OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review332 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1707 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲229 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 332 Reviews in Singapore
Good S$5 Prawn Noodles Smile Feb 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Chinese Noodles

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/02/23/good-sgd5-prawn-noodles-adam-road-noo-cheng-on-20feb2016/
came by adam road & decided to try the noo cheng big prawn noodles on 20.2.2016. ^^
i had not taken from this stall for many many years. some how the impression was that it was so so, so didn’t really want to try it.
turned out that it was really not too bad la!
i recorded on my facebook post as –
It’s actually not bad for $5…though I ordered the bakut but they don’t have only gave me sliced pork…chilli pretty good actually..
soup tasty & intense don’t have why eat har’s smoothness with underlying sweetness…I think why eat har chilli better also…
but this noo cheng far better than I expected
they gave 2 medium prawns + 1 small prawns for S$5.
i asked for bakut but they gave me sliced pork. i guessed they ran out of bakut…i had the bakut when i tried again the next day & it was good too.
overall i think it was quite good leh…maybe comparable with ah hui prawn noodles at balestier food centre.

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 20, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good 1-for-1 S$55 Lunch Buffet Smile Feb 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Steaks and Grills | Buffet

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/02/23/good-1-for-1-sgd55-lunch-buffet-furama-riverfront-on-23feb2016/
a friend bought lunch today. we were to meet at the square @ furama riverfront on 23.2.2016.
the square on level 2 serves buffet. there is 1 for 1 promotion at S$55 for lunch, so quite ok, not too pricey.
we were seated near the window area, very pleasant.
started with the sashimi station. with the current GBS (Group B Streptococcus) scare, there was a sign stating it was “salt water salmon”.
salmon was very good sweet & fresh. i took very few by my usual standard, just 4 slices.
had the cooked prawns (good), tako, skipped the shell fish.
took a pieces of slami & some smoked salmon.
& 2 maki – a reverse roll & a spider maki.
but these were quite good. turkey salad best, asparagus was good, the prawn salad was good (nothing unusual but good), sundried tomatoes, and the vegetables confit tasty too. i didn’t quite like the beetroot, had much better beetroots before.
i had to try the curry chicken noodles. it was nothing like (no comparison with) the ah heng curry chicken noodles of course. i would say basically 2 quite different dishes. still the curry was very tasty as a curry dish.
i was surprised by the main courses too. i almost w/o fail avoid main courses in buffet except for semi-buffet as a single alacarte order. i guess buffet main courses have improved!
i tried nearly every dish.
pork rib was good, tasty. roast prime rib was competent. fish au gratin was good, but the steamed fish was overdone (both were the same cheap sutchi fish. i am thinking of doing this for my community meals so tried both). oxtail was competent, the braised sauce & vegetables were good. my friend especially liked the deep-fried belly pork. it was just ok for me. there was a mid-eastern lamb preparation i think, very nice too.
& the pork collar casserole, surprising quite good. meat looked (& felt when cutting) tough & overdone ut it was actually quite tender.
as said earlier, fish au gratin was the better preparation.
i took the 3 cheese – a brie, a blue & another cheese, some dried apricots, sultanas & walnut.
the peanut paste was unedible & should not be served. need a hong kong chef.
i quite enjoyed this lunch, chat with friend & trying out different food. one of the few times i actually bordered to try out the main courses, usually just took lots of sashimi…lol..

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 23, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $33

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Seafood | Zi Char

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/02/07/very-good-dinner-holland-village-xo-bee-hun-on-6feb2016/
wife & daughter wanted to have zi char dinner.
daughter had just been to wah chee dover, and wife & i had just been to hong kong street old chun kee 香港街老珍记 at commonwealth crescent.
we decided to try holland village XO fish head bee hun (on 6.2.2016). i had takeawy from here about 1 year ago. ^^
the coffeeshop was quite crowded at 6.45pm on friday evening.
a medium fish head bee hoon is S$10. to add XO, S$2 more.
it was very good though, very tasty, slightly intense, reminded us of uncle leong’s crab bee hoon (even though it was really no comparison…uncle leong’s was just soooo good!).
taste wise it was a lot better than hong kong street old chun kee 香港街老珍记. a simple dish yet quite different satisfaction taste wise.
but hong kong street old chun kee 香港街老珍记 gave large pieces of meat even for the S$6 bowl. here it was a lot too but mostly bones.
it was too troublesome & tiring for me. next time i will just order sliced fish.
the fried kai lan was excellent!
so fragrant, super wok hae! ^^
san lo hor fun was very good too.
really, these 2 quite basic dishes the satisfaction quite different la.. for these 2 dishes i will come back here & not old chun kee.
the HDB ghim moh edge apartments looked really nice like private condos – the veiw from where we were sitting at the coffeeshop.

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $11

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Zi Char

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/01/29/great-wanton-mee-ah-huat-dunman-food-centre-on-27jan2016/
went to my primary school classmate for a walk at siglap park connector (PCN) this morning on 27.1.2016. ^^
we were not in contact for a long time.
recently another classmate came visiting from the states, so i joined a few of them at din tai fung @ gem after lunch on a saturday as i already had a lunch appointment that day.
one thing led to another & a group came to my place for a 14pax homecooked dinner last week.
after the walk, my friend drove to dunman food centre.
he told me there were 2 good wanton mee here – a huat & another stall on level 2. Eng had moved out some time ago.
there was a large electronic queue number. there were just 2 before us, so it’s like 5mins.
we had a S$3 bowl each. it came with quite a good helping of char siew plus 3 wantons. not too much noodles. for me just the right amount & really, a very decent meal. noodles were completely al dente, QQ.
the chilli sauce was really good. overall a very good standard wanton noodles.
my favorite is still kok kee(国记) @ lavendar food square.
the place came under redevelopment & kok kee moved out but i have not yet tried kok kee at the new location at balestier food hub, hoe nam building.
the other stall was the red ring at holland drive, also excellent wanton mee.
there is also a good pontion wanton mee at bedok interchange food centre.
there were a few others but for me ah huat ranks among the best.
dunman food centre

dunman food centre

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 27, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Wanton Mee  Smile Jan 29, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Chinese Noodles

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/01/29/great-wanton-mee-ah-huat-dunman-food-centre-on-27jan2016/
went to my primary school classmate for a walk at siglap park connector (PCN) this morning on 27.1.2016. ^^
we were not in contact for a long time.
recently another classmate came visiting from the states, so i joined a few of them at din tai fung @ gem after lunch on a saturday as i already had a lunch appointment that day.
one thing led to another & a group came to my place for a 14pax homecooked dinner last week.
after the walk, my friend drove to dunman food centre.
he told me there were 2 good wanton mee here – a huat & another stall on level 2. Eng had moved out some time ago.
there was a large electronic queue number. there were just 2 before us, so it’s like 5mins.
we had a S$3 bowl each. it came with quite a good helping of char siew plus 3 wantons. not too much noodles. for me just the right amount & really, a very decent meal. noodles were completely al dente, QQ.
the chilli sauce was really good. overall a very good standard wanton noodles.
my favorite is still kok kee(国记) @ lavendar food square.
the place came under redevelopment & kok kee moved out but i have not yet tried kok kee at the new location at balestier food hub, hoe nam building.
the other stall was the red ring at holland drive, also excellent wanton mee.
there is also a good pontion wanton mee at bedok interchange food centre.
there were a few others but for me ah huat ranks among the best.

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 27, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $3

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0