OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review332 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1706 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲229 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 332 Reviews in Singapore
Just Average Zi Char OK Apr 26, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Coffeeshop

See my full reviews & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/04/26/just-average-zi-char-jin-wee-siglap-on-25apr2016/
5 of us went to jin wee @ siglap for dinner.
it’s a regular zi char eating house.
menu likewise pretty standard zi char fare.
we were looking at the lie tong 例汤 S$12 & the fish maw soup S$25. a friend decided on the fish maw soup.
soup was quite good. quite chokeful of ingredients, good amount of crabmeat & very tasty.
not as good as the fish maw soup at beng thin, but maybe not that far off.
seemed expensive at S$25 at a zi char place like this, but what’s important is it’s good la..
the crispy pork is popular here, we ordered the larger serving at S$15.
crispy pork was good, & the sweet sour sauce was well done too, a competent sauce not too sweet & good with the pork. sweet & sour not my favourite though.
overall i like loo’s curry pork chop better.
the fried bean curd with minced pork was quite tasty too.
felt expensive to me at S$15 for a simple dish with cheap ingredients, but maybe it was not exorbitant.
the sambal kang kong was nice if quite standard fare anywhere.
the dinner came to S$71 including drinks (we had 4 barleys + 1 tea) for 5pax, so about S$14pax. we ordered not much food though just 3 dishes + soup.
i thought the prices were just a bit expensive but it was quite ok dinner overall.

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 25, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $14

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Enjoyable Curry Rice Smile Apr 26, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Coffeeshop | Curries | Rice

See my full reviews & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/04/26/enjoyable-curry-rice-loos-hainanese-curry-rice-on-22mar2016/
went for early lunch at loo’s hainanese curry rice on 22.3.2016. we had 8pax.
the loo’s curry rice was quite simple food, dishes a bit limited, but still quite enjoyable.
the curry was especially shiok!
not that it was better than the fish head curry or lemak chicken curry. it’s slightly powdery, but overall just very shiok combine with the rice & pork chop.
pork chop was good.
not a particularly interesting dish for me. still thinking whether i want to try cooking this. deep-fry is always a bit troublesome & i try to avoid.
curry sotong was good. large sotong, nice think ones. nothing special i guess.
meat balls were ok.
the egg plant was good. nice colour & great taste.
chap chai was quite standard.
5dishes S$55 for 8pax.
simple food, limited selection, no really special dishes except curry.
but they all combined to give a really enjoyable meal.

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 22, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $6

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Interesting Jap Vegetarian Smile Apr 24, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Vegetarian

See my full reviews & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/04/24/interesting-jap-vegetarian-teng-bespoke-on-21apr2016/

niece bought dinner this evening on 21.4.2016. ^^
the radish salad was a great start. it was refreshing & good for 7pax. the goma (sesame) sauce was light & quite perfect. radish was crunchy.
didn’t think much of the black sesame yu tofu.
king mushrooms was one of the recommended dish. it was pretty good.
nice mushroom taste, good texture & great condiments.
niece ordered a nabe dish. there were like 5 or maybe 6 dumplings. pretty ok too.
soup was plain, good taste.
wife ordered a tomato spring roll. i like this wonderful dish, crispy skin, very tasty spring roll, simply excellent!
niece ordered a mushroom tempura. it was very good too, not like the usual tempura at all, more like a korokke (croquette).
it was nice…i loved the cheese!
the avogado maki was ok, pretty good actually. still i like the usual maki a whole lot better, so in the sense just like mock sashimi, i would rather have the real thing la…:-)
it was a very enjoyable get together.
dinner was S$110 for 7pax.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 21, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $16

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Excellent Tea-smoked Duck Smile Apr 23, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum

See my full reviews & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/04/18/great-3pax-family-dinner-xin-cuisine-on-17apr2016/
had an excellent 3pax family dinner with wife & daughter at xin cuisine yesterday on 17.3.2016. ^^
restaurant is as usual quiet (7pm on a sunday).
there were actually more customers/tables this evening.
we were here last in oct2015. as you can see all the food item prices had gone up!
we had 1 order of lie tong 例汤.
at S$12 it’s a very small serving & expensive for a lie tong 例汤.
c/w 1/2 pot (3 to 4 bowls) at tunglok signature orchard parade for S$16.
the lie tong 例汤 was very good, very savoury & tasty with pork & vegetable stock, but of course, so is tunglok’s lie tong 例汤, just as tasty.
the tea smoked duck is very good here. price has gone up i guess recently from S$28 to S$32 for 1/2 duck.
it is different because of the excellent lingering tea flavour, say c/w the very good duck at canton paradise.
the roast london duck at tunglok though is very good, basically a different more fatty Irish duck.
i like both can’t decide which is better!
and the steamed vegetable 蒸梅菜,茄子,娃娃菜 is very good here, love it! absolutely! the sweet mei cai’s flavours very shoik la!
the lobster noodles (S$25 instead of S$22 previously) looked a bit mushy. it was, but just a bit. taste was good. lobster was just lobster, competent.
the big prawn crispy noodles likewise. crispy part still crispy, other part just a bit soft.
taste wise it was great!
the few times we took dessert.
the guilinggao 龟苓膏 was excellent here.
such nice, strong flavours…don’t get it in HK even sometimes…
the aloe vera jelly was more ordinary. nice dessert not great.
for 3pax, we had 35% discounts using the amex palate card, all-in S$101, pretty ok la.:-)
if it were 2pax would have been like S$80.
really quite good for these food at a good restaurant!

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 17, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $34

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

White Bee Hoon 白米粉 Smile Apr 23, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Seafood

See my full reviews & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/04/22/white-bee-hoon-jin-hock-seafood-on-19apr2016/
2 primary school friends bought dinner for 10pax this evening on 19.4.2016. ^^
several of them were having this white beehoon 白米粉 quite many times recently & shared the photos on group whatsapp.
jin hock seafood 金福海鲜菜馆is located at #01-131, 844 Tampines Street 82, 520844. quite easy to get there with google map & parking was no problem at 8pm on a tuesday.
we had twin appetisers. hae chor was good & the duck crepe was quite interesting, a bit sweet but quite nice.
we had a tiger garoupa hk steamed 港蒸, quite ok, not the best.港蒸 is a really simple preparation.
the white beehoon 白米粉 was supposedly their signature?
somehow i did not see the dish on the food pictures displayed all around.
it was wetter than what i expected, so at first i thought it was mee sua..
all those who had taken the dish here many times felt that this evening it was not as good as usual, probably because it was a much bigger serving. one friend went back a few days later & shared on whatsapp that his one person portion was a lot better.
anyway i thought it was still a very good dish, great taste, though i was also not too wowed with it, just a pretty good beehoon. not quite in the category of say crab beehoon though.
just for comparison, say a crab beehoon at kam jia zhuang, which is a lot tastier, is also wet but not swimming in sauce.
we had a 当归焗盐鸡.
the ginger sauce was nice, the chicken though not too bad actually, was kind of underwhelming… meat a bit dry…
so many nice chicken rice in singapore…though different preparation, a 盐焗鸡must be good standard to be comparable.
the salted egg prawns were ok.
tofu brocoli dish was ok..
but the compoy tofu dish at kam jia zhuang was better.
sambal kang kong was quite ok, a bit salty…
overall great fun & a very nice evening out with old friends.
the dinner cost S$262 for 10pax, kind of a bit on the high side.

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 19, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $26

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0