OpenRice Index
  
VikingVic
This is VikingVic living in Alexandra. I am a IT, work in Pasir Panjang. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Marina Bay. Italian, Japanese, Shanghainese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Steaks and Grills, Noodles, Dim Sum.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review14 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity220 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos64 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲25 Follower(s)
VikingVic  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 14 Reviews in Singapore
Perfect Brunch Place in Singapore Smile Oct 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Café | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

I had to wait for an hour just to get a seat in this place and normally I'm pretty smugged already when that happens. This place though is a champ.

I didn't expect the bendiicts to be that good (note: they had to redo the order as the eggs were over cooked but when they good it right... my God was it perfect)!

The shepherd's pie was also good but I did wish I ordered something else afterwards as there was nothing special about it. I have my eyes on the French toast that most tables were ordering....

I loved the Salty Caramel Brioche! Anyone who visits this place should order this without fail. Pair it with a nice strong coffee and boom you'll have your perfect weekend!

Please visit my blog for a full review: http://lvfoodhaven.blogspot.sg/2013/10/riders-cafe-bukit-timah-saddle-club.html
Truffle Firies

Truffle Firies

 
overcooked benedict

overcooked benedict

 
Shepherd's Pie

Shepherd's Pie

 
PERFECT Benedict

PERFECT Benedict

 
Salty Caramel Brioche - Must Try!!!

Salty Caramel Brioche - Must Try!!!

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Eggs Benedict,Salty Caramel Brioche,
 
Date of Visit: Oct 27, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Good ramen but avoid the dons Smile Oct 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

Had lunch at Men-Ichi as we had a full promo card from Ichiban group of companies. We had gyoza, kanitama (omelette with mushroom), char siew don, and miso ramen.

Every was ok except the char siew don. If this was not a promo item, then I would have asked them to send it back to the kitchen and just change it to something different. It was just pathetic. You can easily get better char siew topping in a food court compared to this. The pork was dry and flaky.

 

 

 

 
Everything else though was ok. The miso ramen is hard to fault though I'd imagine some people wanting it to be a tad bit less salty. Nevertheless, the pork, egg, and broth made this dish satisfying. Its not a head blown away type of ramen but its good enough.

The gyoza was like any other gyoza you'd have in a so so japanese restaurant. In fairness, I've really had bad gyoza and at least Men-Ichi isn't included in the list of horrible gyoza (How can you ruin gyoza????)

The kanitama was a bit of a surprise. Its basically egg omelette with light teriyaki sauce on top. This is a sample of simple dishes making a big impression. I'll be ordering this for sure the next time I'm in this restaurant.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  ramen,kanitama,
 
Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Disappointing Malaysian Treat. Cry Sep 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Noodles

When I went to Madam Kwan's, there was quite an expectation as there were some good reviews about the branches Malaysia. It seemed people in Singapore would go out of their way to go to Malaysia just to go to this place. Unfortunately, if Madam Kwan in Malaysia is that good, then they would need to go there still as this outlet is just disappointing.

We ordered Nasi Bojari ($18.90), Beef Rendang ($11.90), and Satay ($11.90). The food isn't that bad but the problem is that some Nasi Lemak places can out cook them and charge way less than the prices here. There is no creativity in plating. I plate my buffet plate better than them. The only redeeming factor was the satay sauce but the beef satay was dry and tough. The beef rendang was ok but not worth $11.90

Won't be going back here...

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $34(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nam Nam = Yum Yum Smile Sep 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese

I normally don't crave for Vietnamese food, but Nam Nam Noodle house changed that. I love restaurants with simple menus and NamNam is a good example of this.

The first must try is the Bahn Mi. My choice was the Caramelized Pork. The only think that I wished for in this dish is that it should have more pork and vegetables.

The next must try is their Pho. Any would do its just your preference but I would recommend trying the mixed beef as it has the best of what NamNam has to offer.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://lvfoodhaven.blogspot.sg/2013/09/namnam-raffles-city.html.
Fried Prawn Roll

Fried Prawn Roll

 
Pork Bahn Mi

Pork Bahn Mi

 
Mixed Beef Pho

Mixed Beef Pho

 
Beef Ball Pho

Beef Ball Pho

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bahn Mi,Pho
 
Date of Visit: Sep 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tonkatsu Ma Maison (2nd visit) OK Sep 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Japanese | Fusion

The last time that I visited Tonkatsu Ma Maison was almost a year ago. Little has changed within that time. They still serve you fresh radish where you pour a little of soy sauce before your meal. Each set comes with rice (either white or brown but brown is highly recommended), soup (special miso soup), and shredded cabbage. These are of course free flowing.

They also serve freshly crushed sesame seeds but I prefer the style of Tonkichi. I ordered Mangalica Tonkatsu (supposed to be the creme de la creme of pork) and well it was pork. I was waiting for a magic Kobe moment but it didn't occur.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://lvfoodhaven.blogspot.sg/2013/09/tonkatsu-ma-maison-2nd-visit.html
Cheese Mille-Feuille Katsu Set

Cheese Mille-Feuille Katsu Set

 
Mangalica Tonkatsu

Mangalica Tonkatsu

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tonkatsu
 
Date of Visit: Sep 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0