OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review332 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1706 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲229 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 332 Reviews in Singapore
Good Standard Bakchormee  Smile Nov 03, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Chinese Noodles

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/11/02/good-standard-bakchormee-ah-hoe-meepok-blk-710-clementi-ave-west-street-2-on-2nov2015/
there’s a lot of buzz in the media & among friends lately about a japanese family who started a bakchormee mee stall at clementi west.
one friend rounded the rest of us up so today 9 of us descended on ah hoe meepok at blk 710, clementi west street 2 on 2.11.2015. ^^
some of us were there at 11.30am. there was no queue yet. nearer 12pm we had about 6pax & started queueing. there were then about 4 to 5 persons in the queue. but shortly after the queue was 10+ long and continued so.
singaporeans vote with their feet. as one of the reviewers johorkaki said, if the food were not good, the hype would soon fixxle out.
8 of us ordered the S$5 meepok dry. only 1 friend ordered the soup.
so do i think it was that good?meepok was qq, texture was very good. the chilli & sauce coated the noodles well & taste was good.
there were loads of ingredients, i had 5 pork balls, 3 slices of shellfish, sliced pork, mushrooms &minced pork. there was no liver, or tipoh (the dried flatfish).
for me though, it could do with a bit more vinegar, and the chilli sauce though tasty, was not spicy & did not have the kick.
there was some garlic vinegar sauce i think, which a friend who was here for the 3rd time now said it was good, so i added that to the noodles & tossed.
i think it was similar to what we added to the ramen at Ichiran 一蘭 in fukuoka. it was nice, but somehow i still prefer the more fragrant black vinegar.
i did not try the soup version. it looked good too. i will certainly try the soup version next time.
my benchmark for meepok teng (soup version) is xing ji (興记) bakchormee fengshan food centre
i certainly like this bakchormee here & will take it again, but it was not compelling or must have variety for me.
i would prefer-
tai hwa bakchormee at crawford lane. lai heng bakchormee at changi T3 B2 kopitiam & also the 6th avenue jalan tua kong meepok tar though that is a different fishball noodles style
bakchormee was good & we had a great time among old friends 9 of us.
it is not something though i would specially drive myself to come & eat alone. unlike say my favourite ah heng curry chicken noodles at hong lim food centre; or
the really good why eat har big prawn noodles.

 

 
ah hoe meepok at blk 710, clementi west street 2

ah hoe meepok at blk 710, clementi west street 2

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 02, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Hotel | Fine Dining

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/11/01/delightful-delicious-100gourmet-dinner-disgruntled-chef-ang-siang-hill-on-29oct2015/
had a most delightful dinner with wife @ disgruntled chef ang siang hill on 29.10.2015. ^^
we both liked the duck breast best but other dishes (except for the lollipop & dessert) were just as delicious & marvelous.
this was a 100gourmet dinner citibank promotion
for this evening it was chef daniel sia of disgruntled chef & chef joris bijdendijk of restaurant RIJKS®we started with a charcoal bread. the bread was excellent, crusty yet fluffy inside.
the lobster & chicken in a yellow wine sauce was really delicious. chicken had a very crispy skin. something i cannot make. & such a wonderful sauce.
& the scallops were excellent. colour & presentation was beautiful of course, and Chef Joris Bijdendijk, Executive Chef at the restaurant RIJKS® in the world renowned Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, personally drizzled the oil over the dish at our table.
scallops were sashimi grade & the inside were still raw. one of the tastiest scallops i have take! bite, taste, everything! ^^
wife thought the flounder lollipop was poor. i thought it was ok, tasty enough. but it’s like glorified fast food?
the cod was a return of another wonderful dish.
server warned us that some diners feedback that the nori butter made the dish quite salty & they were still adjusting the taste.
for us, the seaweed butter did give a distinctive salty taste but nothing overpowering & in fact flavoured the dish rather well, & the shellfish bits (cockles??) added great bite to a delicious sauce. the cod tasted a bit firmer, like a monkfish texture, anyway it was good.
& what a beautifully plated dish!
& wa..the duck..it was the best duck i had.
so tender & sweet. just enjoying this duck, i am thinking i gonna try my sous vide duck breast again.
i did that for my duck l’orange some time back.
it reminded me of the excellent jaan’s hay roasted pigeon. that was quite long ago though, so this duck actually felt better.
the dessert was too ordinary to complement the excellent dishes, but still the mars mar thingy had a really nice chocolate & great texture. i am so so with the cream just took a little.
we have never been to disgruntled chef at dempsey or here at ang siang hill. i must say the service was excellent-polite, friendly, quite knowledgeable & attentive.
this was 1 of the best dinners i had for a while, except for the excellent japanese omakase at hachi. hachi is different cuisine, which we would prefer by comparison but it also cost a lot more.
it reminded me of the really sumptuous dinners & dining experience at jaan, which we do not go any more because it’s no longer offering feed at raffles discounts. presentation was delight & food was exquisite. jaan had 2 amuse bouche which were excellent PLUS a palate cleanser item, so total like 10-course.
for the price, i think this dinner at disgruntled chef was next to perfect.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $118

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/10/30/very-enjoyable-s18-80-bara-chirashi-don-sumiya-on-30oct2015/
have not gone back to sumiya for a while, forgot how good the bara chirashi don set was for the price.
last time i wrote about the bara chirashi don set here was on nov2014.
today i went with a good friend to sumiya for lunch at 12.50pm on 30.10.2015. ^^ after that we walked over to orchard cineleisure to watch the movie “the martian”.
sumiya was crowded.
full house on a weekday lunchtime. so better book!
we ordered 2 “mixed bara kaisen don” set @ S$18.80 ea. we asked for sushi rice (there is a note on the menu to say the default is normal rice but you can ask for sushi rice with no charge).
it came with appetizer, salad, pickles, chawanmushi, miso soup & dessert.
japanese tea was also foc. we had 1 cold & 1 hot green tea.
chawanmushi was by the way thing. the appetizer, miso soup, pickles as well, but i guess still good to have. :-)
salad was great.
my own chawanmushi is lots better.^^
& the mochi dessert was quite excellent! :-) the mochi dough was soft & perfect mochi texture.
there was another layer of tasty cream inside the bean paste.
restaurant is on the rooftop & we were seated by the window, so there was view as well.most importantly, the chirashi don was very good. usually bara chirashi don uses small diced sashimi from leftover bits. this one here has larger cubes & the sashimi was really fresh & sweet. there was no expensive sashimi of course, just salmon, maguro & kajiki, with lots of ikura & tobiko, & avogado.
& the sushi rice was great too!
cannot ask more for a S$18.80 chirashi don set.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 30, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $22

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice Char Kuay Teow Smile Oct 28, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/10/28/char-kuay-teow-adam-road-food-centre-on-26oct2015/
this feels almost like a joke..lol.^^
we had quite poor food for the price at chotto matte on 26.10.2015.
the kind of feeling where we felt not shiok enough, no point ordering more food, might as well go tapao char kuay teow from adam road food centre. :-)
wife & i prefer hai kee’s char kuay teow, with its huge, plump, luscious “hum” or cockles
but we were not about to wait 45mins for it. so adam road would have ot do. anyway youngest daughter prefers adam road.
it was pretty good. nice wok hae, tasty.
we ordered 2 packets, each S$3 plus S$1 extra cockles.
but cockles were so tiny, have to put on glasses to find them. still likes hai kee’s better la!

 

 
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $4

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Ice Kacang Smile Oct 20, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Desserts and Cakes

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/10/20/good-ice-kacang-bad-pig-trotters-sing-heng-dessert-mei-ling-market-food-centre-on-20oct2015/

we were at mei ling market & food centre & had the S$13 song fish head hk steamed 港蒸松鱼头 at hong man ji delights 鴻满记小吃.
& also pig trotters & pig liver & kidney soup (below).
i was looking around for ice kacang. the sing heng dessert stall was a bit hidden but i found it anyway. 
at S$1.40 it’s probably the cheapest ice kacang in singapore. :-)
the one i usually goes to is at adam road food centre. that is S$2, the usual price charged in most food centres.
i was thinking maybe they have a thing or 2 to learn from adam road when the lady hardly added any evaporated milk. it’s like just a trickle whereas adam road pour like 20ml…lol.. onto the ice kacang.
surprisingly though, it was very good, even though i still prefer more evaporated milk. haha!
& that’s why i decided to record this. a good ice kacang.

 

 
sing heng dessert

sing heng dessert

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $1.40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0