OpenRice Index
  
This is hoothootowl .
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review12 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity129 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos72 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲7 Follower(s)
hoothootowl  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 12 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Sichuan | Hotel | Vegetarian | Dim Sum | Seafood

The restaurant had recently built in a wheelchair access elevator, thus making it easier to dine here with mummy who was in wheelchair. As usual the staff are very helpful and friendly. They welcomed us warmly everytime we dine here.

As my family are tim sum lovers, we deicded to go for the tim sum. One of the must order is the steamed custard cun. (3 pcs per tray @ S$5.20) You would not regret it. The bun may not look appetizing outside. However, one small bite into the bun, the custard will be flowing into your mouth like hot larva.  

The next must order dish is carrot cake. Remember to ask for the restaurant signature shallot oil. This dish tastes awesome with the shallot oil as recommended by the staff. For that, we have requested 2 servings of the shallot oil. Personally i feel that the shallot oil goes well with any tim sum.. it is so awesome!!!!

My mummy likes that Deep fried prawn dumplings the best. You can actually see the fillings are full of prawns!

My sister loves the grilled wagyu beef as recommended by the staff. Though the portion was small, every slice of wagyu is soft and melts in your mouth. The restaurant staff really knows their dishes very well. Very good recommenation indeed.

As usual we have a pleasing experience and er definitely will go back again!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $70

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Buffet Tim sum Smile Dec 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Foochow | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood

We were extremely early but when we arrived we found that we were not the earliest. There were queue before us. As my mum was in wheelchair can the staff had advised to take the back door entrance instead. Wise decision!

As we are the early birds, the waiting time for serving food didn't waited long.  There quite a variety of food to choose from. i.e, Tim Sum, Noodles/ congee, Speciality,  Vegetables & Dessert. We ordered stir fried carrot cake, steamed pork & shrimp, Salted egg custard Bun, Glutinous chicken rice in lotus rice, steamed BBQ bun, Deep fried sesame bun with red bean paste, poached pork wanton in spicy & chilli oil, Salted chicken in spicy sauce and many more. Each portion comes in 3 pcs and just nice for the 3 of us. 

Staff are observant and cater to needs immediaely.

I like the osmanthus with wolfberry cake the most.
It is light & refreshing. not too sweet as well. we had ordered 3 servings.
Their signature dish, durian crepe, is a disappointment though. Too much cream and too little durian fillings. As compared, i prefer the osmanthus with wolfberry cake more than the durian crepe.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 24, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen | Sushi/Sashimi

If not for my Japanese colleague, I would know that such restaurant exist. The signboard was plain and hardly catch our eye. One would have easily miss it without a 2nd look. The small Japanese restaurant are managed by the chef and a lady. (Not sure if she was his wife.)  

The are only counter seats. All small dishes are ready-looked and display around the counter. Just let the lady have your order and she will bring the  food to you after heating up. 

One interesting thing to note is that there is no price stated in the menu. You never know how  much the food cost until you call for your bill. It is kind of scary though. Also, there is no tea or mineral water served in this restaurant. Only alcoholic drinks. 

According to my Japanese this restaurant is extremely popular with Japanese. She had made reservation 2 weeks ago in order to get the seat. We saw a lot of Japanese salaryman inside the restaurant and really feel like you are in one of the Izakaya in Japan. 

The chef was quiet and seldeom interact with customers. Howver, he had surprised our birthday gal with his complimentary sushi salad.  very thoughful of him indeed. 

We never get the total cost of the bill as it is a treat from my Japanese colleague. the dining experience is good and we will definite go back for more. However, without the help of Japanese to order food may be a challange to you. 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 26, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Long waiting time Smile Dec 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Buffet

Very crowded during weekend. Perhaps it was after Christmas. We had waited for almost 30minutes before our turn to get seated. 

We ordered fried silver fish, shi zi tou, mapo tofu (not in pic) & fried red bean paste pancake.

The food took another 20minutes to be served. While waiting, we saw the kitchen chef was out taking orders and serving food to the customers. A are scene indeed. Perhaps most of the customers were here for the buffet dinner instead of the ala cart menu.

Suprising the fried silver fish is awesome. very crispy and it goes very well with the rice.
The shi zi tou is awesome as well. 3 big balls of minced meat.  very soft and juicy. Cabbage is sweet as well. I had a second helping of rice!

We round up the dinner with our favouritered beanpaste pancake. The crust was not crispy but the fillings was full and rich. every little bit could taste the red bean paste. 

Overall price is affordable and food is good. I will definitely go bac again.

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 30 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Craving for Dessert OK Dec 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Desserts | Desserts and Cakes

My parents and I are craving for dessert after lunch. We happend to shop at Chinapoint and thus decided to give it a try.

Yam paste is always our no. 1 choice when it comes to dessert. Here the yam paste is top with sweet potato and ginko. The yam paste is nice as it is not too sweet. However, i do not really like the sweet potato as it seems do not go well with the yam paste.

At first, we are thinking of ordering the durian snow ice. However, the cashier lady advsied that additional S$1 is required for top up of real durian meat. The normal one will be with "durian syrup" only. In the end, we had chosen mango snow ice instead. It is not too sweet, as expected.  

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 8 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 25, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0