OpenRice Index
  
y_lyn
This is y_lyn living in Pasir Ris. I am a :), work in Pasir Ris. I like to hang out in Bugis, Orchard, Tampines. Japanese, Cantonese/Hong Kong, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Dim Sum, Ramen.
Member 19 First(s)
No. of Review118 Review(s)
編輯推介數目5 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1114 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1143 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow335 Following
粉絲262 Follower(s)
y_lyn  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 118 Reviews in Singapore
Hand-Made Noodle Smile Oct 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Chinese Noodles

Sheng Wang Hand-Made Noodle 昇旺面粉粿 is located as the same coffeeshop as Mellben Seafood Palace. This stall has always been my favourite noodle stall ever since I moved over Pasir Ris. The stall is open daily from morning till around 3pm daily. Whenever I finish work early, this is one of my top choices for late lunch option. During weekend morning, the stall will be extremely crowded and you might have to wait for around twenty minutes for your order.

 
I like this type of noodle which is sold at a very affordable price at $3. The ikan bilis broth is really very sweet and tasty. I will always finish drinking the bowl of soup. I had seen them bringing out a huge container of ikan bilis to air on a few occasions during the weekday afternoon. The $3 bowl of noodle also come with an egg, although the consistency of the egg is not the same always, sometimes fully cooked, sometimes runny. The noodle texture is really very good, not too soft. I will recommend this stall if you are around this area.

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

After a short hike with my colleagues at the Changi Point Coastal Walk on a Friday morning when we didn't need to report for work, we decided to walk over to The Coastal Settlement for an early lunch at around 11am despite having a heavy breakfast. We were one of the first few customers to arrive at the restaurant. I had wanted to come to this place quite some time ago but it was difficult to make a reservation during weekend nights. I was glad that I finally got to see this place!

 
As we reached the gate, we were surprised that the area next to the valet service counter was very messy, like a mini warehouse, to put all the "junk". Not too sure it was done deliberately?

The whole place was very big. As it was still drizzling, we decided to get our seats indoor.
The indoor decor was really very interesting. You could find many old types of furniture here. There were also sofa seats, high stools, low stools.. just choose wherever you like! (Provided the restaurant is not crowded). In fact, we had a change of seat after we finished our mains. My friend just asked the staff whether we could change our seats as we wanted a different view. The staff said no problem and thus, we got cosy seats to enjoy our desserts. smile

 
This was my cup of Flat White.

 
We ordered truffle fries to share. The fries were very crispy and addictive, although a bit too salty.

 
Half and Half Pizza - One half was Prosciutto & Arugula and the other half was Margherita. The pizza was good although I still prefer Skinny Pizza. The crust was very thin and too crispy until it was quite difficult to cut. In the end, we just tore if off with our hands.

 
Waffles!

 
I decided to serve my friends waffles since I was the one who was dying to have it but couldn't possibly finished the whole plate by myself. The staff gave us 5 small plates as there were 5 of us and the portion was big, good for sharing.

It was a great day unwinding with my friends here and we spent close to 3 hours at the restaurant. Love the ambience and will definitely like to come again, maybe during the night with hubby, smile

For more photos and detailed reviews, pls visit: http://www.ylyn-journal.blogspot.sg/2013/09/the-coastal-settlement-tcs.html
 
Date of Visit: Sep 06, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ju Ju Hokkaido Hot Pot Smile Jul 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot

Hubby's birthday this year falls on a Monday. After work, we went to Ju Ju Hokkaido Hot Pot at PoMo formally known as Paradiz centre which most of us are familiar with) for dinner.
I had the Fresh Pacific Ocean Platter steamboat. It comes with a whole crab. Love the presentation!

Hubby ordered the following beef set. Presentation was very nice too.

 
They have 3 types of soup base for us to choose, namely clear Kun-Bo soup, milk base and spicy. Juju serves a light broth using Japanese “kun-bu” (air-flown Japanese seaweed from Hokkaido), that doesn’t overpower food and focuses on the natural taste of the food. Both of us, on the safe side, we chose the Kun-Bo soup in our individual hot pot.

The set meal comes with appetizer - Semi-Boiled Golden Egg with House Starters. I like the semi-boiled egg which goes really well with the sauce given.

Ice Plum drink was served to us after the heavy meal. The staff told us that the drink was good for digestion. For dessert, both of us ordered "Pearl Harbor", nothing special, just some sago dessert.

As usual, service here was very good and same as Tao's restaurant, their staff are always so friendly. Both restaurants were under the same group. They have a thid restaurant under their wing - Dozo (it is a more up-scale restaurant), maybe can try this next time tongue
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood


Yum Cha will be launching 3 special dim sums just for Mothers' Day this year and these exclusive dim sum will be available from 1st to 14th May at both Yum Cha Chinatown and Yum Cha Changi outlets.

I was invited for a food tasting session at Yum Cha to try their Mothers' Day exclusive dim sum as well as many of their regular items and I got my friend Sam to join me for the tasting session. If you haven't decided where to bring your mum for a good meal for Mothers' day, you can consider bringing her and your family to Yum Cha. =)

I took the MRT to Chinatown and when we stepped out of the station, we saw the beautiful sky with fluffy clouds.It was a short walk from the train station to Yum Cha restaurant. There is still the "Chinese New Year" feel around Chinatown area especially with all the hanging red/ yellow lanterns.Yum Cha restaurant on the left side.

 
We went up to the restaurant using this escalator. There is a lift to go up to the second level as well.Reached!

 
The following 3 items are the special Dim Sum introduced to this year's Mothers' Day menu.

Braised Pork with Preserved Vegetable Buns ($2/ pc)

This is a classic Chinese dish, probably has a long history. As they are small and easy to carry, these buns were eaten during war time when people were fleeing from the war in China before settling down in different parts of Asia.

 
Tender pork belly is braised in their secret recipe sauce for hours to create a sweet and succulent taste that is balanced by a soft steamed bun. Be warned... pork belly is used here so expect to find lots of fats in the bun! I don't mind actually but I thought they didn't put in enough of the preserved vegetables to distinguish them from the normal "Kong Ba" pau. Pan-fried Salted Fish Bun ($5/ 3 pcs)

This is quite an unique item that I had not tried before elsewhere. This is a traditional Chinese dish which is originated from Guangdong province. It is said that these salted fish buns were the favourite of Emperor Kang Xi of the Qing dynasty. The filling of the bun is made from salted fish paste and minced meat. If you are worried about the sodium level, the buns were not too salty surprisingly as there was a good balance of the proportion of salted fish paste and meat.

 

 
The third item in the Mothers' day special menu is Almond Tarts. ($3.20/ 3pcs)

They do look like Hong Kong bird nests' egg tarts with the almost translucent colour on top, isn't it? They are served in bite-sized portion and are served warm. Although I am not usually a big fan of almond paste, but I love these almond tarts.

 
Other than the above 3 special Mothers' day items, we were also served their normal ala-carte dishes.

Steamed Fish Maw with Shrimp Paste ($4.80/ 3pcs)

One of my favourite dishes. Succulent prawns wrapped in fish maw.

 
Prawn and Mango Sesame Fritters ($4.20/ 3 pcs)

Another must-order dish when you are at Yum Cha restaurant.

 
Scallop Pea-Shoot Dumpling ($4.60/ 3 pcs)

Something new to me but I find that the skin was a bit too thick.

 
Salted Egg Prawns

Very nice presentation. The prawns were deep-fried to crisp with the shells and I ate the shells as well. We felt that maybe they could add in more salted egg to give them a stronger flavour. For those who will peel off the prawn shells, you may not be able to really taste the salted egg flavour.

 
Black Pepper Lotus Beef Slice

Love the colours for this dish! Of course, the food was good too. Beef was tender and I also like the fried lotus roots, I think it will be better if the lotus roots were cut a bit thicker so that we can feel more crunch with every bite.

 
7 Flavour Tofu

People at my table all didn't really like the seasonings of the tofu sprinkled on top. I guess most of us love our tofu with sauce/ gravy.

 
Fried Vermicelli Seafood

The dish was served with generous portion of ingredients such as prawns, scallops and fish slices.

 
Liu Sha Bao ($4.50/ 3pcs)

Their liu sha bao were nice too.

 
Thanks Yum Cha for inviting us to the food tasting session. We had a great feast!

Yum Cha Chinatown

20 Trengganu Street (Off Temple Street)

#02-01 Singapore 058479

Tel: 63721717

Email: chinatown@yumcha.com.sg

Opening Hours:

Weekdays: 11am to 11pm

Sat, Sun and Public Holiays: 9am to 11pm

Supplementary Information:
Invited Food Tasting Session
 
Date of Visit: Apr 15, 2016 

Celebration:  母親節 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ricciotti 10th Anniversary Party  Smile Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | European | Café | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches

I was invited to Ricciotti Riverside for their 10th Anniversary Media Party on 16 October 2014. Ricciotti was formerly known as Ricciotti Pizza Pasta Grill. In conjunction with its tenth anniversary, it officially underwent significant changes to provide its customers with a new dining experience. It also combines all things Italia, combining food with the Arts, Music and Culture.

 
The tasting menu looked really impressive and I was looking forward to the party!

 
Contemporary design of the restaurant, with many of the items imported from Italy.

 
First, we had a sharing plate of a few types of appetizers. Carpaccio Di Polpo (Sliced Octopus, Lemon, Fennel) which was refreshing and made a good appetizer before we had the mains. I liked their Asparagi Alla Griglia, which is grilled asparagus and parma ham. We also snacked on the Polenta Herb Fries, which was served with truffle mushroom sauce dip. It was quite an unique combination. Another refreshing dish on the plate was Nizzarda Salad that was a blend of mesclun, fresh tuna loin, quail eggs, green beans, cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, anchovies topped with sherry dressing. Lastly, we also had Panzerotti, pizza doughs (shaped like our curry puffs) that were stuffed with chef's creation.

 

 

 
Opening speech from the management.

“A fresh take on the gastronomic experience is what people should expect from Ricciotti. Coming together over food, art and music, what’s not to enjoy?” said Managing Director, Ottavio Gori.

 

 
DC Mulay, founder of Crozzborderz, sharing about "Food for Good".
http://www.crozzborderz.com/ricciotti

 
Luca Ciarla played his violin with deep emotions, marrying his music with art installations projected on the screen.

 
Kezia Terracciano, a world-renowned artist born in Italy, performed live at the party while we were enjoying the great food.

 
Back to the food. For Pasta selection, we had Gnocchi Al Gorgonzola (Spinach gnocchi with gorgonzola cheese), Linguine Al Granchio (Crab Meat, Chilli, Tomato Cream) and Risotto Al Frutti Di Mare (Arborio Rice with Seafood).

 
For the main courses, we felt that the Cod Fillet was a clear winner. It was fresh and tender, served with sundried tomatoes and sauteed spinach. The Chicken Skewer was presented on chickpea dip. The chicken meat, which was marinated with herbs, had a nice flavour.

 

 
We had a Porcini E Scamorza Pizza. Toppings included Porcini mushrooms and cow's milk cheese. This pizza was not too heavy on the stomach but I do wish there were more mushrooms on it.

 
Finale for the tasting session! The Dessert Platter! Soffiatto (Dark Chocolate molten cake with Stracciatella gelato), Canella Sweet Pizza, Tiramisu and Carrot Cake.

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 16, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0