OpenRice Index
  
toroamtheworld
This is toroamtheworld . Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Bakery, Café and Pasta, Buffet , Desserts and Cakes.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review26 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity165 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos187 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant26 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲11 Follower(s)
toroamtheworld  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 26 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Dim Sum | Buffet

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-bao-today-dim-sum-high-tea.html

Their high tea buffet is done 'tapas style' and has no menu because the dishes served rotates on a regular basis. There are more than 40 varieties and it's served ala carte where the friendly service crew will bring out the food for you. This high tea buffet is only available at their branch in Rendezous Hotel. There is ample space and there are some booth seats too decorated in Oriental style. For non-buffet patrons, you may order from their normal ala carte menu at the counter, with the following menu above the cashier counter. Free flow Iced Peach Tea and Ice Lemon Tea is included for the buffet.

Recommended dishes:

 
Siew Mai: Plump with sufficient meat

 
Pork Chop: Tasty and flavourful

 
Nyonya Style Steamed Fish: Very fresh

 
Chives and Prawn Dumpling: Sufficient fillings

 
Char Siew Bao: Meaty and flavourful. Buns are fluffy

 
Zha Jiang Mian: Tasty, even with the noodles alone

 
Mushroom Dumpling: Love the mushrooms inside. But skin a bit thick

 
Scallop Dumpling: Fresh prawns and scallop!

 
Liushabao: BEST DISH. Salted egg yolk custard was flowy, not too sweet or buttery. Buns were light and had a tinge of pandan

Average dishes:
Wanton in Spicy Chilli Sauce
Har Gow
Yu Piao/Jellyfish thingy
Chee Cheong Fun
Pork and Prawn Dumpling
Red Bean and Banana Pancake

All in all I enjoyed the food here, as most of them hit the mark for me. Some dishes may be replaced every now and then based on customer feedback and the demand for them. Of course, new ones will be added. There were actually a few more dishes that was available that day but we were too full to try them!

The service crew were friendly and patient with us too, and gave us recommendations for strategic eating haha! What I like about this buffet is that you don't need to order in quantities of a basket, but down to a single piece! For example if you want to try more Siew Mai, you need not order a basket that has 3 or 4 in it, but can simply request for one if you're too full.

And another great thing about this buffet is its wallet-friendly prices! Going on a weekday afternoon will not cost you more than $20 (after taxes), and the most expensive period on weekend nights is less than $27! Quality dim sum at affordable prices - what's not to love?

 

 
Ala carte menu

Ala carte menu

 
Supplementary Information:
Dim sum was generally tasty and yummy. Great place to come for a casual celebration with family or friends
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Siew Mai,Char Siew Bao,Liushabao,Pork Chop,Steamed Fish,Dumplings
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: Yum Cha Takeaway Smile Jan 14, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/food-review-yum-cha-restaurant.html

 
Yum Cha Restaurant has launched their CNY menu, and it doubles up as a takeaway/delivery menu too! I was privileged to try their takeaway menu items last week, where the food was delivered to a condominium function room. Here's what we had!

 
BBQ Suckling Pig: This was the centrepiece of the table. A huge suckling pig was layed out, all sliced and cut out into many even pieces. The meat was really, really tender and fragrant, while the skin was crispy. It was a little cold by the time we ate it but I guess it's because it's been left out for a while and we were busy snapping pictures. But considering that it's takeaway, this dish was pretty good!

 
Braised Pig's Trotter with Fatt Choy: The meat was also very tender and it fell off the bone easily. The Fatt Choy (black moss) was yummy. The gravy was a little salty though.

 
Roasted Crispy Chicken: I enjoyed this dish because the chicken meat was flavourful, tender and succulent.

 
Fried Rice with Chinese Sausage in Lotus Leaf: The fried rice was not bad, though lacking in wok hei possibly because it's takeaway. The Chinese sausage, also known as lap chiong, gave the dish more flavour, though it could have been cut in bigger pieces.

 
Salmon Yu Sheng: If you're worried about consuming salmon sashimi, rest assured as the fish is sourced from Norway and it's definitely AVA-approved. The Yu Sheng was quite nice, and one noteworthy thing perhaps, is that they make their own sourplum sauce.

 
I think a lot of thought has been put into making sure that the takeaway food stays warm, presentable and tasty. They use this huge bag (below) where there's some warmer inside that keeps the food warm. This technology is called 'cook tek', and makes the food stay warm for 2 hours.
'Cook tek' delivery bag

'Cook tek' delivery bag

 
Other dishes (both takeaway and dine-in) include Braised Abalone with Dried Oysters and Fatt Choy, Roasted Crispy Pork Belly and more. Their CNY menus and takeaway menus will be available from tomorrow, 15 January to 22 February 2016. And here's a promotion! A 20% early bird discount for takeaway Yu Sheng if you order before 7 February. For in-house dining promotions, receive a limited edition Yum Cha red packet with a minimum spending of $100, while stocks last.

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  BBQ Suckling Pig,Roasted Crispy Chicken,Braised Pig's Trotter with Fatt Choy
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 08, 2016 

Celebration:  團年飯 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vegetarian

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-eight-treasures-vegetarian.html

Last week I had my first vegetarian dining experience, with an 8-course meal to boot! Eight Treasures Vegetarian Restaurant is a family business that sells purely vegetarian food, and they've been running for 9 years now at a three-storey shophouse in Chinatown.
3rd storey of the shophouse

3rd storey of the shophouse

 
As part of the OpenRice tasting, we were treated to their Chinese New Year 8-course set menu for 8-10pax, which cost $368+.

 
Sharks' Fin with White Fungus and Wolfberries: First up was this soup, which was a good take on the actual sharks' fin soup, and much much more eco-friendly! The sharks' fin is the white strands in the above picture, and is made of konnyaku jelly, which withstands heat better than agar. The white fungus has a QQ texture and there were enoki mushrooms inside.

 
Fruit Salad Veg. Chicken
: The chicken is made of potato while the skin is actually beancurd skin. To cater to the vegans, the mayonnaise is made without using eggs.

 
Thai Style Veg. Cod Fish: The fish is served looking like a cod fish. It is made of wheat and soybean, and the texture is made to feel like you're chewing on fish meat! The Thai sauce is also made in house, and it was just nice to give you a little kick of the spiciness.

 
Veg. Abalone Mushroom and Tou Pau with Seasonal Greens: The presentation was quite nice, with the broccoli at the outer rim and abalone slices layering on top of the mushrooms. Once again the abalone is made of konnyaku, and the mushrooms were really juicy and had that earthiness taste.

 
Cereal Veg. Prawn: This is my favourite dish out of the many good ones! The prawns are also made of konnyaku, and the texture was ON POINT! If I was blindfolded and unaware that this is vegetarian, I'd have thought I was eating the real prawns. The batter wasn't too greasy, but I'd have preferred it a bit thinner.

 
Fragrant Yam Ring
: It was a good dish overall. There were mock chicken meat in it and it was very tasty too!

 
Braised Yee Fu Noodles: A common dish served at wedding dinners, I like this dish because it was delicious, with the noodles having the wok hei and stir-fried with lots of veggies!

 
Honey Sauce Veg. Pork: Zenna, the boss's daughter who was hosting us, very generously let us try this signature dish even though it's not part of the CNY set menu. Firstly, the appearance of the dish can already win you over. It looks just like the actual pork belly, and you can see the distinct layers! Secondly, the taste was equally good too! The konnyaku jelly used to make the 'meat' was soft, yet retaining some bite to mimick the actual pork meat. Highly recommended!

 
Rainbow Yu Sheng Veg.: This was supposed to be the first dish but we decided to leave it till the end. This was pretty much the same as the normal ones you can find out there, just that the 'salmon' is also made of konnyaku jelly! It looks just like salmon sashimi (though it's cut more rectangularly) and tastes as slimy and chewy too! Now you don't have to worry about whether the fish is fit for consumption, given the recent spate of freshwater fish incidents.

 
Fruity Mango Pudding: I thought this mango pudding was a bit sweet. Other than that it's an appropriate dessert - something light and refreshing after so many dishes. (:

Overall, Eight Treasures Vegetarian Restaurant is the place to try tasty vegetarian dishes that will impress even the non-vegetarians! It changed my impression of vegetarian food. They use a lot of soy beans, konnyaku jelly in their food which are healthier too, and don't use egg, onions or garlic. For those of you who are interested to visit them during the upcoming CNY period, they are open every day and reservations are strongly encouraged!

Thank you Zenna for being a wonderful and friendly host and OpenRice for the tasting!
Supplementary Information:
Good place to go for vegetarian food, for both vegetarians and non-vegetarians.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cereal Veg. Prawn,Honey Sauce Veg. Pork,Braised Yee Fu Noodles
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 06, 2016 

Celebration:  團年飯 

Spending per head: Approximately $38

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Food Review: Bread Yard Smile Jan 09, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-bread-yard.html

 
Bread Yard is a simple cafe selling sandwiches and all-day brunch dishes. It used to be located in the SUTD temporary campus in Dover Road which I've visited before, but has since shifted to Fusionopolis. The interior is quite small, in fact fewer seats and more cramped than their previous space.

 
Candied Bacon and Grilled Cheese Pancakes ($9): Two thick stacks of fluffy pancakes served with grilled cheese sticking to the sides of the pancakes, a fried egg and candied bacon on top. The cheese was ooey and gooey and a real delight to chew on! The strips of candied bacon were a delicious too, although being salty as usual but it had some sweetness to it too. You can also tell from the photos that the pancakes were really fluffy. It was a great combination of sweet and savoury.
Thick layers of pancakes sandwiched with a fried egg

Thick layers of pancakes sandwiched with a fried egg

 
The food has maintained their standard as in the previous location and I'm so glad they've continued to offer quality food at affordable prices. They are just a minute away from one-north MRT exit B so kudos to the convenience!

 

 

 
Supplementary Information:
Good food at reasonable prices. Try to avoid the lunchtime or less be prepared to wait long!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Candied Bacon and Grilled Cheese Pancakes
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $9

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: The Pizza Collective Smile Jan 09, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta

For the full review, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-pizza-collective.html

Have you ever wanted to build your own pizza? Here at The Pizza Collective, it is precisely what you do! But wait, the best part? There are UNLIMITED TOPPINGS you can pile onto your pizza! All for the same price - $12 nett.

*Disclamer: I lost a lot of photos that I took during this visit and could only find these few... So sorry we just have to make do with these... sad sad

 
First, you choose the dough base - original or herb. Second, you choose the cheese - mozarella, ricotta or brie (can't remember if it's brie). This part onwards it's unlimited already, so if you'd like to have all 3, that's fine! Third, the veggies. There were capsicum, mushroom, zucchini, cucumber, cheery tomatoes etc. Fourth, the meat - ham, roasted pork belly (wow), teriyaki chicken and one or two more. The variety may not be thaaat great, but hey, for unlimited toppings, I think it's good enough! Last but not least, pick a sauce!

The chefs will build the pizza for you as you pick and choose the ingredients and go down the line. Then you'll receive a number tag and wait for your pizza to be ready.

 
Build-your-own-pizza ($12): My pizza was herb base, with lots of mozarella and some ricotta, zucchini, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, ham and BBQ sauce. The size of the pizza is about 7" to 8", and there is only one size. It was so good! The ingredients were fresh the pizza dough was the flat kind, though not crispy. Each pizza is cut into 8 slices, but I got quite full towards the last two haha.

 
There are other set meals like those that come with a cold drink ($14), hot drink ($13) etc. They do have a few fixed flavours and creations of their pizza, ranging from the savoury to the sweet! So you'll definitely have a wide variety of pizza flavours to choose from. (:

 
Supplementary Information:
Highly recommended to come with friends or family so you can have fun choosing what goes into your pizza and experimenting with different combinations
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $12

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0