OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 41 First(s)
No. of Review333 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1721 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲230 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 333 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Seafood

See my dinner review at = https://chefquak.com/2016/05/06/wonderful-7pax-birthday-dinner-red-house-at-prinsep-on-4may2016/
had a wonderful dinner for a very good friend at red house @ prinsep street on 4.5.2016. ^^
i ordered 7 dishes.:-)
there was a promo thai lemongrass chilli lobster at S$88. the chilli was excellent. everyone loved the taste. it was quite a large serving too, 2 lobsters.:-)
we ordered cereal prawns 400g at S$7/100g. this was really good too.
crabs were priced at S$72/kg. we ordered a small sri-lankan pepper crab, 800g for S$58.this was a red house signature dish, and it was very good!
the 苏格兰面包螃蟹 (similar to dungeness crabs at pier 39 san francisco, also a common crab dish in hong kong & china seafood restaurants) was priced at the same S$72/kg. it’s 1.2kg so S$86, quite a bit more expensive. this also red house signature dish. the crab meat was quite solid & more firm than sri-lankan crab.
i felt sri-lankan crab was tastier & had a better texture.
also the chilli sauce was quite poor really, quite sweet but not intense with meat sweetness, instead gluey, sweet not spicy, more like a tourist version. this crab had a lot of roes & tomalleys.
we ordered a medium spinach tofu, 9 pieces S$21.i liked this dish. it was very good.:-)
the 3-egg spinach also very good. but really this 3-egg spinach dish the best i had was at uncle leong jurong east.
we ordered a medium seafood hor fun. it was pretty good. several friends commented good wok hae! the broad kuay teow was especially flavourful. & the serving had quite a bit of prawns & sotong. it was a good round-up dish for the dinner.
dinner came to S$409. it was less than S$60pax nett. i think pretty good for this quality of food & actually cheaper than the recent 5pax lunch (which was S$311 for 5pax).
the service here was excellent, very friendly, very attentive, keep changing plates & gave a lot (continuous supply) of wet tissues etc. very good service indeed!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 04, 2016 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $59

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Just Superb Roast London Duck Smile Mar 15, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/10/just-superb-roast-london-duck-tunglok-signature-orchard-parade-on-9mar2016/
went with wife to tunglok signature @ orchard parade last evening on 9.3.2016. ^^
my favoruite restaurant but not been there for a while.
last time i had an excellent meal here was on 4.8.2015.
we ordered a scottish razor clam each. unfortunately server came back to say they served the last to some diners in the room.
i ordered a 蒜泥白肉 & the salted egg & wasabi prawns to replace.
this 蒜泥白肉 looked nice but was mediocre this time. sliced pork was quite plain & sauce was heavy, i scrapped away most of it.
i think my own 蒜泥白肉is taste-wise much better than this, though looks need to improve.
the roast london duck was simply incredible!
so tasty & flavourful from the fat & the skin very crisp.
overall it was even better than the excellent duck we had 2 days ago at ya wang 鸭皇 at sentosa in JB! so good it was!
but of course the duck itself was different, this a smaller duck from ireland. S$30 should be the going price in the good restaurants except here we have the 50% palate discounts for 2pax so, only S$15++
the meat was very tender & juicy.
the salted egg & wasabi prawns were between mediocre & competent.
in fact, the nicest was the tomatoes.
not that it was really no good, but it was more ordinary than ordinary. some zi char restaurants do better la!
the string beans though was very good. crunchy, fresh, sweet.
the zha jiang mian炸酱面 was more like a bakchormee, and it was pretty good too.
not my ideal noodle dish to order in a restaurant, but in fact equal or better than many.
& good ingredients too, scallops & prawns & loads of minced pork. chilli sauce was also good.
the dessert 雪中情怀 was my perennial favourite.
really enjoyed it, very refreshing. a lot of pomelo inside & of course mango.
altogether a very enjoyable dinner. after palate discounts dinner came to S$59 all-in for 2pax. yes! ^^

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 09, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Excellent Chirashi Don Set  Smile Jun 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/06/10/excellent-chirashi-don-set-kuriya-dining-on-9jun2015/
wife bought me an excellent chirashi sushi zen set at lunch at kuriya dining on 9.6.2015.^^ it was for early father’s day.

we had a mother’s day lunch at gurnard’s head on 10.5.2015 and a mother’s day dinner at mackerel sky at newlyn, cornwall.

set started with a salad with goma (sesame) dressing. there was a lot of salad, a bit little dressing. we asked for more. of course to be added in moderation. it was good.

the chawanmushi was excellent, especially with the very tasty snow crab sauce, though i felt the sauce was a bit starchy.

this was an excellent chirashi don for S$62++. i still cannot decide if this is better or mikuni’s better. i guess overall i still favour mikuni’s chirashi don but this was really really good too. anyway, i like them both.

you have in one bamboo holder uni, negi toro, salmon, tai, maguro, hotate, hamachi, amaebi on a bed of cubed salmon & maguro (like in barachisrashi don). on the other there was anago, ikura, tobiko, tamago on sushi rice.

a most wonderful, satisfying lunch.

there was dessert & coffee too. dessert was strawberry mousse, black sesame ice cream, and fruits. it’s actually kind of huge set for lunch, but on some days we are permitted to spoil ourselves.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $73

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/11/17/wonderful-birthday-dinner-for-wife-sumiya-on-16-11-2014/
had a really wonderful 6pax family dinner at sumiya, orchard central on 16.11.2014. it was a belated dinner for wife as she was away in london with son on her birthday. 
for lunch, i had one of the best chirashi don set here for just S$18.80++
we had 2 orders of sashimi moriawase. it had a wabi (abalone), akami (lean toro), 2 amaebi, 2 hotate, 2 hamachi, 2 salmon, 2kajiki, & a good helping of uni. quality of the cut was very good, but we did not get otoro or chutoro. 

can’t say it was better than mikuni’s chirashi don which had uni, botan ebi & 2 chutoro at S$45 (after 50% feed at raffles discounts), but it was very good anyway.
we ordered the 12 pieces amaebi with shell. amaebi was excellent, plump & sweet. shelling fee is S$5, so we shelled ourselves.

we tried their double prawn tempura maki (4pieces for S$8.80)+softshell crab maki (4 pieces for S$8.80). they were good & price was good too. such maki would range from S$15 to S$20 normally for 6 pieces.

we had 1 order of kagoshima wagyu (150g), this was excellent too. but for price vs quality, the kagoshima wagyu steak at arossa, 180g for S$44 after 50% palate discounts would top this. 

we tried the izaki (japanese stripe bass). it was good, meat was tender but quite plain really, so not a must have for me.

the yellowfin tuna cheek was supposed to be rare in singapore so we tried it. meat was not as fine as izaki (since this is a huge fish) & stronger in flavours. somehow this manner of preparation was to me not as good as the one with sauce, like in hachi’s hamachi kama.

we had 2 orders of ikura unagi rice & 1 order of ikura salmon flake rice. both were very flavourful but my daughter was right, the salmon flake with ikura tasted better, very well mixed in the rice. for me, sun with moon wheelock’s kamameshi still tasted better than this 2. 

the dinner including 4 beers (S$4.90 happy hour price order before 7pm) & 2 bamboo sake (S$8.80 each) was S$416, just below S$70pax nett. if i compare this with tatsu which cost S$66pax nett, then tatsu’s dinner was quite miserable, i.e. relatively speaking.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  sashimi moriawase,ikura unagi rice,ikura salmon flake rice,kagoshima wagyu,tempura prawns maki & soft-shell crab maki,amaebi 12 pieces
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2014 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $69(Dinner)

Dining Offers: UOB 10%


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food That Pleases Smile Sep 14, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

time flies. almost a year had passed, the last time i took the fabulous 6-course lobster dinner set at tunglok signature orchard parade hotel was on 19.10.2013.
so i was looking forward to relish the wonderful moments on 13.9.2014. we took the exact same S$98 lobster & seafood set. as i noted previously, it was of exceptional quality, both in terms of quality of ingredients & quality of cooking.
as before & always, every dish pleases. if i have to pick my least favourite, it would be the kurobuta & it was good too. 
the foie gras & smoked duck wrap was good, tasty, refreshing. i thought the “pan-fried foie gras” tasted similar to the usual unglamorous poached duck liver though.
the crab roe sharkskin was super & chokeful of ingredients.
the steamed soon hock fillet was very well done, very sweet, tasty, smooth, with the garnishes & sauce as well. i am thinking to replicate this for my home dinners.
the pan-fried spanish kurobuta was quite delicious too. if there were not other also great dishes, i would consider this pretty good.
the lobster ramen was the best. this time the serving came with shelled 1/2 lobster (before it was a 1/2 lobster in shell). lobster meat was fresh, bouncy, sweet. the sauce was excellent. i was impressed with this dish & thinking how to replicate it at home.
& i love the dessert 雪种情怀 – 1 vanilla & 1 coconut ice cream on the usual grapefruit mango puree (杨支甘露).
with palate 50% discounts for 2pax, dinner was S$49pax + S$2pax for the tea. wonderful deal!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  steamed soon hock fillet,crab roe sharksfin soup,lobster ramen,pan-fried spanish kurobuta
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 13, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0