OpenRice Index
  
princessmic
This is princessmic living in Buona Vista. I am a Regional IT manager, work in Somerset. I like to hang out in Central, North, West. Japanese, Cantonese/Hong Kong, Chinese, Korean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Zi Char, Dim Sum, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 8 First(s)
No. of Review73 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1023 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos410 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant39 My Restaurant(s)
Follow174 Following
粉絲245 Follower(s)
princessmic  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 73 Reviews in Singapore
Bali Thai Smile Oct 02, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Indonesian | Vegetarian | Halal

for more food pictures and detailed review, please go to http://princessmic80.blogspot.sg/2013/10/of-bali-thai.html

The food is quite nice but the price is slightly steeper than other Thai Restaurant. The customer service is pretty good as the manager actually recommend some good signature dishes to us and we have no regrets ordering it! The food serving is quite huge with alot of ingredients so i guess it will compensate on the slightly stepper price? lol. here are some of the food we ordered

tom yam soup clear. I am quite surprised to find mussels in the soup as other Thai restaurant i only see sotong, prawn n fish haha. Too bad. i m not a fan of mussels so i dont really enjoy it myself but the soup is really good

 
Green curry. I like this. It goes super well with plain rice and i managed to finish my rice that night just with this alone lol ( please dont ask me how much rice i took that night lol..)

 
grill fish! this is very good. The sauce and the grill fish ~ Superb! the fish is super fresh!

 
Phat Tai. very generous with the ingredients. I see mussels the second time of the night lol.

 
Tang Hoon. I prefer this over Phat Tai. Actually this bowl belongs to someone else cos i finished mine and realized i forgot to take picture of it hahaha

 


Will i come again? Yes
 
Recommended Dish(es):  grill fish,tang hoon,tom yam soup
 
Date of Visit: Sep 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner @ Cafe De HK Smile Sep 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Seafood

Located opp the famous Tau Sa Par at Balestier Road, this cafe is not really difficult to find.

As they open up till midnight, it offers many people another makan hunt for supper or late dinner! This cafe as its name is, offers homestyle cantonese style zi char. with a wide variety of dishes in the menu, it is not hard to find something you like. The price is also pretty reasonable too!

Food : ***
Price : ***
Customer service : ***

Will i come again? Yes

Btw, they do provide free corkage so you can also bring your own wine too!

 


Double boiled fish soup!

Double boiled fish soup!

 


This is a must order soup! The soup is very clear and boiled for a very long time to give the milk feel!

Steamed egg.

Steamed egg.

 

This dish is really good. the egg is very soft, fully covered with mushroom,minced pork, fish roe, crab meat! Definitely must try!

Poached spinach with 3 type of eggs.

Poached spinach with 3 type of eggs.

 

This dish is my favourite! Usually restaurants will use Chinese spinach but they use the normal type of spinach.

Stirred fried seasonal beans with minced pork.

Stirred fried seasonal beans with minced pork.

 

This dish is also da boom! A very well done dish... recommended!

Black pepper beef with glass noodles.

Black pepper beef with glass noodles.

 

This dish is the star of the night! I love the beef that is so tender and the glass noodles... one word ~ superb!

Sweet sour pork!

Sweet sour pork!

 


Claypot chicken

Claypot chicken

 


For full review and more photos, please visit http://princessmic80.blogspot.sg/2013/09/of-dinner-cafe-de-hong-kong.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  black pepper beef with glass noodles,steam egg,
 
Date of Visit: Sep 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant

Located at the Burlington Square facing the famous Sim Lim Square (well known for IT gadgets to many), it is not hard to located this eatery at all. Wing Seong Fatty is another eatery that is handed over from one generation to another. The place is quite popular with tourists (Wing Seong Fatty is actually featured in Qantas 's inflight catalog as one of the must-try food!) but they do not do carrot chopping as their price is very reasonable.

They serve mainly Cantonese style zi char ( i wouldnt say tradditional Cantonese food as some of the food there are not Cantonese and they are catered for the local flavors). The way of cooking and preparing the food is toward Cantonese style though.

Opening hours:
Mon to Sun: 1200 - 1430, 1700 - 2210

Address:
Burlington Square, 175 Bencoolen Street, #01-34, Rochor, 189649

Overall
Food : ***
Price : ***
Customer Service : *** 1/2

Will i come again ? : Yes

Here is a list of the food we tried for the night

their jumbo spring rolls ~ $3 each. As you can see. the spring rolls is filled with alot of ingredients which is why is call jumbo spring roll. The crispy skin adds on to the crunchy feeling for each bite! you can eat it with their spring roll dip or without. i prefer the latter as i love the original taste!

 

 
Fried "Kway Teow" with gravy ~ $14 (Large) . This dish sets a little disappointment in me. Perhaps i am too used to the common zi char style. The Kway tiao must been stirred fried until alittle bit chao tah before adding the gravy on top. However, credits are given to the fresh ingredients in this dish!

 
Belachan Fried Rice ~ $14 (Large) . The fried rice is pretty good except i dont taste any belachan at all. The fried rice is not dried and it actually make me go for a second serving!

 
Chicken in Prawn Paste ~ $22 (Large) . this dish sets me thinking that it is different from the rest of the Har Jeong Kai ( chicken in prawn paste). nevertheless, the chicken is very crispy and yet not oily!

 
Homemade bean curd ~ $22 (Large) . This is my favourite among all. Homemade bean curd is commonly seen in zi char stall / eateries now. What make this dish so special i would say the "zap" aka the sauce that goes with it.

 

 
Fried Prawn with Oats ~ $37 (Large). The prawn balls i would call it. they are de-shelled prawns which makes it easier to eat as compared to those that are cooked with shell. However, i misses the crispy shell taste as i prefer to eat it as whole (including the shell). The oats is specially blend as i can taste some fried shredded coconut in it ( i hope my taste bud is correct lol). Sadly this dish does not appeal to me as i feel that there is an "dis-engage" with the oat and the prawn.

 
Black pepper beef ~ $22 (large). this is another dish that is consider my favourite. The beef is very tender and not overly "peppered" although you see the dish is full of pepper. lol

 

 
Sweet and Sour Pork ~ $22(large). Huge chunky pork only. no deep fried flour. this dish is pretty good except i feel the pork is alittle too tough.

 
Fried vegetables with meat ~$16 (large). This dish is really good and according to the boss, this dish is cooked using their own "secret" recipe.

 


For full review and more photos, please visit http://princessmic80.blogspot.sg/2013/09/food-review-my-satisfied-taste-buds.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  homemade bean curd,black pepper beef
 
Date of Visit: Sep 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bangkok jammed OK Sep 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

This is actually the second time i got “jammed” at Bangkok jam. Pretty fascinated with what they serve on their menu and their dishes presentation. especially their funky use of cutleries (bowls in weird funky shape). Food wise, i would say is pretty good. of cos there are some wows and some boos for me.

Food: ***
Price: *** 1/2
Customer Service: ***
Will I come again: Yes.

Bangkok Jam
68 Orchard Rd
#03-85 Plaza Singapura
Singapore 238839
Tel: 65 6341 9188

Thai Fish cakes @ $9.50. Not very strong in the coconut milk taste, not very spicy for me too. but i find they are pretty stingy with their thai chilli sauce. of cos, if i request for more, they probably will give me more.

 
stirred fry minced chicken with basil @ 11.90 bucks. this dish gives me major wow. the chicken meat is very soft and for the start, i thought it is pork haha

 
Green curry chicken @ 12 bucks. this gives me a boo. i dont quite like their green curry chicken. lack of the coconut milk taste i feel although the chicken is pretty tender and soft

 
fish maw soup @ 9.90 bucks. i quite like this soup but i think there are alot of MSG inside so it is pretty artificial taste to me. haha. but overall, the chef is pretty generous with the fish maw.

 
Seafood in clear tom yum. dont really find it special but taste pretty ok to me.

 
kailan with salted fish @ 10.50 bucks. it is pretty weird as this dish cost more than my fish maw soup haha. i give this dish a super wow too. not too over with the salted fish.

 
overall the food is pretty expensive i feel. we spend 73.80 bucks for 6 dish and out of it, the most expensive dish is actually the green curry chicken which is the louder boo for me. however, the rest of the dishes are pretty good. =)
 
Recommended Dish(es):  fish maw soup,stirred fried chicken with basil,
 
Date of Visit: Sep 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value for money set meal Smile Sep 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

This is not the first time i dine in Mouth restaurant hehe. I find their dishes are pretty decent and reasonably price especially this set lunch peking duck meal.

Here is a peek at their menu

 
we ordered their flower tea which is good for health!tea is not included in the set menu

 
xiao long bao. i love their xiao long bao. very juicy with soup! the skin is pretty thin.

 
spinach toufu. i love this dish very much! the toufu is crispy from the outside but soft on the inside

 
peking duck. pity they use those egg roll skin wraps..else it will b very nice as the sauce is very good

 
not a fan of their noodles...

 
sadly, i think i forgot to take picture of the abalone soup but it is really good!

lastly, ending the set meal with a desert

 
overall,
Food : ***
Price : *** 1/2
Customer Service : ***
Will i come again : Yes. there are many other set menus and dishes that are worth trying out for. This set menu is quite suitable for small eaters la. for big eaters, probably u will need to order other side dishes to eat =)

For full review and more photos, please visit http://princessmic80.blogspot.sg/2013/09/of-super-value-deal-mouth-restaurant.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  set menu
 
Date of Visit: Sep 06, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0