OpenRice Index
  
toroamtheworld
This is toroamtheworld . Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Bakery, Café and Pasta, Buffet , Desserts and Cakes.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review26 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity281 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos187 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant26 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲11 Follower(s)
toroamtheworld  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 26 Reviews in Singapore
Food Review: Bread Yard Smile Jan 09, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Bakery | Café | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches | Coffee

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-bread-yard.html

 
Bread Yard is a simple cafe selling sandwiches and all-day brunch dishes. It used to be located in the SUTD temporary campus in Dover Road which I've visited before, but has since shifted to Fusionopolis. The interior is quite small, in fact fewer seats and more cramped than their previous space.

 
Candied Bacon and Grilled Cheese Pancakes ($9): Two thick stacks of fluffy pancakes served with grilled cheese sticking to the sides of the pancakes, a fried egg and candied bacon on top. The cheese was ooey and gooey and a real delight to chew on! The strips of candied bacon were a delicious too, although being salty as usual but it had some sweetness to it too. You can also tell from the photos that the pancakes were really fluffy. It was a great combination of sweet and savoury.
Thick layers of pancakes sandwiched with a fried egg

Thick layers of pancakes sandwiched with a fried egg

 
The food has maintained their standard as in the previous location and I'm so glad they've continued to offer quality food at affordable prices. They are just a minute away from one-north MRT exit B so kudos to the convenience!

 

 

 
Supplementary Information:
Good food at reasonable prices. Try to avoid the lunchtime or less be prepared to wait long!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Candied Bacon and Grilled Cheese Pancakes
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $9

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: The Pizza Collective Smile Jan 09, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta

For the full review, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-pizza-collective.html

Have you ever wanted to build your own pizza? Here at The Pizza Collective, it is precisely what you do! But wait, the best part? There are UNLIMITED TOPPINGS you can pile onto your pizza! All for the same price - $12 nett.

*Disclamer: I lost a lot of photos that I took during this visit and could only find these few... So sorry we just have to make do with these... sad sad

 
First, you choose the dough base - original or herb. Second, you choose the cheese - mozarella, ricotta or brie (can't remember if it's brie). This part onwards it's unlimited already, so if you'd like to have all 3, that's fine! Third, the veggies. There were capsicum, mushroom, zucchini, cucumber, cheery tomatoes etc. Fourth, the meat - ham, roasted pork belly (wow), teriyaki chicken and one or two more. The variety may not be thaaat great, but hey, for unlimited toppings, I think it's good enough! Last but not least, pick a sauce!

The chefs will build the pizza for you as you pick and choose the ingredients and go down the line. Then you'll receive a number tag and wait for your pizza to be ready.

 
Build-your-own-pizza ($12): My pizza was herb base, with lots of mozarella and some ricotta, zucchini, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, ham and BBQ sauce. The size of the pizza is about 7" to 8", and there is only one size. It was so good! The ingredients were fresh the pizza dough was the flat kind, though not crispy. Each pizza is cut into 8 slices, but I got quite full towards the last two haha.

 
There are other set meals like those that come with a cold drink ($14), hot drink ($13) etc. They do have a few fixed flavours and creations of their pizza, ranging from the savoury to the sweet! So you'll definitely have a wide variety of pizza flavours to choose from. (:

 
Supplementary Information:
Highly recommended to come with friends or family so you can have fun choosing what goes into your pizza and experimenting with different combinations
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $12

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: Five By Five Smile Jan 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-five-by-five.html

 
Five By Five is a relatively new cafe opened by the same guys behind November 8 (now defunct), but at a space just below the latter's unit. The interior design is every Instagrammer's dream - white tiles, marble table tops, light-coloured wooden chairs, and unpolished cement floors. Plus the abundant natural lighting completes the checklist of beautiful photos!
White walls, natural lighting - an Instagrammer's paradise

White walls, natural lighting - an Instagrammer's paradise

 
Forgot the price, ordered by my friend

Forgot the price, ordered by my friend

 

 
For the drinks, I can't remember what they were, although the green ones are obviously matcha, because my dining partners ordered it.

 
5by5 Breakfast ($15.50): The usual big breakfast plate, with eggs (sunny or scrambled, of which we chose the latter), chorizo sausage, bacon, honey ham, mushroom and tomato, served on toast and greens by the side. The eggs were very runny and silky, while the bacon and sausages were a bit salty as usual. Mushrooms and tomatoes were fresh and juicy!

 
Miso Roasted Pork ($16.50): Slow roasted pork belly with Japanese Miso seasoning, served with orzo rice pasta with greens by the side. The pork belly was tender and well marinated. The orzo, which was a kind of short-cut pasta, reminded me of the rice in Briyani haha. Overall this dish was not bad.

 
Waffles with 3 scoops of ice cream ($17.80): I felt the waffles could be a little lighter and crispier. But I enjoyed the Durian and Ferrero Rocher ice cream (last flavour was Thai Milk Tea). Also, I think it's pricier than it could have been.

There's nothing wrong with this cafe, but there's also nothing outstanding of it either. Food was alright, the ice cream and waffles weren't that mindblowing either. But I guess if you're in the area and bored of the usual Upper Thomson offerings, you can try out this place!

Food was alright, worth going if in Thomson area.
Food menu (1)

Food menu (1)

 
Food menu (2)

Food menu (2)

 
Ice cream flavours

Ice cream flavours

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: The Dessert Project Smile Dec 30, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/12/food-review-dessert-project.html

The Dessert Project is an ice cream parlour located in an unassuming HDB void deck in Tiong Bahru. It's not at the hipster/gentrified enclave where Tiong Bahru Bakery is, but towards Havelock Road/Bukit Ho Swee that side. They are surprisingly surviving despite being in a mature neighbourhood!
Price does not include additional scoop of ice cream

Price does not include additional scoop of ice cream

 
Nutella Toast ($14.90): I forgot the exact name of the dish, but it comes with vanilla ice cream, Ferrero Rocher ice cream, whipped cream, and drizzled liberally with Nutella sauce. We ordered an additional scoop of Pistachio ice cream. The ice cream flavours were pretty rich, especially the Ferrero Rocher and Pistachio. The toast was very crispy, light, fluffy and buttery! It was very fragrant and it didn't feel gelat at all.
Fluffy innards of the thick toast

Fluffy innards of the thick toast

 
I definitely think the thick toasts here deserves more than a try. But share it with at least one person! The shop owners are friendly and readily give recommendations. Can tell they take pride in their interesting ice cream flavours and everything else that they do. (:
Supplementary Information:
Yummy thick toasts, interesting range of ice cream flavours
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nutella Toast
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 04, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: The Lokal Smile Dec 24, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/12/food-review-lokal-revisit.html

The Lokal is a Melbourne-inspired cafe that does good coffee and serves quality food too. Located near Outram Park MRT (Exit G), it is a recommended place for a hearty brunch or catch up with friends.

 
Toasted Banana Bread ($12++): I've heard so much about this banana bread that I decided to get it, despite me not being a fan of bananas. While I wasn't 100% convinced of its hype, it's still a good slice of banana bread, with it being moist and quite rich in flavour. What I love most is the yogurt! It's all made in house and it's got a little tinge of sourness. The caramelised bananas were quite nice too. And as usual, something crunchy to add to the whole dish is the toasted macademia nuts. Great combination overall and I swept the plate clean (especially of the yogurt)!

 
Lokal Lobster Roll ($22++): My friend tried this Lobster Roll which is made up of slipper lobster tails, gherkin (pickled cucumber), coleslaw, lemon mayonnaise and served with twister fries. The lobster meat was fresh, but a bit overpowered by the coleslaw and mayo. That said, I think they should adjust the ratio of lobster meat to other ingredients, because it feels like you're eating much more salad than the meat itself. But it's priced reasonably so maybe that's why...?

If I come again I may try their sandwiches, which I heard are not bad too! They have a separate menu for dinner and weekend brunch.
Supplementary Information:
Good place for brunch
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Toasted Banana Bread
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0