OpenRice Index
  
y_lyn
This is y_lyn living in Pasir Ris. I am a :), work in Pasir Ris. I like to hang out in Bugis, Orchard, Tampines. Japanese, Cantonese/Hong Kong, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Dim Sum, Ramen.
Member 19 First(s)
No. of Review118 Review(s)
編輯推介數目5 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity1111 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1143 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow335 Following
粉絲262 Follower(s)
y_lyn  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 118 Reviews in Singapore
Fried Instant Noodles Smile Oct 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

It was a Monday morning and many of the stall were closed at Teban Gardens Market and Food Centre. Normally, I will not go for heavy breakfast ie no rice no noodle. However, as most of the stalls were closed, I decided to try the food at this stall. Instead of the normal beehoon, I tried the fried instant noodles. I asked them not to give me too much noodles and topped with sausage and luncheon meat ($2.10). It was quite nice, not too salty. A few days ago, when I ordered fried maggie from the muslim stall nearby, it was so salty that I couldn't finish even half the plate.

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 14, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fruit Juice OK Oct 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Juices

This was my first time to JEM. I finished work early and decided to explore the whole Jurong East Mall (JEM) before meeting hubby and our friends for dinner. I did some window shopping for almost one over hour and my legs were tired. Decided to find a not so crowded place to rest. The food court - "Cook House" is located on the fifth level and at around 6.30pm, there were still quite a number of empty seats. The fruit stall is located just at the entrance to the food court so I ordered my water-melon juice ($2.50) and found a place to sit. There was only one staff mending the stall. I didn't see her putting the freshly cut fruit into the blender. After I placed my order, she just switched on the blender which already had water-melon juice inside. Thus, I was not sure how long the juice was put in the blender before I placed my order. The water-melon juice was not really too sweet although I wish it could be sweeter.
Menu

Menu

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 09, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ayam Penyet Smile Oct 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Halal

I tried another Muslim stall today during lunch time. The photos on the stall's signboard all looked good and attractive. I decided to order Ayam Penyet ($4) because the photo showed a nice presentation of Ayam Penyet. The dish cost $4 and service was fast. Before the vendor served me the plate of chicken, he used a tool to try to "mash" the chicken meat. The chicken meat was served separately from the rice, with some cucumbers and sauces. It was also served with a small bowl of soup. The chili used was very hot and together with the black sauce, it added to the flavour of the chicken. Although the presentation of the dish was different from what was shown on the signboard, it was tasty and would recommend to you.

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 10, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Very Salty Fried Maggie Cry Oct 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Hawker Centre | Halal

Decided to try out a new stall during my lunch time. There are a number of Muslim stalls at Teban Gardens and I just randomly picked this stall. I thought there was only one lady queuing for her food at this stall. Somehow, I had some craving for fried maggie and thus, I ordered that for my lunch. I found a seat just in front of the stall and sat there as I waited for my fried maggie. However, I soon realized that the guy preparing the food somehow couldn't quite cope. The lady in front of me ordered two plates of mee goreng. She waited very long for her food too. Then, I found out that another guy also placed a few orders before the lady. I waited for almost 15 minutes and wanted to cancel my order but the guy preparing the food told me that he was already boiling the instant noodles. Thus, I got no choice but to continue waiting. I observed the way he prepared the food, didn't seem to be very hygienic. He didn't wash his hands after collecting money and proceeded to cut the cucumbers and other ingredients. When my fried maggie was finally ready, I went back to join my colleagues for lunch. They had almost finished their food.

 
Presentation of the fried maggie ($3.50) was nice. However, to my great disappointment, it was very very salty. He poured the packet of flavouring that came with the instant noodle into the noodles and probably he didn't stir it well. The packet contained monosodium glutamate, high level of sodium. I finished the egg but could only finished less than half the plate of noodles as it was too salty. Thus, a very unsatisfying lunch on that day. sad
 
Date of Visit: Oct 07, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hand-Made Noodle Smile Oct 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Chinese Noodles

Sheng Wang Hand-Made Noodle 昇旺面粉粿 is located as the same coffeeshop as Mellben Seafood Palace. This stall has always been my favourite noodle stall ever since I moved over Pasir Ris. The stall is open daily from morning till around 3pm daily. Whenever I finish work early, this is one of my top choices for late lunch option. During weekend morning, the stall will be extremely crowded and you might have to wait for around twenty minutes for your order.

 
I like this type of noodle which is sold at a very affordable price at $3. The ikan bilis broth is really very sweet and tasty. I will always finish drinking the bowl of soup. I had seen them bringing out a huge container of ikan bilis to air on a few occasions during the weekday afternoon. The $3 bowl of noodle also come with an egg, although the consistency of the egg is not the same always, sometimes fully cooked, sometimes runny. The noodle texture is really very good, not too soft. I will recommend this stall if you are around this area.

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0