OpenRice Index
  
urbancityexplorer
This is urbancityexplorer .
Member 20 First(s)
No. of Review87 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity424 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos353 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant60 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲83 Follower(s)
urbancityexplorer  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 87 Reviews in Singapore
Great ramen at 100AM! Smile Dec 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

After my previous visit to Ramen Keisuke Tonkotsu King Four Seasons , I found myself craving for their ramen again. This time round I went to the one situated at 100AM, which specialised in their chicken broth ramen.

The Green Tea Cola tasted a bit like Sprite. It's refreshing to drink this especially after finishing the ramen.

 
The Tori King Ramen with All Toppings is their signature ramen that comes with a chicken thigh, 2 half-boiled egg, a big piece of chashu and a big piece of seaweed. The chicken is tender, the egg tasted invigorating and the chashu was chewy. The greatest credit goes to the soup. It is flavourful, not too salty and accompanies well with the nice-cooked ramen (I didn't finish the soup as per what I did at Ramen Keisuke Tonkotsu King Four Seasons though).

 
The Black Spicy Tori King Ramen with All Toppings is the black pepper variant of the original ramen. It is nearly the same as the Tori King Ramen except with a little spice. If you do want your ramen to be slightly spicy, this should definitely be ordered.

 
Definitely will come back here again if I'm craving for ramen. If you are around the Tanjong Pagar area, this is one place to visit (the other being Ramen Keisuke Tonkotsu King, under the same company)

For the full review and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2013/12/13/ramen-keisuke-tori-king-100am/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Spicy Tori King Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Nov 02, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Authentic Japanese ramen Smile Aug 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

After hearing rave reviews from my friends regarding a ramen place around the Bugis area, I brought my friend to this ramen shop, opened by the Ramen Keisuke chain, which is headed by the ramen king of the Ramen Champion series back in Tokyo, Chef Keisuke Takeda. This is also their 4th outlet here.

 

 
There's free boiled eggs and beansprouts. The marinated beansprouts tasted awesome and refreshing!

 
I had a Tonkotsu Ramen Winter with All Toppings. This was basically the normal tonkotsu ramen, one should have in the winter season. The all toppings added jew's ear, seaweed, soft-boiled egg and stir-fried pork into the ramen. The broth was thick and not at all salty, the ramen tasted chewy. The seaweed came in a big piece, something which I didn't really expect. The soft-boiled egg was cooked perfectly, silky and full of flavour. The stir-fried pork was excellent too, chewy and flavourful.

 
My friend had a Tonkotsu Ramen Autumn with All Toppings. Autumn is minced pork with bonitos flavour with fried mixed mushroom. The minced pork tasted great alongside with the mixed mushroom. Otherwise, the same taste for Winter applies here.

 
A definitely must come to place for a ramen lover. It is no wonder that this place is in the tops for best ramen in Singapore, though in comparisons to other ramens I have eaten this place will definitely be in the lead, making the 40 minutes that I have waited in the queue just to get seated worthwhile. Do get the Green Tea Cola while you are here!

For full reviews and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2013/08/14/ramen-keisuke-tonkotsu-king-four-seasons-bugis-village/
 
Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nostalgic environment Smile Jul 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

For the full review and more photos, visit http://makanarts.com/2013/07/01/sinpopo-brand-458-joo-chiat-rd/

The Pulot Hitam with Coconut Ice Cream tasted like any other pulut hitam I have eaten, except richer in flavour and taste! With the addition of the ice-cream, it made such a hot dessert more flavourful!

 
The Attap Chee Ice Cream is a very interesting ice cream to have. Attap chee flavoured ice-cream, with attap chee on top of it and beside, I would have thought the flavour tasted similar to some other ice cream flavors that I could not remember.

 
The Ais Bor is also another interesting dessert that is commonly found in past Singapore. It is similar to ice kachang (another local dessert made using shaved ice) except that this come in a ball size. I found that there was not much syrup added into it although it is full of condensed milk.

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 30, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great cafe within campus! Smile Feb 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café

With the number of cafes opening up increasing by day, it’s not surprising there are an existence of cafes in schools. Bread Yard, a 2 year old cafe operating at the interim campus of the Singapore University of Technology And Design, specializes in all-day breakfast, sandwiches, bread and coffee/drinks

 

 
The menu here is extensive and like other food establishments within schools, there is a different pricing scheme for the school and for the public.

 
The Eggs Bettino ($5.90 for SUTD staff/students, $6.90 for public) is easily the cheapest eggs benedict I can find around. And for the pricing, the food did not disappoint too much. The poached eggs are runny and the hollandaise sauce complemented well with it. The bread is rather hard to cut though, though this tasted great with the honey-glazed ham. The salad is great especially with the sauce.

 
I topped my meal up with a Set D, consisting of a Fresh Salad and Ice Tea ($1.50 for SUTD staff/students, $1.80 for public). The salad tasted great and comes in a big portion. The iced tea is refreshing to have after the meal.

 
If you live around the Dover area, or if you are studying near/at SUTD, this is a great place to study, relax or even to read newspapers that are available near the counter!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Eggs Bettino
 
Date of Visit: Feb 13, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Belgium waffles! Smile Feb 23, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café

For the full reviews and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2014/02/17/stateland-cafe-30-bali-lane/

Kampong Glam has always been a hot hit with people going there to shop, eat or just walk around. Cafes here are quite common as well in the area, such as La Marelle, CAD Cafe, and even the recently opened Elffin & Elffin. Stateland Cafe has become the newest addition to this area. Also operating a online macaroons business called Flag & Sac, this place serves all-day breakfasts, pastas and desserts.

 

 

 
The menu here is rather simple, and reasonably priced.

 
The coffees here are made using the Terra Firma blends from Papa Palheta. The Macchiato ($3.90) provides a single shot of espresso, which has a slightly acidic and bitter taste.

 
The Latte ($4.70) tasted strong and firm with the right amount of milk added.

 
The Belgium Waffles ($10.90) comes with a chocolate ice cream, fresh fruits and Stateland’s waffle sauce. This is possibly one of the best waffles coming from a cafe. Crusty on the outside, soft and moist on the inside, this goes well especially with the chocolate ice cream.

 
This place is a great place to come to for their coffee and food after some shopping within the area, so if you are around the Kampong Glam area, this should not be missed!
 
Date of Visit: Feb 09, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0