OpenRice Index
  
zhiyan89
This is zhiyan89 living in Sengkang. I am a Marketing, work in Bukit Merah.
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review7 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity78 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos22 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant7 My Restaurant(s)
Follow2 Following
粉絲22 Follower(s)
zhiyan89  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 7 Reviews in Singapore
For the big appetite... OK Mar 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Kids-Friendly

We were here on Vday as everywhere is overwhelmed with crowd. To our surprise, Empire State was also crowded. We were told by the waiter that we had to wait for half hour for a seat. Nevertheless, we waited.
We could not decide what to order initially. In the end, we decided to try their signature Empire burger.
In fact, the service was quite bad maybe it was due to Vday. We ordered plain water but it never came. Getting hold of the waiter to order food was a long wait too. The food took 45 minutes to arrive. To our horror, the burger was tremendously huge and it was sprinkled with a whole load of friends. Immediately, my first reaction was how can 2 persons finish this plate.
The beef patty was not tender and it was very difficult to swallow. I was so looking forward to the beef patty but it did not reach my expectations. sadThe bread was too thick too.
The best part of the dish was the fries as my favourite food is potato. Other than this, the burger was a major disappointment.
We did not finish the dish at all and left about 40%. sad

Overall, I would not visit Empire state again.
Empire burger (Not for the faint-hearted)

Empire burger (Not for the faint-hearted)

 
Cocktail

Cocktail

 
 
Date of Visit: Feb 14, 2014 

Celebration:  情人節 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

One of the best pizza! OK Mar 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta

Have heard very positive reviews about Mozza from friends and relatives. After a visit to the Ice Exhibition near MBS, my bf and I decided to head to Mozza for our teabreak.
Even though it was neither lunch nor dinner time, the restaurant was filled with customers, especially ang moh. We could see that all the waiters and waitresses were very busy serving and taking orders. After 5 mins of wait, we were ushered to our seats at the counter top.
I think the menu could be more descriptive in terms of food. They were described in some foreign language and we had a difficult time trying to decipher. In the end, to save trouble, we decided to ask the waiter for recommendation and ordered Meatball and Pepperoni pizza.
Waiting time was about 20 minutes and we were waiting eagerly for its arrival. Indeed, the pizza did not disappoint us at all. The crust was baked to perfection with burnt smell and crispy edges. Every slice of the pizza has a lot of meat and toppings on top of it. The crust was not very heavy and thick too. Both of us managed to finish the whole pizza!

I would definitely make a trip back again though price might be a little pricey. lol
Paper menu

Paper menu

 
Meatball & Pepperoni Pizza

Meatball & Pepperoni Pizza

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Meatball & Pepperoni pizza
 
Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Rather disappointed OK Mar 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

To celebrate our anniversary, my boyfriend specially reserved a seat at Prime Society for dinner as online reviews were good.
Ambience was great and the waiteress welcomed us with open arms.
The complimentary starter, charcoal chips with some sauce was pretty unique as the sauce was really salty. I was telling myself not to get turned down by this starter. Next, they served the bread. This dish was another dismay! The butter to be spread on the bread was another salty sauce. To add on, the mains that we ordered was another major disappointment. Firstly, the wagyu corned beef. It tasted like normal harm and the chef cut the ham in very thick slices. Secondly, the grilled salmon. Sprinkled salt on the salmon was not spread uniformly, hence the fish tasted like salt again. We were overwhelmed by the saltish experience.

Overall, I would not come back to this restaurant again. Or maybe we would try their beef next time. mad
Complimentary starter

Complimentary starter

 
Wagyu corned beef

Wagyu corned beef

 
Grilled salmon

Grilled salmon

 
Bread

Bread

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 14, 2014 

Celebration:  紀念日 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Windy bar Smile Mar 24, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges

Handlebar, a place catered for motorists. It was really windy when we reached about 6pm. 19 of us were here to celebrate my mum's birthday. Once reached, we ordered their beer buttered chicken first as waiting time for the food was a whooping 45mins. Decorations were unique with all motorcycle related props. Food came pretty fast.
Their cocaine wings were extremely spicy even though we ordered the lowest spiciness level. They were grilled to perfection with a thin crisp of skin on the outside. Next came the blossom onion. It looked like a flower and the dipping sauce is really yummy. I really love their medium
well done tenderloin. The meat was so tender and juicy that I could not stop muching on the beef. We also had beer battered fish and chips. I would also recommend their grilled and fried pork chop as it was really nice smelling.

Overall, Handlebar is a great hangout place, but it was very inaccessible. Best is to ride motorcycle here to have priority parking spaces.
Be careful! is really hot!

Be careful! is really hot!

 
Drowned in beer

Drowned in beer

 
Blossom Onion

Blossom Onion

 
Beer buttered chicken

Beer buttered chicken

 
Medium well done tenderloin

Medium well done tenderloin

 
Porky chop

Porky chop

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tenderloin,Blossom Onion,Cocaine wings,Potato wedges,Pork Chop
 
Date of Visit: Mar 22, 2014 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Waffles heaven! Smile Mar 24, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

After having steamboat with a group of friends at Serangoon, we decided to head to Hatter Street to try their woahffles! This place did not disappoint me. Once we stepped into the cafe, the smell of the woahffles is overwhelming. Without much hesitation, we decided to try one of their woahffles first; the one with Pandan ice cream. It was my first time trying Pandan ice cream as I do not really fancy food related to Pandan. To my dismay, this ice cream went really well with the waffles, baked with perfection. The pandan ice cream was refreshing as I thought that it might have a really strong Pandan smell. The waffles had a crunchy bite with a chewy feel. Since 5 of us shared one plate of waffles, we felt that our stomachs were not satisfied. Therefore, we wanted to order another flavour to try. We tried to mix and match ourselves which was vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce. However, the chef came to tell us that she strongly does not recommend me as this would distort the taste of the woahffles. Through this, I felt that the chef really took tremendous efforts to craft out each and every dessert and she knew the ingredients well to advise us against our idea. Thumbs up for the chef! In the end, we ordered the one with vanilla ice cream and salted caramel woahffles. 

Overall, it is a great place to try waffles. However, I do feel that the portion can be bigger for the price. 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Woahffles with Pandan ice cream,Woahffles with Vanilla ice cream and Salted Caramel sauce
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 23, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0