smooth & tasty! tempura also was among the good ones. the teriyaki cod was the best – good helping & really nice!:chopsticchopstickk: i must try this at home!

the teppanyaki beef tenderloin rare was good, but the kagoshima pork was better! :-)chopstick

& we had 3 pieces of maki. nice too.

we asked, & they let us changed to black sesame ice cream, but the macha ice cream was good here too! :-)

for S$60++pax, it was really very good value for the quality of food.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 27, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $70(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant | Fine Dining

My turn to buy lunch with my friends.

Yantra @ Tanglin has a S$19/pax lunch buffet from Mon to Thu; S$25/pax from Fri to Sun. I like the nice and classy ambience, and since I don’t have too many kakis for Indian food – so we decided to go there.

Food was good flavour-wise, the spread was small but ok really except it lacked a lamb dish like rogan gosht, and a tandoori chicken, and (say) a bharta (eggplant).

chick pea curry

chick pea curry

 

The chick pea curry was good with the naans, like all the sauce curries & the dal.

green chicken curry

green chicken curry

 

I guessed the buffet was a vegetarian paradise. This green curry murgh & another chicken dish were the only meats (there was a fish tikka & great curry prawns though). I don’t really like both the chicken dishes. a butter chicken (murgh makhani) would be perfect or a tandoori whether whole chicken or tikka.

some mixed vege

some mixed vege

 
aloo gobi (cauliflower) & potatoes

aloo gobi (cauliflower) & potatoes

 

The vegetarian dishes were great. This mixed vegetable & also the potatoes aloo gobi.

prawn curry

prawn curry

 
dal

dal

 

I liked this prawn curry & had a few helpings. It went well with the garlic naans as did the other curries & dal.

paneer tikka

paneer tikka

 
The paneer tikka was the usual tofu texture but not so flavourful. Not quite sure what this was, like cucumbers with some squash. The mango pickles was nice.

Did not take a photo of the fish tikka. It’s next to the prawn & potatoes in the above photo – my plate was full of food. It was quite good. The green chicken & another anemic looking chicken were at the left.

Indian dessert doesn’t work for me. Anyhow I am not a dessert person so I did not try any.

Overall the food was good, not pricey & ambience was excellent. But somewhat lacking “shiok” factor for me. Must go find another Indian food fix.

For full review and more photos, visit http://chefquak.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/s19pax-indian-lunch-buffet-yantra-at-tanglin-mall-on-10jun2013/.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  prawn curry,aloo gobi
 
Date of Visit: Jun 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $22(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Simply Delicious Mee Pok Tar  Smile Jan 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Noodles

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/01/03/simply-delicious-mee-pok-ta-ah-hoe-mee-pok-blk-710-outlet-on-2jan2016/
had the ah hoe japanese girl proprietor bakchormee ay blk 710 clementi west street 2 again today on 2.1.2016. ^^
a friend organised it. we first went to blk 713. it was closed & a sign said blk 710 was opened. we went over & there was a long queue…
our younger friend (3 of us) queued for 50mins from 10.45am & only got noodles 11.35am
this my second time here.
the first time i try ah hoe mee pok was on a weekday at 11am on 2.11.2015.
there were 9 of us & no queue, or like just 2pax ahead.
not sure today’s long queue was because blk 713 stall was closed or because of festive period or saturday..in any case it should be wise to come outside rush hours on weekdays.
this time friend ordered S$ bowl.
still very good, like it & will go again (provided not much queue like my first time).
it really was a good quality, yummy noodles, great texture totally qq & good tasty ingrdients!
mustn’t be trapped with concept of bakchormee, this was simply a very good delicious noodle dish, whether it is 100% bakchormee or 90% or not at all did not quite matter la…
when we finished our noodles nearer 12pm, the queue was even longer. at the slow rate they were serving, probably tale >1hrs.
after that guys came my house & we had kungfu cha 功夫茶till 1.30pm.
then one friend had to go for meeting, & i joined tea for a primary school ex-friends gathering.
even longer queue at 11.45am on saturday

even longer queue at 11.45am on saturday

 
long queue at 10.45am on saturda

long queue at 10.45am on saturda

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $4

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0