OpenRice Index
  
midas400
This is midas400 living in Punggol. I am a engineer, work in Ubi. I like to hang out in Orchard, Serangoon, Tampines. Japanese, Singaporean, Cantonese/Hong Kong are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Roasted Meat, Dim Sum, Seafood.
Member 51 First(s)
No. of Review375 Review(s)
編輯推介數目33 Editor's Choice
Recommended14 Recommended
Popularity2731 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3339 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews7 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant123 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲699 Follower(s)
midas400  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 375 Reviews in Singapore
Dinner at House @Dempsey Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion

Boss initiated a dinner treat to bid farewell to a long service colleague who is quitting her job to look after her family. The venue of choice was House restaurant, a charming old school eatery hidden at the back of the Dempsey cluster of F&B outlets. Located at a quite and secluded spot surrounded by lush greenery, the spacious building was painted in an eye-catching shade of green (not my kind of green though). The main entrance is an edgy torn down face of a wall. The interior is decorated with an old-school theme with a myriad of mismatched old furniture and fixtures, evoking a feeling of nostalgia.

 

 

 
This place serves up modern Western and Asian fusion delicacies. The Main Menu is designed to be a newspaper with interesting articles on food with catchy 'headlines'. There are ample selections of items in every category, coupled with informative descriptions and large photos. They have two separate menus for drinks and desserts only.
Menu

Menu

 
Each of us ordered a drink and boss ordered several main courses for sharing.

My Lemongrass Lychee mocktail $12++. This was a concoction of chopped canned lychees, grinded lemongrass and bits of lemon peels. It was sweet and refreshing with lotsa lychee meat swimming in the glass. I would have preferred that they provide me with a tall spoon for scooping out those lychee meat.
Lemongrass Lychee

Lemongrass Lychee

 
We had all 4 of their featured fries on our order.

Truffle Taro fries $8++, shoestring sized thin and crispy yam sticks with a hint of truffle flavor. It is incredibly addictive to eat!
Truffle Taro fries

Truffle Taro fries

 
Another of my fave, Carrot Fennel fries $9++. This was sweet and crunchy with crispy battered exterior and moist carrot center. It was wiped out in minutes!
Carrot Fennel fries

Carrot Fennel fries

 
The remaining two, Pumpkin Hazelnut fries $12++ and Curry Mustard fries $9++ were over seasoned, robbing away the natural taste of the vegetables.
Over seasoned!

Over seasoned!

 
The Asian Sliders (a.k.a. Kong Bak Bao) $26++, this is one of their signature dishes and it lived up to its name. The braised pork belly were thinly sliced and simmered in special soy sauce broth for long hours till very soft and fully infused with flavor. It was a delight to eat this with the soft and fluffy white buns, the pork belly melted like butter in my mouth, an absolutely divine dish!
Asian Sliders

Asian Sliders

 
Kong bak bao

Kong bak bao

 
We had 2 servings of the Squid Ink Paella $30++ for sharing. This was very delicious as well, the rice was well infused with the squid ink sauce and was very fragrant. The generous amount of sliced garlic gave the rice a very nice bite and aroma. Seafood was fresh as expected...another well done dish.
Squid Ink Paella

Squid Ink Paella

 
The Ginger Chicken pizza $24++. Crispy thin crust pizza with an oriental twist, served with chunky chicken meat, mashed hard boiled eggs, crunchy cashew nuts and garnished with rocket leaves, chopped tomatoes and onion. This was a crowd pleaser as well!
Ginger Chicken pizza

Ginger Chicken pizza

 
Service here was decent, waiting staffs were prompt and efficient. Water gets filled up regularly, dishes were cleared without much delays. The ambiance here was fabulous, every corner evokes a slightly different feel so nobody will ever gets bored with this place. Food and beverage was of good quality, with reasonable price tags to boot (accept for the Fish basket). Average spending per head was about $40 after credit card discount, great value for money! I will probably be returning to try their Vintage Hi-tea on weekday afternoons.

For full review & more photos - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2013/09/dinner-at-house-dempsey.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  truffle taro fries,carrot fennel fries,asian sliders
 
Date of Visit: Sep 23, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café

I was wondering around at the newly makeover dining wing, The Dining Edition, at Marina SQ looking for something unique for dinner. This cheery open-concept eatery tempted me with their eye-catching bright yellow, green & blue chairs and off-white tables, pillars and floor.

 

 
I went over to check out their menu on display at the entrance. A manager guy came over and convinced the skeptical me that they serve good value food made with fresh quality ingredients and they have a good mix of western and asian selections. I finally decided to give it a try.

The cafe has a all-things-natural type of decor theme. Check out the off-white tables & pillars that looks like deliberately aged painted wood etched with signature deer antlers signs, the interesting wooden framed Drinks menu boards carefully divided into several categories, and the hand-drawn animal prints photo frames on the wall. They also have low sofa type seating for patrons who wish to chill out with drinks only.

 
Drinks menu

Drinks menu

 

 

 

 
At every table, there is a bottle of Antipodes water $9++ (pure aquifer groundwater from NZ). I asked if they serve regular ice water, they do, so I had ice water instead. The ice water had subtle hints of grapefruit flavor and is slightly pinkish in color. I realized that this was infused water that contains grapefruit slices & cherries...nice, and best of all it is complimentary (served upon request).

 
The main menu is simple and well categorized with a handful of items under every category. Selection isn't exactly extensive but I managed to pick a main course from the 'Asian Delights' offering. I also ordered a fresh squeezed fruit juice from the 'Elixir of Life' category from the drinks menu.
Menu

Menu

 
My Spiked Melon $10++, a mixture of fresh watermelon, rock melon & honeydew. Nice presentation with a wedge of watermelon as decor. This was refreshingly sweet and had layers of flavors coming from the three different kinds of fruits, I enjoyed it very much.

 
Slow cooked pork belly with tomato rice & asian greens $16++. Generous portion of chunky pork belly slices topped with thick curry gravy. The pork was cooked till really soft, it was juicy and tender and goes well with the spicy curry sauce. The tomato rice was flavorful but a tad dry, I wish they had more curry gravy to go with the rice. The asian greens here was stir fry caixin which was fresh and crunchy. Overall, a pretty delish dish.

 

 
The service here was very good, with smiley waiting staffs checking on us every now and then to see if we need anything else or if the food and drinks were ok. A slight raise of hand would have them rushing over to serve you...nice! Food quality was good and reasonably priced, and the ambiance was great. I would gladly return to try the other interesting items on the menu.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2013/09/dinner-at-addictions-cafe-remedy-bar.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork belly & tomato rice
 
Date of Visit: Sep 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Robatayaki Dining at Hamanoya Smile Sep 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Seafood

Introducing The Dining Edition, a new $15M revamped dining enclave at Marina SQ with 16 mid to upmarket international culinary offerings to entice well traveled diners. Hamanoya, one of the 8 new-to-market brand names made its debut into the SG dining scene, offering Traditional Robatayaki 炉端焼き, a 'Fire-side cooking' dining concept originating from northern Japan where food on skewers are slow-grilled over hot charcoal.

Traditionally, Robata restaurants will have diners gathered around a pit of charcoal fire to enjoy food freshly grill over fire on the spot by chefs. However, this concept has been modified to suit the Singaporean preference of dining in aircon comfort. The food is prepared and grilled at the open-concept kitchen and delivered piping hot to the diners table in a speedy manner.

The restaurant is decorated in a modern chic style with clean lines from wooden, glass & metal furnishings and leather lined seating.

 
The menu. Effort has been put into creating a menu with photos (and descriptions) of every item listed in the menu (accept for drinks) so that diners will have a clear idea of what they are ordering. Most of the seafood and meats are freshly imported from Japan on weekly basis to keep the taste authentic.
Menu

Menu

 
Once I've settled down at my seat, the waiting staffs served up a hot towel, ice water (upon request), a complimentary item of the day (scallop & squid skewer). Then, they will bring over a tray of fresh imported seafood-of-the-day (not found in the menu) and explained in detail what's on offer for the day. I've decided to just order from the Ala carte menu. One thing worthy of mention is that the staffs will take orders from you kneeling down so that they can speak with you at eye level...something that I experienced only in Japan! Kudos to the restaurant management who have trained their staffs well.
Cheery staffs

Cheery staffs

 
Now, lets shift the focus to the FOOD.

The complimentary Scallop & Squid skewer. This is lightly marinated with Jap soy sauce and grilled over hot charcoal. The seafood is very fresh and retained its natural flavor.
Complimentary

Complimentary

 
Grilled Chicken ball with poached egg $4.99++. This was served in a large wooden spoon alongside a perfectly poached egg with runny yolk.

 
At $5, I expected it to be a smallish serving but I'm wrong, the spoon is pretty huge. The minced chicken meat was well marinated and had generous bits of veggies inside giving it a nice bite. It tastes very good on its own and even better when dipped in the creamy poached egg. Very delish!

 
Yakikamaboko (Scallop fishcake) $6.99++. This was overcooked, the fishcake is dry and chewy, I couldn't really taste the whole scallop hidden inside...bummer.

 

 
Grilled Salmon belly $9.99++. Lightly grilled to perfection without being overcooked, the salmon belly was melt-in-the-mouth goodness retaining its pinkish interior and juiciness. The slightly charred skin added some crisp that completes the divine dish...this is a must try!

 
Saba Misaki (Grilled Mackerel w/ miso paste) $8.99++. Half slice of a mid size saba grilled till skin is crisp and meat is tender, topped with thick miso paste and chopped scallions. Another well done dish.

 

 
I've ordered one portion of udon in plain soup to go with the savory dishes. Inaniwa udon (稲庭うどん) $7.99++ is a thin type of udon variant from Akita Prefecture. It has smooth and springy texture and is a delight to eat with the seaweed in the sweet soy sauce broth.

 
I had a wonderful dining experience here. Hamanoya offers fabulous food and impeccable service at rather reasonable prices. The 4 savory grilled dishes and a bowl of udon cost me less than $50 including taxes, great value for money! Definitely worthy of multiple visits.

For full review & more photos - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2013/09/robatayaki-dining-at-hamanoya-marina.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  grilled items
 
Date of Visit: Sep 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hot Pot | Buffet | Kids-Friendly

My evil sista who is having a staycation at RWS initiated a meet up. Few of us who are working met up with her and family for Steamboat dinner at Coca.

The not very busy restaurant and their Tuk Tuk car on display at the entrance. There is no particular design theme for this eatery, just simple and functional furnishings and table arrangement.

 

 
Our huge round table for 11pax. They used induction cookers for heating up steamboats, we had three pots for sharing.

 
The menu. Ala carte prices are on the steep side, so we ordered Buffet dinner $40++ for all and one ala carte Roast pork belly dish $19++ for sharing.
Menu

Menu

 
My Ice Lemon tea $4++, the serving was kinda smallish. Taste wise, it is passable.

 
The delish Roast pork belly. Serving portion is pretty large and the chunky pork slices were juicy and had nice crackling skin. Good.

 
We ordered quite a bit of different meats, seafood, veggies and homemade dumplings for sharing. Choices aren't very extensive but ingredients were pretty fresh.

 

 

 
Our Tom Yum soup base...

 
As usual, we over ordered and were stuffed by the end of the meal.

Service level here is passable, they were prompt but not warm and friendly. Food wise is of good quality but a tad pricey for limited selections. Nothing in this restaurant left a good enough impression on me, so there is no reason for a revisit any time soon.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2013/09/steamboat-buffet-at-coca-restaurant.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  steamboat
 
Date of Visit: Sep 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $58(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Casual European dining at Ambush Smile Sep 02, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

I was at Plaza Singapura for my monthly facial on Saturday. My session was done by 5pm, so I decided to have an early dinner at Ambush at PS extension area.

The restaurant has an open concept bistro style decor with clean and chic wooden furnishings.

 

 

 
The restaurant was still quite empty at this hour so I got to choose where I wanna sit.

 

 
There was a newspaper style menu to introduce the diners to the restaurant's European dining concept and well categorized meals and specialties by different countries.
Menu

Menu

 

 
The Swiss/German wurst section caught my eye, so I picked the Oktoberfest platter as my main course, a Bruschetta appetizer and a mango juice for drink.

The Mango juice $3.50++ was alright, sweet and has a slightly thick texture like those juices you get at Hotel's Buffet breakfast.
Mango juice

Mango juice

 
The Bruschetta $3.80++ was served on a focaccia bread instead of the usual baguette toast. The bread was soft but a little soggy after being drenched with the tomato salsa sauce. The tomato salsa was very good, tomato was freshly chopped and tossed with a citrusy and slightly spicy dressing...simply refreshing!
Bruschetta

Bruschetta

 
After a short wait, my main course arrived. The Oktoberfest platter $17.80++ consists of a portion of German pork knuckle, a Bockwurst, a Smoked bratwurst, fresh greens, mashed potato (I topped up $2 to change to Rosti) served with sauerkraut and sour cream.
Oktoberfest platter

Oktoberfest platter

 
Sausage

Sausage

 
This is a plate full of porky goodness. The pork knuckle was quite tender and comes with a crackling skin. The porky sausages were also very plump and juicy. They are a little bit salty which is normal and should be eaten with the Rosti. The Rosti's golden brown surface was crispy and the potato strands underneath was soft and fragrant, extremely delish. This dish would have been 100 marks if the sauerkraut serving weren't so tiny.

I managed to save some space for dessert and ordered a Brownie with vanilla ice cream & whipped cream $6.80++.
Brownie w/ ice cream

Brownie w/ ice cream

 
The brownie was too sweet, the ice cream and whipped cream pairing could not effectively balance out the overpowering sweetness from the brownie. I couldn't finish this dish.

Overall dining experience here was good, service was decent and prompt, food quality was above my expectation and prices were reasonable. I would return to try the full size German pork knuckle.

For full review & more photos - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2013/08/casual-european-dining-at-ambush.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Oktoberfest platter
 
Date of Visit: Aug 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0