OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review332 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1706 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲229 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 332 Reviews in Singapore
Good But Expensive Food  Smile Mar 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Seafood

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/06/ri-g20-mar2016-dinner-good-but-expensive-food-first-culinary-on-24feb2016/
for mar2016, the organiser arranged dinner at first culinary at ITE college central 2 Ang Mo Kio Drive on 24.2.2016. 11pax attended.
we had the S$468 menu.
food taste was good actually. but it was quite expensive for the type of dishes & ingredients. we paid S$55 each.
some didn’t like the longevity buns so we had the deepfried mantous instead. they were nice though they didn’t fit into the dishes & perhaps the original longevity buns would do.
the cold dishes was quite good standard. all were quite tasty. roast pork nicely done & standard of any good restaurants like tunglok, imperial treasure etc.
fish skin, baby octopus, ribs & the egg were all good.
our group now more nevironment conscious, so sharksfin changed to fish maw soup. bravo!
the fish maw was also very good standard, tasty, with good amount of crab & fish maw, not the gluey starchy type.
& the stock, soup base was good, so a sweet, tasty soup, beng thin standard la…
there was a wasabi & peanut sauce prawns.
both were very well down. same preparation deep-fried very nicely & added sauce. first time i had peanut sauce. it was good too.
we had a large soon hock, probably 1 kg size.
it was HK steamed 港蒸, very nicely done too, fresh, quite the perfect timing, very good.
the abalone dish was good standard but nothing special.
abalone is abalone, the duck web & brown braising sauce ok but nothing special, bot specially tasty..i had better la…
scallops & broccoli were all good. the basket was not yam basket but some potatoes, so so to me, no one took much.
yee meen noodles were pretty tasty.
sea coconut was the usual.
it was another wonderful evening of old friends coming together, great chat & sharing, strengthening of friendship & bonds.
overall the food was ok or good but pedestrian. nothing special except for the price, which was rather expensive at S$55nett each for the type of dishes. price was not outrageous but not great value also.
still between good value but mediocre food & this, i would rather have good standard food preparation & taste, and not so great value.
i heard hong kong people talking in the streets (actually in the MTR station), “sin you ho sek, yin hao dai sek” 贤要好吃,然后抵吃…so first good taste, then good value la…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 24, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $55

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Coffee & Waffles & Cake in a Jar  Smile Mar 06, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

See my full review & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/06/coffee-waffles-cake-in-a-jar-grin-affair-bishan-on-3mar2016/

after a nice late lunch at kim san leng food centre, another friend joined us & 4 of us walked over to grin affair for a cuppa on 3.3.2016. ^^
the place was recommended by a friend’s daughter. these days, it’s the young folks that recommend hip places to us.i had my usual flat white. did not take a photo.
coffee was good, though nothing so different. i would say carpenters & cook,assembly coffee, dutch colony, CSH etc has better ambience & overall experience, and some have better pastry.
this place is ok.
there was a 1 for 1 promotion for the waffles at S$5.90.
it was pretty good. came with ice cream (we picked durian, strawberry, earl grey etc), and very nice cookie & cream soil at the bottom. at S$3 it was quite good & the small portion of waffle was just nice for us each.
there was some other voucher on the table so i took a snap.
bought some cake in a jar for my daughter also – a laichee passion fruit & a greentea.
she was good with it. i tried 1 teaspoon myself…laichee was good, green tea so so for me la…

 
Grin Affair

Grin Affair

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $9

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Chicken Rice Smile Mar 05, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Chicken Rice

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/04/good-lunch-but-quite-ex-kim-san-leng-bishan-on-3mar2016/

went with 2 close friends to watch stephen chow’s mermaid at GV Bishan yesterday on 3.3.2016.
after the show we walked over to kim san leng food centre.
my friend queued up to buy a S$11 plate chicken from the bugis street ming kee chicken rice. he could not recall the price of the beg, which i guess was S$6. we had 2 rice to share among 3.
chicken was good, but nothing special for me really. no much different from xin ji 新记chicken rice at mei ling food centre.
overall the lunch would come to about S$38 for 3, that should be consider ex. maybe we just ate too much…lol! ^^
i like the duck best, chicken & ngoh hiang a toss up. but chicken have to queue so i guess ngoh for my choice. haha!

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $8

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Lunch but Quite Ex Smile Mar 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/04/good-lunch-but-quite-ex-kim-san-leng-bishan-on-3mar2016/
went with 2 close friends to watch stephen chow’s mermaid at GV Bishan yesterday on 3.3.2016.
after the show we walked over to kim san leng food centre.
it’s a coffeeshop, and a huge success story. the guy pulled in the good hawker stalls, so it’s crowded, good traffic even though its along the food & away from junction 8. :-)
i like this place & the food, though they are not cheap.
yu kee’s braised duck was good too. i don’t eat this often these days but this was good – flavourful, smooth, not tough.
S$10 for quarter duck with drumstick i guess not that ex too.
the S$3 kueh chap very tiny plate, but also quite tasty. what can you buy with S$3 these days?
overall the lunch would come to about S$38 for 3, that should be consider ex. maybe we just ate too much…lol! ^^
i like yu kee;s duck best, chicken & ngoh hiang a toss up. 

c.h.e.f andy

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $13

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

So-so Perankan Food  OK Mar 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya

See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2016/03/02/so-so-perankan-food-dulukala-peranakan-restaurant-beauty-world-centre-on-29feb2016/

had another expiring groupon to use, and went with sis & bil to dulukala peranakan restaurant at beauty word centre on 29.1.2016. ^^
we had 5 peranakan dishes
i had a S$80 groupon voucher. we ordered 5 dishes including the S$25.90 assam fish head. it came to S$83.70 including service no GST, so effectively about S$51.50 (S$47.80 for S$80 voucher). :-)
restaurant was simply furnished, just some display & framed sketches.
they had a classic nonya silver belt. this one has 4 tingkat layers on interlocking rings.
assam fish head was ok. fish was fresh, quite meaty. assam was ok, we still finished all the gravy, but it was not like specially tasty, just average, so-so really.
overall the dish fell far short in terms of shiokness c/w the thai style fish head at forture, the zi char at old holland road.
the sotong hitam was quite poor. it was artificially sweet – sugar…a small serving for S$13.90. my first impression was we got a small serving because of groupon discount?? but i didn’t think so as except for this & the small serving of chap chai, the other dishes seemed ok.
i would say this was quite poor dish. the very nice unique squid ink flavour was absent.
the ayam buah keluak did not resemble anything like the restuarant photo (which looked wonderful!)
chicken itself was very so-so, dry, but the serving was substantial & the gravy was quite excellent, didn’t feel so at first taste but it gets into you. like the dish overall though it is easy to have the chicken a lot more tender.
the chap chai also did not resemble the restaurant menu photo.
a very small serving. taste was pretty good with the tau jeon.
the lady fingers with ikan bilis was tasty. i must try cooking some dishes with ikan bilis.
the simple ikan bilis bee hoon (very ex at S$4) we had recently at ayer rajah food centre also very tasty.
overall with the groupon discounts, S$51.50 for 5 dishes including fish head was quite good price.
still it didn’t give me the same satisfaction of a good S$10 curry rice for 2pax like that at hoower food court in haig road; or a
good nasi padang like that at sinar pagi nasi padang at geylang serai food centre.
on balance, ok to try but for myself don’t think i would want to take this again.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 29, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0