OpenRice Index
  
toroamtheworld
This is toroamtheworld . Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Bakery, Café and Pasta, Buffet , Desserts and Cakes.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review26 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity165 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos187 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant26 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲11 Follower(s)
toroamtheworld  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 26 Reviews in Singapore
Food Review: The Benjamins Cry Jan 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Bakery | Café | Kids-Friendly

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-benjamins.html

 
The Benjamins, formerly known as Benjamin Browns, is a cafe in Forum the Shopping Mall. A few months ago they shot to fame with their Over-The-Top (OTT) milkshakes, which are milkshakes with many ingredients and snacks piled on top such that it's nearly overflowing.

 
Nutella Banana Milkshake($16++): One of their bestsellers, this milkshake has Khong Guan-like biscuits layered with banana slices, cream, Tim Tam inside, a wedge of chocolate cake, and Nutella smeared on the rim to hold the pretzels there. The milkshake was rich, decadent and definitely a chocolate lover's dream. However, as you can see from the picture, it was hard to drink and start eating the ingredients!

 
Strawberry Cheesecake Milkshake ($16++): This milkshake was also milky and creamy, but I couldn't taste any sort of cheesecake flavour in the drink. So I guess the 'cheesecake' comes from the wedge of cheesecake on top, together with the Khong Guan biscuits, cream, strawberry, Tim Tams and wafer sticks.

 
Crabmeat Arriabiata Linguine ($23++): Unfortunately this dish failed to impress. There was little crabmeat, and because of that, it made the dish seem like an ordinary plate of Spaghetti Bolognese...

 
Fish and Chips ($23++): It was such a small and skinny serving of fish. And it came with a scant portion of salad, some fries, and sour cream. I didn't manage to try this from my friend, but even if it was really delicious, I'd rather order something else that's more worth my penny.

 
300g Sizzling Beef Chunks ($25++): It comes with roasted baby potatoes and melted cheese on tomato. The beef chunks were really juicy and flavourful! They were chewy yet had a nice bite too. Very tasty, and this is what I call value for money.

 
The Benjamin burger with bacon, eggs, cheese and mushroom ($25++): The beef patty was shaped in a ball, not the flat kind that's about the same circumference as the burger bun. As a whole it was quite tasty, the beef well cooked. But it wasn't very outstanding either.

Overall, for the milkshakes, I think they taste ordinary. It's definitely the presentation that creates the wow factor. And actually, $16++ for a cup of this is very expensive! Food wise it was disappointing. For the prices that you pay, you'd expect a certain quality and portion of the food, but it certainly fell short.
Food menu

Food menu

 
Drinks menu

Drinks menu

 
Supplementary Information:
Used the Entertainer App so it was less costly. Food needs to be improved while milkshakes can be tried once.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: Amazonia Bistro OK Feb 26, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly

Play area

Play area

 
Amazonia is an indoor children's playground where there are giant slides, mosh pits filled with balls, mini golf course etc to cater for the little ones to play and enjoy. In its premises there is also a bistro, which serves a mix of Western and local food. This is where parents can sit and have their meal while their kids.
Play area

Play area

 
I went for their food tasting and here's what we tried:

 
Apple Juice ($5): Very ordinary, and quite expensive for this glass.

 
Caesar Avocado Salad ($13.80): A lot of ingredients here, including grilled juicy chicken breast, sliced avocado, hard boiled egg, cherry tomato and bacon bits. It was not bad overall, and tasted fresh.

 
Chef's Nasi Goreng ($12.70): The plate that we were served was for doubled up in portion for tasting purposes. This came with a lot of ingredients too, such as a drumstick, fried egg, two sticks of Chicken satay, keropok and some achar. The drumstick was delicious with tender meat, while the satay was marinated and cooked very well!

 
Sweet and Spicy Garlic Tiger Prawn ($15.20): Two prawns were served with steamed rice and cooked vegetables. Unfortunately I felt the prawns didn't taste that fresh. The meat was quite soft and mushy...

 
Chocolate Fondant Cake ($7.50): As a dessert lover, I enjoyed this. It's like a lava cake because the slightly molten chocolate filling flowed out (though quite slowly) upon cutting the cake. The chocolate was rich, but the scoop of ice cream melted really fast.

Overall, decent food here, though I wouldn't choose to dine here given the other food options within Great World City.
Dining area

Dining area

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chef's Nasi Goreng,Chocolate Fondant Cake
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 19, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $15

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: d'Good Cafe OK Jan 16, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

For the full review or more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/05/food-review-dgood-cafe.html or http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-dgood-cafe-revisit.html
The cafe occupies the second and third level of the shophouse

The cafe occupies the second and third level of the shophouse

 
D'Good Cafe is located in Holland Village, just 2 minutes away from the MRT, and has been a popular cafe since its opening 3 years ago.

 
Eggs Benedict ($13.50): A standard fare of two poached eggs nestled on brioche and bacon and drizzled with homemade Hollandaise sauce. It comes with a side salad too. The eggs were runny and overall this was alright.

 
Ham and Cheese French Toast ($9): The french toast had a filling of honey-baked ham and cheese, some French berry jam and served with some fruits at the side. Overall the taste was not bad. The bread was quite soft too. But the portion was way too small and the bread too puny.
$15, $17.50, $16 respectively

$15, $17.50, $16 respectively

 
Bacon Carbonara Pasta ($15): This was tasty, with pork bacon and linguine tossed in mixed herb cream sauce. It's creamy enough, but after a while it did get a bit jelat.

Seafood Pasta ($17.50): Linguine with prawns, squid rings and mussels tossed in mixed herb tomato sauce. My friend thought there could be a bit more ingredients especially given the steeper price paid. But otherwise it was flavourful.

 
Fresh Sea Prawn Aglio Olio ($16): Their prawns are fresh, and the Aglio Olio was fragrant and done al dente.

 
Creamy Grand Marnier Fruit Deluxe Deutsch Skillet Pancake ($12): A few months ago, D'Good started serving Deutsch Skillet Pancakes, and this is a Christmas special flavour. The oven-baked pancakes is finished off with creamy Grand Marnier sauce and studded with fresh dragonfruit, kiwi, blueberries and strawberries. The pancakes tasted more custard-y and eggy, unlike the light and fluffy kind, which is a nice change from the usual offerings of other cafes.

Some hits and misses, but worth a try once. Go during off-peak hours otherwise it'll be quite noisy and crowded.
Second level

Second level

 
Third level

Third level

 
Third level alfresco dining area

Third level alfresco dining area

 
Food menu

Food menu

 
Food menu

Food menu

 
Food menu

Food menu

 
Supplementary Information:
Food is not bad, some pasta dishes a bit pricey
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fresh Sea Prawn Aglio Olio,Deutsch Skillet Pancakes
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: Kokomama Marketplace OK Jan 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Fusion | Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-kokomama-marketplace.html

Kokomama is a casual eatery on the first floor of SOTA. The prices on the posters were affordable and the food looked not bad, so we went in to try.

 
Volcano Chicken Rice Bowl ($7.90): Their rice bowl series allow you to choose a side serving of sauce - chilli crab, mushroom or curry. My friend chose the first one. She said the chicken was quite tender and the sauce was nice. But it wasn't a very outstanding dish.

 
Tuna Mayo Panini ($7.90): My friend said this was comparable to Subway. Hahaha.
Student price at $7.90

Student price at $7.90

 
Ham and Mushroom Baked Rice ($9.90): Under the student meal, you get it at a discounted price ($7.90) plus a drink, of which I chose ice lemon tea. The rice was flavourful and there were sufficient portions of ingredients given! It was also cheesy enough for me.

This place really stands out on its affordable food. Taste wise some were good, some ordinary. But they really serve a wide variety of food: baked rice, curry rice, Japanese rice bowls, ramen, pasta, sandwiches, Bingsu and even homemade artisan breads! Plus they are very accessible.
Stretchy cheese!

Stretchy cheese!

 
Supplementary Information:
Food was average, but justifiable for the affordable pricing.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ham and Mushroom Baked Rice
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $8

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: OMB (Oh My Bacon!) OK Dec 25, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

For the full review or more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/12/food-review-omb-oh-my-bacon.html
One can easily spot the colour storefront from afar

One can easily spot the colour storefront from afar

 
OMB stands for 'Oh My Bacon', and no prizes for guessing what they specialise in! Yeap, almost all their dishes have bacon incorporated, from the usual pasta, breakfast plate to more unconventional ones like bacon ice cream (say what?) and desserts.

 
The interior is playfully decorated with bacon figures and cartoons, plus the mismatched furniture brings out the lively and quirky style in this cafe.

 
Bacon Bomb ($28): This consists of pork, beef, bacon and cheese all rolled into one, and served with mashed potatoes and a few leaves below. It's one giant roll so it's good for two persons to share. However, it was a little hard to share because once we sliced it open, everything seemed to fall apart! Taste wise I felt like there was a lot going on. There was the bacon, beef etc, and they didn't go that well together. Or maybe it's cos I'm not really a meat person so I can't appreciate the flavours all at once...? Otherwise it's a perfect dish for carnivores out there!

 
The Cure ($21): It's more like the usual Big Breakfast plates that most cafes offer, but this one here has a bit more ingredients: sausage, bacon, potatoes, mushrooms, eggs (scrambled or sunnyside) and waffles or pancakes. It also comes with a small cup of maple syrup and butter. I love the waffles as it was crispy and not doughy. All the other ingredients were alright, nothing spectacular. Nothing stood out much for me here.

 
Beef and Bacon Cheeseburger ($17): This was a beef patty with bacon, lettuce, tomatoes and pickles served in toasted sesame buns, with a side of paprika fries. My dining partner said it tasted ordinary, only slightly better than the run-of-the-mill fastfood burgers.

 
Bacon Love, Truly ($15): This is essentially a BLT. You can choose between classic, candied or spicy bacon, and it is served in pita bread smothered with bacon jam. We went with candied bacon for this sandwich and it was sweet just right. I was hoping they could spice up this sandwich a bit more, because otherwise it's like a Subway sandwich?

 
Waffles with Bacon Ice Cream ($14): As mentioned earlier the waffles were of a good texture, light and crispy and not doughy. The bacon ice cream tasted a bit salty (must be from the bacon haha) but it was injected with bacon bits here and there, which tasted like bak kwa! Haha but this is indeed a unique flavour.

 
Jekyll and Hyde (6 for $12): These are bacon strips dipped in white and dark chocolate. It really was a good combination of sweet and salty! I preferred the dark chocolate as it was slightly less sweet. A good dessert to end the meal!

Overall I think OMB is creative with its bacon-inspired food. It doesn't have GST or service charge too. But it has to work harder to improve the taste and quality of the food, otherwise it'll just be quite ordinary.

 
Nice mural

Nice mural

 
Supplementary Information:
Plus points for its bacon-inspired theme, but quality of food needs to improve
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bacon Bomb,Jekyll and Hyde,Waffles with Bacon Ice Cream
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 30, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $16

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend