OpenRice Index
  
midas400
This is midas400 living in Punggol. I am a engineer, work in Ubi. I like to hang out in Orchard, Serangoon, Tampines. Japanese, Singaporean, Cantonese/Hong Kong are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Roasted Meat, Dim Sum, Seafood.
Member 51 First(s)
No. of Review375 Review(s)
編輯推介數目33 Editor's Choice
Recommended14 Recommended
Popularity2731 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3339 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews7 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant123 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲699 Follower(s)
midas400  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 375 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

Tucked away in the quiet and rustic Dempsey hill, this smallish establishment was housed in the former British military barracks that dates back to the 18th century. The restaurant has an American Diner style decor with a long wooden table in the middle catered for larger group of diners. One can still see bits and pieces of history in this antique building...check out that older than old-school telephone!

 

 

 
As usual, when we dine in big group we will order some sides to share. The Crispy Calamari rings $16++ were not very crispy but the squid was fresh and we loved the spicy and creamy Tabasco mayo dip!
Calamari rings

Calamari rings

 
The Truffle fries $8++ were not too bad, served pipping hot, has crisp exterior with soft interior. They have not been too generous with the truffle oil though.
Truffle fries

Truffle fries

 
For drinks, I ordered the Root beer float $8++. It was a safe choice and tasted quite nice..and the portion is huge too!
Root beer float

Root beer float

 
Quite a few of us ordered their signature American style or Asian fusion style gourmet burgers. I had the Bollywood Prawn Star $24++.
Bollywood prawn star

Bollywood prawn star

 
Thick thick patty

Thick thick patty

 
The chunky prawn patty was really thick! With generous amount of juicy and succulent chopped prawn meat deep fried in crispy beer batter, topped with mango curry mayo. The patty itself was slightly salty but it tasted quite good with the sweet and slightly spicy curry mayo sauce and iceberg lettuce...I enjoyed it very much.

My friend's Fabulous Foie Gras burger $32++. Thick chunky Josper-grilled wagyu beef patty topped with a rather generous portion of pan seared liver.
Fabulous Foie Gras

Fabulous Foie Gras

 
Big portion

Big portion

 
Friend was initially enjoying the juicy beef and creamy foie gras but was later complaining about it being a tad oily and salty towards the end of the meal.

Other non-burger dishes ordered were BBQ ribs $29++ for half-rack and Bacon meatloaf $35++
BBQ ribs

BBQ ribs

 
Bacon meatloaf

Bacon meatloaf

 
I tasted a bit of the BBQ ribs, it was not bad but friend said it was not juicy enough. The crispy onion rings were very good though. I also liked their homemade coleslaw, it was rather sweet and refreshing. I didn't try the meatloaf but friend who had it was saying it was a delish combi of crispy bacon strips with chunky sausage and juicy minced beef.

The main courses portion were all really generous, we were filled to the brim and had no more space for desserts. We decided to ask for the bill and pack the access fries (there was a lot left!) for takeaway.

Overall dining experience here was good for me, I loved the ambiance here which gives off a different vibe as compared to dining in town. Service staffs were friendly and helped us make arrangements with the bar we are heading to for after dinner drinks. The total bill was a reasonable $54 per pax (considering the huge portions and expensive meat used in dishes). I will return if they have a new menu.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2013/08/roadhouse-american-diner-on-hill.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  gourmet burgers
 
Date of Visit: Aug 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $54(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner at Bangkok Jam Smile Sep 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

After our monthly visit to the OpenRice office, we decided to have our dinner at the nearby Wheelock Place cos my Smokeless Grill was kinda heavy to lug around. We stumbled upon this 'jam' or rather Bangkok Jam Thai restaurant which is a rather new player in the SG Thai food scene. There was no queue at the door, so we were quickly ushered to our table.

This restaurant has a contemporary bistro style decor with unmistakable hints of Thai influences. I preferred the one at Plaza Singapura with the old school lamp posts and traffic lights though, but nevertheless, this is still a cozy place to dine in.

 
The newspaper style menu...very 'American diner' style presentation. The food selection was kinda limited, only a handful of dishes for every category. 3 of us managed to picked a soup, an appetizer, 2 carbo dishes and 2 stir-fry dishes to share.

 
For drinks, I had the Blended fresh coconut with a scoop of ice cream $7.00++. How did they justify that hefty price tag? First, the coconut flesh was scrapped off and dropped into a blender with ice and coconut ice cream. The result is an amazingly refreshing ice blended coconut drink! It has full flavored fresh coconut taste and creamy texture of an ice blended drink at the same time...topped with another scoop of coconut ice cream to replace the whipped cream, its the best drink I had in local Thai restaurant!

 
Tom Yum seafood in clear soup $7.90++. As suspected, this was a 1pax serving in a cute rice bowl. The soup was tangy but not overly spicy, served with rather huge sized prawns, squid & fish slices which were all very fresh and tasty...not bad.

 
Lemongrass prawn cakes $9.90++. We loved these, 4 stalks of lemongrass wrapped with deep fried prawn paste...the prawn paste was sweet and succulent with nice bite from the corn kernels inside, nice rendition of a traditional dish!

 

 
Thai Olive fried rice $11.00++, another stellar dish...very well fried with smoky aroma with bits of salted fish that enriches the flavor. The presentation was very cute too..

 
Seafood Phad Thai $11.90++. The serving was kinda smallish. We liked the fact that they do it the 'Thai way' by serving the sugar, chili flakes and crushed peanuts on the side. It is a pretty nice dish though, sweet and tangy with huge sized prawns and squid slices.

 
Fried Chicken wings with fish sauce $9.50++. This dish is rather lacklustre, it is very bland and we couldn't taste any fish sauce marinade on the wings. The skin is crispy though, but I wouldn't order this again.

 
Fried Asparagus with sambal sauce $11.50++. This was good, asparagus was crunchy and sambal sauce was spicy enough.

 
As the main dishes portions were rather small, we still have some space left for desserts!

Red ruby with coconut ice cream $7.50++. This was yummy, the red ruby and jackfruit was served with coconut ice cream instead of the usual shaved ice which provides a more rich and creamy texture. The jackfruit was very sweet, we like!

 
The star dessert of the day was the Banana tempura with hot caramel sauce $9.90++. The banana was uber sweet...even sweeter than the caramel sauce, so the vanilla ice cream plays a very important role here to balance out the sweetness of the banana. The warm banana pairing with the cold vanilla ice cream is a match made in heaven!

 
Overall dining experience was good, the food quality was above our expectation albeit being smallish in portion for most dishes. Service staffs although not very smiley and warm but was polite and attentive, they noticed that we only ordered two mains and two stir-fry dishes for 3 and provided us with plates for sharing the dishes. Price wise was on the high side, but considering its location in downtown Orchard, we think that it is still worth a revisit.

For full review and more photos - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2013/08/dinner-at-bangkok-jam.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Blended fresh coconut,Olive rice,Banana tempura w/ caramel sauce
 
Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $41(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner at Ah Loy Thai  Smile Jul 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant

I read many good reviews about this restaurant and that their thai food are pretty authentic. I was at Tampines Mall at around 6.30pm and saw the queue was quite short so I decided to try the food there.

 
Diners are given an order chit to place order and make payment at the cashier before being ushered to their seats. Look...they have no GST & Service charges lollol
order chit

order chit

 
I was fourth in the queue, the waiting time was about 10 mins to get to the cashier and another 5mins to settle payment and get seated. The restaurant has very simple coffee shop type of setup, no frills and efficient. They have an open concept kitchen located at the middle of the restaurant.

 
open concept kitchen

open concept kitchen

 
Dishes serving was very fast here. My drink and dishes came within 15mins time.

Traditional Thai Milk Tea (red) with ice $2.20. This was quite nice, smooth and flavorful. It is a tad sweet so it must be consume after stirring it for a while for the ice to melt and dilute it a little bit.
Traditional Thai milk tea

Traditional Thai milk tea

 
Seafood Tom Yum Soup $7.50. The serving was quite huge, enough for two to share. Soup base was not overly spicy but was rather tangy, just nice for me. Some may find it not spicy enough though. Seafood and mushroom was fresh...slurp!

 
Seafood Tom Yum soup

Seafood Tom Yum soup

 
Thai Fried Kway Teow (Phad Thai) $7.00. Serving was quite big too. Rice noodles was quite springy and moist. The sauce was sweet but not spicy enough, need to add chili flakes to spice it up. Only 3pcs of prawns were found in the dish, along with generous serving of micro shrimps (the bits of red color stuff), beancurd cubes, egg and tau geh. Overall, quite delish.
Phad Thai

Phad Thai

 


Service here was prompt and efficient, everybody seem to be in a rush. Food standard was rather good and value for money. I will definitely be back again to try other recommended dishes.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2013/07/dinner-at-ah-loy-thai-tampines-mall.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  phad thai
 
Date of Visit: Jul 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner at Chef d' Table again.. Smile Jul 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant

We are back at Chef d' Table again for birthday celebration. Several of us dined there 7 months ago and liked the food and service there a lot, one of our July babies was a fan too so it became our venue for July celebration.
Chef d' Table

Chef d' Table

 
This place is located near to the Chijmes church's main entrance. They are one of the official caterer for Chijmes. They recently hosted former President Mr. SR Nathan for lunch here.

The restaurant has a simple, no frills and functional decor. We had the private room located at the back of the restaurant.
Private room

Private room

 
Warm bread was served upon guest arrival with a yummy pesto spread. The bread is free and refillable. Ask for more if you are hungry between courses.
Warm bread

Warm bread

 
The bread was very very soft and fluffy with a crispy crust, you'll know right away that they were freshly baked inhouse just before they open for dinner.

Two of my friends ordered a 4 course Chef's menu set $68++, includes an entree, a mini soup, choice of main course and dessert of the day. For myself, I ordered ala carte entree & a main course which were my fave dishes from my previous visit.

My Entree choice, pan seared Foie Gras with lobster omelette served on a bed of sauteed spinach & mushrooms $32++.
Foie Gras

Foie Gras

 
This one literally melts in my mouth the second it touches my tongue, perfect! The lobster balls were cooked with herb butter, tasted fresh and crunchy...goes well with the creamy foie gras. Thumbs up!

My choice for main course, Chilean Seabass $34++.
Chilean Seabass

Chilean Seabass

 
Needless to say the seabass is again very fresh and prepared with such precision that it is cooked inside out and not overcooked at the sides. It takes some skill to do that with such a thick piece of fish...kudos to the Chef!

My friends' 4 course Chef menu...

First up, Mushroom tofu entree...crispy homemade tofu drizzled with truffle oil and mushroom mirin sauce. Everything was polished off quickly so I reckon it was delish.
Mushroom Tofu

Mushroom Tofu

 
Lobster bisque soup in an espresso cup. Again, gone in 60 seconds, well almost!
Lobster bisque

Lobster bisque

 
Main courses, one of my friends had the Chilean Seabass (above) and the other had the Ribeye Angus beef steak. Done medium rare, it was cooked to perfection...soft and tender on the inside and slightly charred and smoky on the outside...truly satisfying.
Angus Ribeye

Angus Ribeye

 
One of my busy girl friends only had a main course as she needs to rush off for 'second round'. She picked the Pink Dory with lemon butter sauce and sweet potato $24++. This one was a crowd pleaser, the fish was fresh and lemon butter was uber creamy.
Pink Dory

Pink Dory

 
Last but not least, its desserts time...the presentation was awesome!

Orange Creme Brulee with Valrhona chocolate ganache & Valrhona chocolate fondant (a.k.a. the Lava cake) with vanilla ice cream.
Dessert of the day

Dessert of the day

 
The Creme Brulee was delicious, creamy with a hint of fresh orange aroma, pairs extremely well with the dark valrhona chocolate base.

The 'Lava' cake here was to die for! It has a minimum preparation time of 20mins so that the Chef could make it from scratch. Check out the flowy 'lava'!
Flowy lava...

Flowy lava...

 
The premium dark chocolate was smooth and intense! All of us agreed that this was the best lava cake in town.

And, presenting last, the complimentary birthday cake nicely decorated with chocolate sauce! It was Hazelnut brownie with vanilla ice cream. The brownie was loaded with hazelnut bits but was made a tad too hard though.
Hazelnut brownie

Hazelnut brownie

 
There you are, this ends the night with a sweet note! The food and service here was extraordinary...we will definitely be back again for more indulgence.

For full review and more photos please visit - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2013/07/dinner-at-chef-d-table-again.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  foie gras,set meals,desserts
 
Date of Visit: Jul 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner at Bakerzin Smile Jul 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Restaurant

My friend who was on overseas posting was back in town for two days. We had a quick catch up dinner with her before she flies again. This is my first time dining at Bakerzin. The restaurant decor was very minimalist and simple. We sat at the open concept dining area.

 
Their mains selections were pretty limited, only a few selections of pasta and rice dishes available.

My dinner choice for the night: was Aglio Olio pasta - $10.90++. I topped up for Prawns at $5.00++ and Mushroom, Ham & Bacon at $5.00++.
Aglio Olio with extra toppings

Aglio Olio with extra toppings

 
This is very nice, 4 succulent mid-sized prawns grilled to perfection. The mushroom, ham and bacon were also nicely sauteed and very fragrant. The spaghetti was cooked al dente with olive oil, garlic and chili padi - all in all tasted pretty good lol

My friends was pretty satisfied with her Linguini Vongole's - $16.90++ generous serving of clams, however she said the white wine sauce isn't spicy enough.
Linguini Vongole

Linguini Vongole

 


 
Three of us ordered desserts. My choice of sweet treat was Coupé Black Forest Verrine - $12.50++.
Coup� Black Forest Verrine

Coup� Black Forest Verrine

 
I loved the sticky chewy brownie cubes which complements the smooth chocolate ice cream and brandied cherries at the bottom - it was heavenly!

My friend's Bailey’s Irish Cream Soufflé - $11.50++. The souffle started collapsing pretty soon after it was served and my friend said that it was not fluffy enough. A failed dessert.

Bailey’s Irish Cream Souffl�

Bailey’s Irish Cream Souffl�

 
Coupé Cheesecake Verrine - $12.50++. My friend said the cream cheese ice cream tasted alright but became a little too cheesy after consuming 3 scoops in a row. The macaron was quite good though.

Coup� Cheesecake Verrine

Coup� Cheesecake Verrine

 
Service level here was decent, I don't mind coming back here to dine again, especially for their yummy pasta. smile

For full review and more photos, visit http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2013/06/dinner-at-bakerzin-tampines-one.html.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  pasta
 
Date of Visit: Jun 27, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $49(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0