OpenRice Index
  
chefquak
This is chefquak . French, Japanese, Teochew are my favorite cuisines..
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review332 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1707 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1884 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant238 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲229 Follower(s)
chefquak  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 332 Reviews in Singapore
Pretty Decent Lunch Sets Smile May 26, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

See my full reviews & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/05/26/pretty-decent-lunch-sets-watami-ion-orchard-on-25may2016/
friend arranged to watch x-men apocalypse 3D Imax at shaw lido on 25.5.2016. 3 of us went for the movie.

after the movie, we had lunch at watami.
the stone pot set includes salad & drink. we orderd all 3 & all were good.
a friend had the salmon. i tried. it was very flavourful & of the 3 this the one i liked best, and i did not even have the ikura.
another friend had the pepper beef. flavour also very good.
i did not want to take tis as it looked like th food court pepper lunch, but actually it as very flavourful.
i had the pork stone pot set.
i liked it too.
it had more ingredients than the pepper beef but both were ok with me.
the salad was quite standard, simple but still quite nice.
for the drink, a friend had hot yuzu tea. 2 of us had the coffee which was quite ok.
lunch came to S$43nett for 3 pax, pretty good. anyway my parking already cost more than lunch or 3D Imax movie la…

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 24, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $14

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Rice

See my full reviews & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/05/22/not-so-good-food-food-pavilion-clementi-central-on-22may2016/
youngest daughter wanted to have lunch after her church, suggested going to food pavilion 好食城 clementi central on 22.5.2016. ^^
good outing with daughter.
but food was poor la…
i had some great xiaolongbao 小笼包here previously, like a year ago.
but they no longer sells xiaolongbao 小笼包, so we ordered spicy dumplings 红油抄手 S$3.50. this was bad! skin stiff, hard….nothing like the spicy dumplings 红油抄手 in crystal jade lamian xioalongbao!
the tantan noodles 担担面 – S$4 was passable, but nothing like crystal jade lamian xioalongbao.
the 1/2 roast duck was still flavourful.
but it was also a bit dry, & like not so fatty, moist & juicy. not sure why?
colour-wise & texture also, it was quite different the very nice ones here the last time..
luckily it still tasted pretty good with the sauce & also the chilli.
don’t think i come back here again for a long while la…

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 22, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $13

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Much Below Par Crab Beehoon Soup  OK May 10, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Zi Char

See my full reviews & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/05/07/much-below-par-crab-beehoon-soup-uncle-leong-jurong-east-on-6may2016/
i arranged a 5pax lunch with my OPS primary school buddies at uncle leong jurong east on 6.5.2016. ^^
i had quite many excellent crab beehoon soup at uncle leong jurong east last year (2015).
& recently a OPS primary school buddy bought a very good lunch at red house, so i wanted to let them try the crab beehoon soup at uncle leong.
price of crab has gone up from S$63/kg to S$68/kg. adding soup still S$5.
higher price is ok, but somehow the soup was not as intense & flavourful as every of the previous times i had???
if you look at the 2 past photos above, the soup previously all had a deeper yellow colour. just by the look, it appeared more delicious than what we had today!
also, as one friend mentioned immediately, the crab was not as “strong” ie the meat texture is not as firm, and i felt also not sweet as a very fresh good crab should taste.
recently i made a 6-course dinner including crab beehoon soup for a very good friend’s birthday.
the crab beehoon soup i made using 2x250g small crab was very nice. i commented that uncle leong’s was much better, but if i were to c/w what we had today, i think mine was better both for the soup & the crab. my crabs were tiny but very sweet!
the cereal prawns was still good.
however for comparison, i just had cereal prawns at red house 2 days back for another friend’s 7pax bjrthday dinner, and red house cereal prawns were so much better.
the seafood pot was still very good.
many good ingredients including fish maw, sea cucumbers etc.
this hotpot tofu was the worst dish. no comparison at all with any zi char tofu dish say the likes of kok sen etc
i used to think this was the best 3-egg tofu.
my taste buds must be different today, but while it was still pretty ok, i thought the recent 3-egg spinach at red house was better.
when we first tried the crab, immediately we told the server it was not so good.
i did not really expect anything, it was not so good but it was not like “bad”. anyhow the server arranged a complimentary longan sea coconut dessert for us.
the lunch came to S$176nett for 5pax like S$35pax. it was really quite below my expectations, much below par.
the last many times i came in 2015, i used a $51 for S$100 voucher so those meals were first super nice & second like super value-for-money. this time no discounts, but i was ok if only the food were as good, but they were not….

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $35

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Fujian/Heng Hwa | Zi Char

See my full review & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/05/10/good-s13-80nett-teochew-muay-buffet-gimtim-on-9ay2016/
friend bought 3pax lunch at gimtim at amk ave 4 on 9.5.2016. ^^
this was a follow-up of our last makan at toa payoh lor 8 food centre on 30.4.2016.
i have been to 2 other gimtim group restaurants & they were pretty good-
imperial court @ grassroots club suckling pig set
tim palace @ SAFRA toa payoh ala carte semi-buffet lunch
they have a S$13.80 nett teochew muay weekdays buffet lunch.
buffet turned out better than i expected.:-)
setting & dishes were humble, but the taste was quite good.
chicken was good, tender & sauce tasty.
duck wings so so, can skip.
mui choy 梅菜 was good, not salty, nice flavour.
kiam chai咸菜 also good, not salty, & sweet.
egg plant boleh da…
chicken feet was good. friend went to get a second helping.
ter kar (pig trotters) nice gummy tecture & tasty. people took most of it i managed to get some odds & ends.
tau kee average competent.
pork & cauliflower simple, ok.
egg tofu quite well done. with wood fungus & chinese cabbage, sweet.
strange they did not have kong bak. friend only picked up pig head meat, tofu & egg. they were good.:-)
there was a refill, but only pig ears. good too.:
the i think ikan selar? was good. people took the tails so only eft heads.
i will try to cook this dish myself.
i enjoyed all these little sides – fermented beancurd, peanut ikan bilis, olive vegetable, haebeehiam & radish pickles.
all memory foods from childhood la….
had some fruit (papaya) + pulut hitam.
i don’t mind this place. can come back some time again with my sis.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 09, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $14

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fabulous Mother’s Day Lunch  Smile May 08, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum | Seafood

see my full review & photos at = https://chefquak.com/2016/05/08/fabulous-mothers-day-lunch-majestic-restaurant-on-8may2016/
bought wife & family a fab 5pax mother’s day lunch at majestic today on 8.5.2016. ^^
look at the crab roe sharksfin soup (top photo), a perennial favourite of ours at majestic. it was still so good! one of the very best soup i had, so sweet & tasty.
majestic does a mother’s day ala carte buffet lunch at S$68pax++ with 15% citibank discounts.
a new item on the ala carte buffet menu was chilli lobster (used to be a NOT great chilli crab). for me, still not great la…
we came early at about 12pm. restaurant was full by 1230pm.
i did not find a recent post on majestic on my blog. perhaps i did not record.
the one i had was 3 years ago, a world gourmet summit dinner in apr2013.
for today, there was a self service station. the roasts were excellent!
roast duck was especially good. we had a few individual helpings. char siew was good. siew yoke ok not as good as the usual cube roast pork servings in these kind of good restaurants.
the lotus bun was good. we shared one among 5 of us. i took the braised duck wing. the pumpkin with 肉松was non descript for me. wife liked it though.
i wanted to try the porridge. took a tiny bit. it was good!
the braised belly pork was very flavourful. texture was tender though it didn’t look it in the large serving claypot.
from the ala carte menu, har gao was average. many dimsum places like crystal jade, imperial treasure better
the crab roe sharksfin soup was limited to one serving each. top draw stuff!
the chilli lobster was so so for me.
chilli gravy was good especially with the bun which was excellent.
lobster meat was not bouncy. did not feel like live or fresh lobster.
the thai lemongrass chilli lobster i had recently at red house was far, far better.
wasabi prawns were very good. tops!
did not look it though with too much of the green mayo. but the batter was very good, not like most places where they were thick, hard, tough. prawns were very fresh, water melon a great balance, counterpoint.
i love chilean seabass, & majestic served very good steamed ones in their regular menu.
here it was non descript.
the galbi style beef ribs were ok.
somehow it works better when served in individual small portion courses.
the sharksfin soup was limited to one order. there were like 3 or 4 other soups unlimited orders. we ordered 2 lobster crab roe broth to share.
a pretty good soup, though no comparison with the crab roe sharksfin soup.
the spinach wolfberry was good.
wife love the oyster mee sua.
it was very tasty with nice oyster flavour.
the salted egg custard buns流沙包 was very good here.
the best!
& the deepfried durian ice cream, another perennial favourite here.
i ended up eating 1.5 portion.
really enjoyable lunch & family time on mother’s day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 08, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $68

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0