OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review332 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1706 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲229 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 332 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes

See my full reviews & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/04/15/chef-yamash!tas-delicious-cakes-on-14apr2016/
a primary school buddy bought me chef yamash!ta cakes. chef yamash!ta was with glace then flor & now his own chef yamash!ta).
first time i am trying them. i have seen the photos prior, & they all looked delicious & alluring!
& i had good time as you see above, coffee + cake when i got home. ^^
i don’t know the names, but looking at the sliced cakes in chef yamash!ta website, i had the uji, a green tea cake (btw uji is a small town about 15km south of kyoto on the way to nara & famous for its green tea…i visited with my sis in may2013); the mt fuji; the ichigo; & another pink roll which looks like the framboise turned sideways.
& among these, looking at the whole cakes in chef yamash!ta website, seems that ichigo is his recommended cake.
cakes are not exactly my forte to comment. i do like japanese cakes. the cream is usually lighter & tastier. & of course they are visual delights to behold.
i tasted each of the 4 cakes. i think my favourite is uji. the green tea flavour was excellent, light but lingering, not too sweet (not sure, maybe can be even less sweet), and already said the cream was light & tasty. next was the ichigo (which means strawberry).
actually mt fuji also not bad, chocolate & chestnut cream…not sure what was the pink cake. but it was not bad too. this are cakes that i am actually quite happy to finish the whole cake, usually i would not.

 

 
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 14, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $7

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Coffee & Cake Smile Mar 19, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Brunch

see my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/19/coffee-cake-assembly-coffee-on-17mar2016/
3 OPS (Outram Primary School) classmates came over to my place & we had a nice, enjoyable homecooked lunch on 17.3.2016. ^^
after a great lunch, dessert, chit chat, we decided to go out for a cuppa.
one friend had to leave so 3 of us went to assembly coffee at evans road in 1 car. :-)
we ordered cappuccino, flat white, hot chocolate + one apple crumble to share.
last time i came here was with family on 28.12.2014. that time the latte art was good & lemon meringue was very good!
lemon meringue ran out this time.
my friend ordered an apple crumble to share.
it was pretty good actually. apple was not too sweet, nicely done, texture & taste. crumle top was great & the pie base was good too.
maybe i can make this cake. i make an ok jam crumb cake. & before that i made a pretty good apple pie too. so maybe can combine the 2 together.
i had my usual flat white. no much latte art today. barista not around?
coffee is good here though not really standout vs say chye seng huat at tyrewhitt road & dutch colony at pasarbella @ grandstand or carpenters & cook.
it was great spending time with old friends from primary school.

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 17, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $8

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Just Superb Roast London Duck Smile Mar 15, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/10/just-superb-roast-london-duck-tunglok-signature-orchard-parade-on-9mar2016/
went with wife to tunglok signature @ orchard parade last evening on 9.3.2016. ^^
my favoruite restaurant but not been there for a while.
last time i had an excellent meal here was on 4.8.2015.
we ordered a scottish razor clam each. unfortunately server came back to say they served the last to some diners in the room.
i ordered a 蒜泥白肉 & the salted egg & wasabi prawns to replace.
this 蒜泥白肉 looked nice but was mediocre this time. sliced pork was quite plain & sauce was heavy, i scrapped away most of it.
i think my own 蒜泥白肉is taste-wise much better than this, though looks need to improve.
the roast london duck was simply incredible!
so tasty & flavourful from the fat & the skin very crisp.
overall it was even better than the excellent duck we had 2 days ago at ya wang 鸭皇 at sentosa in JB! so good it was!
but of course the duck itself was different, this a smaller duck from ireland. S$30 should be the going price in the good restaurants except here we have the 50% palate discounts for 2pax so, only S$15++
the meat was very tender & juicy.
the salted egg & wasabi prawns were between mediocre & competent.
in fact, the nicest was the tomatoes.
not that it was really no good, but it was more ordinary than ordinary. some zi char restaurants do better la!
the string beans though was very good. crunchy, fresh, sweet.
the zha jiang mian炸酱面 was more like a bakchormee, and it was pretty good too.
not my ideal noodle dish to order in a restaurant, but in fact equal or better than many.
& good ingredients too, scallops & prawns & loads of minced pork. chilli sauce was also good.
the dessert 雪中情怀 was my perennial favourite.
really enjoyed it, very refreshing. a lot of pomelo inside & of course mango.
altogether a very enjoyable dinner. after palate discounts dinner came to S$59 all-in for 2pax. yes! ^^

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 09, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Hawker Centre | Chinese Soup | Claypot Rice

See my full review & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/12/new-lucky-claypot-rice-some-say-the-best-on-11mar2016/
a friend bought dinner at new lucky claypot rice this evening on 11,3,2016. ^^
my wife & i are low on carbs and generally don’t eat claypot rice.
new lucky is very near my place, i knew of it for a long time but have not taken it here before.
just last week, the same friend was with me, but we were late & new lucky was closed by 1.20pm, we ended up having coffee at hans & sharing a sandwich.
this time i was there at 5.45pm. my friend was already there & the food had arrived within 10mins of his order.
we shared a S$10 claypot rice for 2 & a S$4 watercress soup with pork soft bones.
the rice was very fragrant, individual grains.
the chicken was very tender, and i liked the pork & liver sausages. there was also the salted fish.
my friend said not to add the dark sauce, and to taste & enjoy the fragrance of the rice.
i did that too. i also added the dark sauce. you see, i enjoyed the fragranc of the dark sauce as well…haha! :-)
while i enjoyed the rice, it was really a lot of carbs for me. i am thinking i will try this dish myself, with a lot less rice, a lot more chicken. haha!
the soup was good. not the good restaurant standard lie tong kind of good, a good hawker stall food centre soup kind of good.
i like pork soft bones. this was good & make for a sweet tasty soup.

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 11, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $7

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Excellent Frog Leg Porridge Smile Mar 12, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Porridge/Congee

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/12/excellent-frog-leg-porridge-g7-sin-ma-on-11mar2016/
a friend, my primary school classmate, bought me an excellent frog leg porridge lunch at G7 sin ma on 11.3.2016. ^^
i have not taken frog leg porridge for the longest time.
this was really excellent! ^^
liked the lunch a lot.
1 bull frog goes for S$8. buy 2 get 1 free so S$16 gets you 3 frogs.
1 portion porridge is S$3. & 2 of us took only 1/2 of that 1 portion. :-)
if you order 3 frogs, you get 2 free, so 5 frogs for S$22 & porridge is free as well. so for S$3 more we get 2 frogs more.
my friend wanted me to try the ikan tenggiri (mackerel) with thai sauce. so we kept it at 3 frogs + 1 portion porridge at S$19.
this was actually the same sin ma at lor 3 geylang which my other friends were telling me.
this a lot leh for 1 portion. 2 of us shared & we took about 1/2 of it.
the gong bao frog leg 宫宝田鸡was really excellent! ^^
the bull frog were meaty, fresh, tender, tasty. very good la! the sauce was excellent not too sweet & really wonderful together with the porridge.
ikan tenggiri (mackerel) was good. :-) fish was fresh & sweet if ordinary, the garlic & thai sauce gave it an extra kick.
my friend ordered too much but he is actually a small eater. so i ate most of it. :-)
& this fried kai lan蒜蓉芥兰 was very good. plain, simple, tasty, not oily.
i will definitely go back again. don’t really need the fish but can do with the S$22 for 5 frogs porridge + the very nice kai lan.
after lunch, we went over to carpentor & cook for a cuppa. a very enjoyable, relaxing lunch & coffee chat for me.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 11, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $24

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0