OpenRice Index
  
midas400
This is midas400 living in Punggol. I am a engineer, work in Ubi. I like to hang out in Orchard, Serangoon, Tampines. Japanese, Singaporean, Cantonese/Hong Kong are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Roasted Meat, Dim Sum, Seafood.
Member 51 First(s)
No. of Review375 Review(s)
編輯推介數目33 Editor's Choice
Recommended14 Recommended
Popularity2731 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3339 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews7 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant123 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲699 Follower(s)
midas400  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 375 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Italian | Brunch | Kids-Friendly

For full review - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2014/05/lunch-at-prive-bakery-cafe-at-keppel-bay.html

Met up with some FB friends who have been playing the Mousehunt game with me for many years now. The venue of choice was Privé Cafe located on the man-made Keppel island.
The waterfront view of this restaurant resembles the Sentosa Cove's Quayside Isle. Tucked away on the private island with view of luxury yachts berthed over turquoise waters, this place offers a laid back leisurely mood for diners looking to unwind on a lazy weekend afternoon.

 

 

 

 

 
Getting to the Cafe by public transport is a bit of a hassle though. The nearest MRT is Harbourfront station, you may choose to walk 20mins on foot, or take a bus for 2 bus stops and get off to walk for 10mins, or simply grab a cab at Vivocity for a short 5mins ride.

 

 

 
The Cafe has simple decor with blue color walls and wavy details matching its seaside location.

 

 

 

 

 

 
For weekends and Public Holidays, they offer All Day Breakfast menu from 9.30am to 5pm, and Lunch menu from 11.30am to 5pm.

 

 
One thing to note here is that this cafe is extremely busy on weekends and service can be slow at times and waiting time for food will be lengthy. Do place your order as soon as you can to cut down on waiting time.
The drinks came pretty fast and I am very happy with my choice. Chocolate Crunch Milkshake $11++, a thick, creamy and super chocolaty drink topped with crunchy chocolate pearls and served with a stick of Kitkat. The whip cream added in the drink gave it a smooth ice cream like texture, it is a chocolate drink lover's heaven!

 
My friend who had the alcoholic Bailey’s Irish Cream Milkshake $15++ was very pleased with her drink as well. A nice indulgence on a warm sunny day.

 
A selection of TWG teas are also available for the less adventurous diners, Moroccan Mint tea $5++. This is served with a cookie by the cup.

 
After a long 20mins wait, my Sticky Finger Baby Back Ribs $26++ finally arrived. The ribs were well marinated and tender. The sweet pomegranate molasses sauce compliments the meat pretty well. The Cajun-maple glazed Hokkaido corn on the cob was not well executed. It was too peppery for my liking.

 
My friends had their popular Eggs Benedict $16++, two pieces of traditional English muffins topped with smoked leg ham, streaky bacon and poached eggs with creamy Hollandaise sauce. The poached eggs were perfectly done with runny yolk.

 

 
We managed to save some space for dessert at the end of our meal. We shared a huge slice of Japanese Purple Sweet Potato & Miso Chiffon Cake $6++, served with Miso caramel & Chantilly cream.

 

 
The cake has a visually appealing shade of purple color coming from the Jap sweet potato used. The chiffon cake was super fluffy and light as air. We could taste bits of sweet potato in the cake, and the sweet caramel sauce and whip cream adds a nice balance to the already yummy cake. Highly recommended!
We had a pleasant dining experience at the Privé Cafe, food and drinks served here were pretty good and affordably priced. Service may be a bit slow during busy hours but was decent enough. I don't mind coming back here to try other items on the menu.

 
Date of Visit: May 01, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Dinner at Kombi Rocks Diner Smile Apr 21, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Seafood | Noodles | Kids-Friendly

For full review - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2014/04/dinner-at-kombi-rocks-diner-opp.html

Today is my actual birthday and hubby is treating me dinner. I picked this Retro themed diner located just opp the Serangoon stadium. The most accessible MRT station is Kovan, take bus 136 and get off at the 4th bus stop, then cross the road.

 

 

 

 
The diner is a mini museum of all things retro, showcasing collections of the owner throughout the years. Beatles merchandises, guitars, metal toys, vintage rotary phone, old school wall clocks, 60s barber chair, and two well kept Vespa scooters on display. The owner is also a Kombi bus fan, thus the name Kombi Rocks, and there's a row of them parked outside the diner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
This place serves up local Chinese zichar and Thai dishes. Prices are pretty down to earth with most zichar dishes only slightly pricier than Coffee shop zichar stalls. On top of that, they serve a range of beverages and alcohol usually found in western cafes.

 

 
We ordered 4 dishes to share for 2pax.
Wok Hei Seafood Horfun $6.50, homecooked style horfun with fresh prawns, pork slices, fishcake and greens. This dish is pretty good, has some wok hei and ingredients were fresh.

 
Signature Red Wine Fried Chicken $15, this is an original creation by Kombi Rocks. The chicken mid wings served with crispy keropok were very tasty, the sweet sauce didn't have much of a wine taste, but still yummy nonetheless.

 
The star dish of the day, Steamed egg with prawns and ginger garlic $35 (market price). The prawns were fresh and succulent and its natural sweetness has gone into the egg custard loaded with ginger and garlic, a combination of perfectly matched flavors...thumbs up!

 
Claypot Fish maw Tofu w/ Fish Slices $30. Braised tofu with assorted veggies and loads of fish maw with some fish slices, served in a huge Fish head curry size claypot. Another homely style dish, very satisfying and filling too!

 

 
We also ordered a drink each to go with the meal. I had the Cream Soda Float $6, and it came in a jumbo glass jar! The serving is definitely big enough for 2 to share.

 
The vanilla ice cream portion was generous, goes well with the fizzy cream soda...I love this drink!
Hubby ordered a Bistro Mint Tea $5, he said it tasted like regular tea..

 
Our dining experience here was a pleasant one, the food served here was pretty good and prices are pocket friendly (they don't charge GST). The ambiance is the main draw for this casual diner, for people who love all things retro and its a photographer's dream eatery. This is certainly a place worth checking out if you're staying nearby.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 14, 2014 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Steaks and Grills | Brunch

For full review & more photos - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2014/04/birthday-dinner-at-white-rabbit.html

I've been wanting to check this restaurant out since I stumbled upon pictures of its beautiful interiors on the web. I finally got my wish when my sistas asked where I wanna go for my birthday celebrations this year!

 
The White Rabbit restaurant was a former military chapel, the name comes from the rabbit in the novel Alice in Wonderland, which was written in the 1860s, around the same time the British Military took over Dempsey hill and built barracks to house their families there. This century old chapel has been beautifully restored and converted into a modern European diner.

 

 

 
We were blown away by the awesome and wonderfully preserved interiors. Majority of the original interior of the chapel was kept, with additions of modern touches such as aircon and furniture, the conversion of the former priest quarters into the kitchen, and the sacred altar into a chic bar counter.

 

 

 

 

 

 
They have a main Ala Carte menu, a Drinks menu with a long list of wines and other alcoholic drinks and a handful of non alcoholic beverages. For dinner, they also have a 4 course Prix Fixe menu priced at $98++, additional $58++ for wine pairing option.

 

 
Warm bread was served right after we were seated. Choice of regular mini baguette or the tomato roll. Check out the pretty looking chilled butter that comes with the bread!

 

 
I had the tomato roll and it has a soft and fluffy center with crackling crust...nice!
4 of my sistas chose the 4 course set dinner while I shared the Black Truffle Roast Free-range Chicken for two $76++ (min 30-40mins waiting time) with one of my sistas. Both of us also ordered sides to go with the chicken.

 

 
The serving staff presented the freshly roasted whole chicken to us first before whisking it away to the kitchen for carving and plating. The chicken was cooked just right, the meat was tender and moist and very well scented by the generous amount of black truffle mushrooms. The truffle infused natural jus that comes with the chicken was amazing as well...thumbs up!
For sides, I picked the English Peas w/ Crisp bacon $8++, while my sista had the Truffle Mac & Cheese $16++. My green peas were disappointingly dry and wrinkled, and bacon bits found in it weren't crispy at all. My sista was very happy with her Mac & Cheese though, and the dish looked fabulous too.

 

 
The 4 course set dinner consists of a Salad, Starter, Main & Dessert.
Salad Niçoise, an ensemble of tuna, french beans, soft boiled egg, potatoes & anchovy. My sista was fine with everything in this salad accept for the fishy anchovy.

 
Wagyu Carpaccio, sprinkled with shaved parmesan, celery cress, balsamic pearls and topped with truffle cream. This was suppose to be TWR's signature Starter dish but 2 out of 3 sistas found the dish too salty for their liking.

 
Another sista topped up $8++ for the premium Starter Foie Gras Duet. Done two ways, salt-cured with apple flan and pan seared with cherry compote. The seared liver was soft and creamy which she liked, but the salted version didn't impress her as much.

 
Seabass en Papillote, fish fillet steamed in a parcel made from baking parchment, infusing it with natural flavor of the assorted vegetables. The fish has a very light taste which goes well with the flavorful and aromatic broth.

 
36-hours Brandt Short Ribs (top up $8++) served with truffle miso glaze, parsnip purée and field mushrooms. The short ribs was very well marinated and tender but the portion was rather small though.

 
Dessert time. White Chocolate Soufflé $18++, made with Valrhona Opalys white chocolate and served with dark chocolate ice cream. The souffle was unusually tall and holds its shape really well, it didn't collapse even after a couple of minutes wait (while we're busy photographing other desserts). Its texture was super fluffy and light as air...this warm dessert pairs impeccably well with the icy cold ice cream. One of the best souffle we had!

 
My dessert choice, Crêpes Suzette with Grand Marnier, Flambéed tableside $18++. We were very excited about the live preparation of this dessert by our tableside. All of us turned into paparazzi for a couple of minutes!

 

 
After a 'fiery' performance by the restaurant staff, I was elated to see the special plating for my dessert! Beautifully written 'Happy Birthday' on my plate smile

 
The crepes were soft and fully infused with orange liquor aroma, it has a tangy aftertaste that goes well with the sweet vanilla ice cream...delish.
We ordered some drinks during dinner, and I had the French Rose tea $9++. Organic french rose buds was used here, and it was served with a cute little rabbit cookie by the cup.

 

 
The tea has a powerful rose fragrance and leaves a lovely aroma in my mouth every time I sipped it. A refreshing drink to have with rich tasting food.
Some of my sistas had cocktails and mocktails. I got mixed reviews from them in terms of taste, but all of us agreed on the eye-pleasing presentation.
Bettina $10++ with lime, orange, lychee, apple in soda, Isabella $10++, a fruity juice with Sarawak pineapple and seasonal grapes and And, Elderflower Grape Fruit Fizz $18++, a mixture of Gin, grapefruit juice, lime juice, elderflower syrup, egg white and club soda.

 
The White Rabbit is an utterly charming place to dine in, the ambiance is 100 marks! Service was excellent, and they do serve magnificent food...if you know what to order. I would say the Ala Carte dishes are more worthwhile than the set meals cos the salad and main courses' portions are kinda lacking (to justify the hefty price tag). I would gladly return to this 'wonderland' to try out their popular weekend brunch!
 
Date of Visit: Apr 08, 2014 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $135(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Dinner before iLight festival  Smile Apr 03, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Café | Desserts and Cakes

For full review - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2014/04/dinner-au-chocolat-at-mbs.html

Met up with some friends to see the iLight Festival at Marina Bay. We had dinner at MBS first before checking out the various outdoor Light Art installations. We're back at Au Chocolat as they have a revamped menu.

 

 

 
Two of us ordered new items from the menu while one decided to have her fave dish again. As usual we ordered sides to share.
Truffle fries $15++, one of our fave dishes from Au Chocolat, was drizzled with generous amount of truffle oil and served piping hot...delish!

 
I wasn't extremely hungry and decided to just have sandwich and picked the new Pulled pork sandwich $20++. To my dismay, the serving turned out to be huge!

 
I got a foot-long toasted bread with pretty well marinated pulled pork meat, topped with coleslaw. Taste pretty good but portion was just too big...I was unable to finish it!
Homemade garlic herb pesto pasta with prawns $25++, another new item in the menu. My friend picked the Bow Tie pasta over the other choices of linguine and penne.

 
The dish came with 8 huge pieces of succulent whole prawns. The pesto sauce was pretty tasty and bow ties were done al dente, my friend was happy with her pick.
Boeuf bourguignon $28++, my friend's fave dish. The chunky slow cooked beef cheeks were very tender and well flavored. Serving was generous as usual.

 
As we were quite full from having the main courses, we decided to just order one dessert to share for 3pax.
Nutty crunchy French toast $20++, we chose a really sinful one from the Toasts & Pancakes section. We got two thick slices of french toast bread coated with crispy cornflakes, topped with choco hazelnut cream, sweet banana slices, choco fudge sauce and sprinkled with choco pearls.

 

 
The cornflakes coated bread was very well executed, with crispy flaky exterior and soft and warm center. The hazelnut cream was yummy and pairs well with the sweet banana. This dessert dish was nice but a tad too sweet for our liking.
As the restaurant has stopped serving complimentary ice water (2 months ago), we ordered several drinks to wash down our hearty meal. My fave was the Sprite float w/ strawberry gelato $10++, the strawberry gelato contains bits of real strawberry in it, very nice!

 

 

 
I think we overspent on beverages! Half of our bill were drinks we had shocked

Service here was decent, so was the food, but its too expensive to keep buying drinks to quench our thirst without complimentary drinking water.

 
Date of Visit: Mar 28, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $70(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Some of us had been wanting to try Fullhouse Signature since it opened some time ago. We had a good dining experience at the former Fullhouse @Rendezvous Hotel and wanted to see if this new themed restaurant can deliver that same experience.
The restaurant is located at level 2 of Block 3A, at the pink color section.

 
The lift lobby and staircase to level 2 is kinda hard to find for first time visitors. Do look out for this entrance at the blue color section just a few steps after Tomo Izakaya.

 
The less impressive entrance without the colorful Mini Cooper.

 
A photo taking corner with the 'T' family backdrop and stuffs to hold for group photos.

 

 

 
The 'Living Room' dining area which looks kinda empty. The same sort of Victorian inspired decor can be found here but with much less 'homely' layout as compared to the former Fullhouse which has a more complete 'Dream House' setting with Bedroom & wardrobe area, Balcony area, Reading Room area, Kitchen & Dining Room etc.

 

 

 

 

 

 
The other half of the restaurant is the 'Garden' area which had been reserved for a private party event, so we're confined to the Living room only...bummer.

 
Some cute looking merchandise on sale at the corners of the Living room.

 

 

 
The menu which has an extensive selection of starters/appetizers, main courses, desserts and drinks. Prices are leaning on the steep side.

 

 

 
As usual, we ordered several appetizers for sharing and one main course each.
Golden Crab Meatballs $11++, served with a cream cheese dip along with an eye catching presentation.

 

 
The crab balls were delicious, with a nice and crispy breaded coating, packed with savory crab meat filling. Not the best I've eaten but this will be the best dish I had for the night.
Deep Fried Calamari w/ Wasabi Mayo dip $12++. This was just so so only, nothing to shout about.

 
Salmon Sashimi Wrap w/ 'Alaska Crab Meat' $18++, this should have been Salmon wrap w/ crab stick instead...I seriously doubt that those crab sticks were from Alaska!

 

 
This tasted ok, the salmon was rather fresh and the mayo and flying fish roe topping was good as well. However, the hard boiled egg at the bottom was bland...it was either under-seasoned or not seasoned at all. I would save the $18 for something else.
Crunchy Cheese Sticks $11++, had a nice plating with a unique looking giant spoon. Feedback from cheese lovers were mostly positive for this dish.

 
My choice of main course, Seafood Paradise w/ Mango Cream sauce $39++. This was my biggest mistake of the night. The slipper lobster was tiny and the 'tiger prawns' were even tinier. The scallops and mussels was of decent size but were not really very fresh. Mango cream sauce was overly sweet and the mashed potato was tasteless...definitely not worth its $39 price tag!

 
My friend's Organic Beef Tenderloin $49++, no complains from her.

 
Fullhouse Club Sandwich $21++, my friend's little girl had this and she seemed to enjoyed it, so I reckon its not bad. But visually, the serving portion was lacking for a $20+ dollars dish.

 
My drink, Watermelon Lychee juice $7++, my best order of the day. The fresh squeezed watermelon was sweet and refreshing with hints of lychee flavor...slurp!

 
My friend's complimentary Champagne, the restaurant manager had offered this to her for finding broken glass bits in her Mojito...she almost swallowed the glass bits.

 
Our dining experience here did not went as well as I've hoped. Food is pricey and of inferior quality, the ambiance did not impress and service was slow (staffs were tied up with the private event on the other side!). Sadly the supposedly Fullhouse experience was only 'Half'House at best.

For full review - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2014/03/dinner-at-fullhouse-signature-clarke.html
 
Date of Visit: Mar 14, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $65(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0