OpenRice Index
  
midas400
This is midas400 living in Punggol. I am a engineer, work in Ubi. I like to hang out in Orchard, Serangoon, Tampines. Japanese, Singaporean, Cantonese/Hong Kong are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Roasted Meat, Dim Sum, Seafood.
Member 51 First(s)
No. of Review375 Review(s)
編輯推介數目33 Editor's Choice
Recommended14 Recommended
Popularity2718 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3339 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews7 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant123 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲697 Follower(s)
midas400  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 375 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : English | Café | High Tea | Brunch

Full review - http://midas400.blogspot.com/2015/12/dinner-at-arteastiq-plaza-singapura.html

I've been to two dining concept stores under Arteastiq but have not actually dine in Arteastiq before. Since a new outlet has opened at PS, I went to check out the new store and their new menu.

 

 

 
Nice and brightly colored lounge-style decor, with a row of hi-back couches overlooking parts of bustling Orchard road. The floor to ceiling glass windows lets in natural rays from the sun during the day, and dazzling city lights during the night.

 

 

 

 
As I'm alone, I ordered myself a dessert tea set and a main course from their new 'Ladies Affairs' menu.

The beautiful dessert tea set was served first, on their trademark wooden tea tray. My Monet Tea $12++ was a blend of French Rose tea served with a scoop of Champagne Vanilla Gelato and biscotti biscuits. The tea was absolutely delicious.

 

 

 
The Main course, Louisiana Love Chicken & Waffles $22++, was rather special. It was waffles made with whole wheat flour, served with crispy chunks of buttermilk pan-fried chicken meat tossed in Thai mayo dressing and greens. This savory waffle dish was excellently done, waffles were good, chicken was tender and the sauce was yummy. I loved it!

 

 

 
I enjoyed my dinner here at Arteastiq. Food and beverage were of high quality, and service was decent too. Prices were a bit steep though for the fancy dessert teas. I would come back to try other items on the menu but maybe not ordering the expensive tea every time.

 
Date of Visit: Sep 25, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sukiyaki/Shabu Shabu

Full review - http://midas400.blogspot.com/2015/11/new-outlet-tsukada-nojo-bijin-nabe-at.html

I got really excited after I saw the news of the new Liang Court branch opening in Oct on their official FB page. We gather the usual Bijin Nabe 美人鍋 gang, and went on a quiet Tue. We were happy to find an empty entrance with one or two early birds still waiting for their gangs outside.

 
Liang Court

 
The empty week old restaurant

 

 

 
Once our gang has reported full strength onsite, we were quickly ushered in to an empty table. The restaurant was 80% unoccupied at 7pm (20 Oct 2015). We placed order almost immediately as we already knew what to eat (we are regulars). Here are the usual stuffs we would eat every 3-4 months at Tsukada Nojo.

 
Tamagoyaki

 
Yuzu mayo Nikumaki

 
Chicken Nanban

 

 

 

 
The Bijin Nabe (Collagen Hotpot) Set is still $25++ per pax, comes with a choice of noodles and one free soup refill. The other ala carte side dishes we ordered are available at all outlets too. At the end of the satisfying meal, we were served the complimentary jelly (flavor varies daily) with cute drawings.

 
Apple Jelly for the day

The restaurant being extremely new, is a little understaffed even though they are not running a full house then. They've forgotten to serve us the sauces, and missed out the seaweed they're supposed to introduce halfway through the meal. Food was great though. We hope that they will beef up the service when business starts to pick up when more people gets to know of the existence of this outlet.

 
Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Fusion | Hotel | Steaks and Grills

Full review - http://midas400.blogspot.com/2015/12/birthday-lunch-at-halia-raffles-hotel.html

Halia, a well known fine dining establishment in the F&B scene, with numerous accolades in it's name, was the venue of choice for our Nov sistas birthday celebration. I've heard only good words for this restaurant, so it's high time we give this place a try.

 

 
The Raffles Hotel's branch has the same garden theme as its big sister at the Botanic gardens, with added colonial vibes. Planted foliage matched with colonial style black and white theme decor, and tall classic French windows giving the interior natural lighting during the day. Check out the centerpiece, a carved wooden table made from a 150yrs old tree.

 

 

 

 

 

 
Interesting table setting with cutlery housed in an old school tin container and ice water served in a wine/beer bottle. The menu here showcased modern European dishes with Asian influences.

 

 
We ordered a main course each and two appetizers for sharing.

For drinks, I had the Ginger Jive $12++, a concoction of fresh ginger, fruits and wild honey. I love its refreshing fruity taste with subtle hints of ginger kick. Some of my friends had their signature Halia Infusion $10++, a ginger drink served with wild honey (hot/cold). The ginger taste was more prominent for this beverage as compared to my mocktail.

 
Appetizers were served shortly after we placed orders. Crispy salt & chilli squid $15++ served with piquant mayo and ginger & spring onion lime dip, and Potato fries $8++ served with piquant mayo and truffle aioli dip. Both were delish and addictive to munch on.

 

 

 
The main courses did not take long to be served but alas, they keyed in the wrong order for two of our dishes. The apologetic staff explained the error to us, and quickly served up another set of appetizers (on the house) for us to kill time (another 15mins wait) while they prepare the dishes. Good service recovery from the restaurant!

My Halibut en Papillote $44++, baked fish fillet wrapped in parchment paper with mirin broth and veggies, served with sushi rice and wakame. This was a fabulous dish, fish was succulent and well infused with flavors. The rice topped with seaweed and cucumbers has a nice contrast of textures too. Thumbs up.

 
My friend's Slow Cooked Canadian Pork Loin $33++, was amazingly tender despite its 2" thickness. We suspect it has been sous vide for long hours before pan frying to achieve the nice browning on its exterior. Another excellent dish.

 
Steak & Eggs $30++, with extra Bacon top up at $4++, served with grilled tomatoes, poached eggs & spinach on toast, and buttery Béarnaise sauce. The steak's doneness was just right, retaining its moist and juicy texture, wonderfully executed.

 
To end the enjoyable lunch on a sweet note, complimentary dessert was served. Crème Brûlée with Rum & Raisins ice cream, and a Happy Birthday message. This simple looking dish tasted much better than its looks, we were not disappointed.

 
Halia definitely lived up to its reputation as one of the best restaurants in town. Magnificent food, incredible service, coupled with lovely ambiance, a great choice for that special occasion you are planning to celebrate. Prices could be a little on the steep side but it is well worth the money spent. We utilized two The Entertainer App 1 for 1 Mains vouchers and waived about $60++ off the bill, a good deal indeed.

Halia also has an Al fresco bar just outside the restaurant.

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 14, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shin Minori Japanese Restaurant Smile Jan 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

Full review - http://midas400.blogspot.com/2015/12/food-tasting-shin-minori-japanese.html

Tagged along Pauline to another food tasting. This time, we're at UE Square shopping Mall to try out the Ala Carte Dinner Buffet at Shin Minori Japanese Restaurant.

 

 

 

 
Located at level 3 of the shopping mall, Shin Minori (meaning New Harvest) is adorned with Zen inspired dark wood furnishings with clean lines and cozy warm lighting.

 

 

 

 
This casual Japanese diner offers wallet friendly All-you-can-eat Lunch and Dinner Ala Carte buffets. The buffet menu is definitely one of the most extensive ones I've seen, with more than 160 items to choose from! Fortunately, the restaurant has implemented a handy tablet ordering system where customers can browse the categorized food sections with ease, and place order for dishes online.

 
For the Ala Carte buffet menu, drinks and beverages are not included in the buffet prices, but complimentary ice water is served, and replenished, at every table. We started with some chilled juices while we ponder over what to order from that huge selection of food.

 
Apple juice & Lime juice $4.50++ ea.

The food arrived pretty quickly after order submission via the tablet. Most items are served in single portions (some in pairs), serving sizes are smallish which is good as we can order more variety to try.

 
Rice, noodle, chawanmushi & soup

 
Wakame

 
Garlic fried rice

 
Mentai roe pasta

 
Sashimi moriwase platter

 
Dragonfly maki rolls

 
Rainbow maki rolls

 
Bacon wrapped asparagus

 
Grill quail eggs & chicken skin

 
Grill chicken meatballs

 
Grill salmon

 
Ebi tempura

 
Eggplant with yuzu miso dressing

 
Cucumber with soy bean paste

Overall, I enjoyed the Sashimi and sushi roll items the most. The raw seafood were extremely fresh, and the colorful Maki rolls actually tasted as good as they looked. Some grilled items were impressive too, the chicken meatballs and grill salmon were really good. The rest of the items were pretty standard in terms of taste.

The restaurant owner offered some of their in-house specialty dishes for us to try. The grilled yellow tail collar was excellent. This dish is not found in the menu and will be served complimentary to their special guests and regulars, based on availability. The other two dishes can be found in the Ala Carte menu.

 
Grilled yellow tail collar

 
Deep fried soft shell crabs

 
Baked scallops

No dinner is complete without desserts, so we each ordered a scoop of Japanese flavor ice cream and sorbet. These are priced at $5.90++ per scoop, or $8.90++ for double scoop.

 
Mixed berries, Matcha azuki ice cream & Yuzu sorbet

Dinner at Shin Minori was a pleasant experience, the buffet spread is extremely impressive, with a reasonable price tag to boot. Definitely a great spot for big groups of friends or family gatherings, where everyone can find something they like to eat here. I would suggest to go for their fresh seafood items which are more worthy of the bucks you're paying.

Buffet Prices

Lunch (MON to SUN)

Adult S$35++

Child S$25++

Dinner (MON to SUN, EVE OF PH & PH) *

Adult S$39++

Child S$29++

*Except Christmas Eve, New Year Eve, CNY Eve & Special Occasions
 
Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Local Lobsterfest Buffet at Lime Smile Aug 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet

Full review - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2015/08/local-lobsterfest-buffet-at-lime.html

The local F&B dining scene has been in a festive mood as the nation's Golden Jubilee celebration draws near. For SG50, Lime restaurant's culinary team has put together an irresistible menu of all-you-can-eat Maine lobster buffet dinner, a collection of lobster dishes with local and international influences. These will be served on top of the regular international buffet spread, coupled with free flow Tiger beer, juices, local drinks and specialty coffee/tea.

The Lobsterfest buffet dinner happens only on Wednesdays, it was so popular that we need to make reservation more than a month in advance.

 
Lime, is an uber chic modern restaurant with high ceilings and full length glass windows, dressed with eye catching contemporary decor and stylish furnishings.

 

 

 
Semi private room

 

 

 
The dinner buffet was lined up along a stretch of open kitchen, with chefs hard at work to churn out freshly prepared dishes, a la minute. Let's check out the impressive spread before tucking in.

 
Sushi & sashimi

 
Fresh seafood

 
Oysters!

 
Maine lobsters

 
Prawns & scallops

 
Lobster pasta live station

 

 
Lobster & seafood paella

 

 

 
Lobster laksa live station

 
Black pepper lobster

 
Chili Lobster

 
Lobster, Kam Heong style

 
Cooked food station

 

 
Drinks & juices

 

 
Matcha fountain

 

 
Desserts station

 

 

 

 

 
Ice cream station

 
Nonya dessert station

 

 
After feasting our eyes with that gigantic buffet spread, we had to quickly make a move to grab the lobsters dishes before they ran out...remembering that the restaurant was fully booked on all Wednesdays for the entire month!

As dinner progresses, long queues always build up at the lobster stations whenever new replenishment was served, and they were wiped out real quick! Here's what I managed to grab for dinner...none of the dishes disappoints, and please save space for desserts!

 
Lobster, prawns, scallops, oysters & mussels

 
Sushi & Salmon sashimi

 
Lobster laksa

 
Chili lobster w/ mantou

 

 
Crab ball double boiled soup

 
Durian pengat...must eat!

 
DIY Nonya rojak

 
Bo bo cha cha

 
Raspberry gelato

The food here tasted as good as they looked, expertly prepared, with premium quality ingredients and excellent presentation. We all agreed that the quality and variety offered matches the hefty price tag of $98++ per person. Fine food, stunning ambiance, and great service, such a nice way to celebrate the nation's 50th birthday!

Prices

SGD98++ per adult

Includes unlimited local drinks, beer, chilled juices, soft drinks, specialty coffee and tea

SGD49++ per child (below 12yr old)

Includes unlimited local drinks, chilled juices, soft drinks, specialty coffee and tea

- Offer is valid every Wednesday, until 30 December 2015

 

 
Restrooms hidden behind these mirror doors...cool.

 
Lobby

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 15, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0