OpenRice Index
  
toroamtheworld
This is toroamtheworld . Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Bakery, Café and Pasta, Buffet , Desserts and Cakes.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review26 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity165 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos187 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant26 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲11 Follower(s)
toroamtheworld  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 26 Reviews in Singapore
Food Review: Bread Yard Smile Jan 09, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-bread-yard.html

 
Bread Yard is a simple cafe selling sandwiches and all-day brunch dishes. It used to be located in the SUTD temporary campus in Dover Road which I've visited before, but has since shifted to Fusionopolis. The interior is quite small, in fact fewer seats and more cramped than their previous space.

 
Candied Bacon and Grilled Cheese Pancakes ($9): Two thick stacks of fluffy pancakes served with grilled cheese sticking to the sides of the pancakes, a fried egg and candied bacon on top. The cheese was ooey and gooey and a real delight to chew on! The strips of candied bacon were a delicious too, although being salty as usual but it had some sweetness to it too. You can also tell from the photos that the pancakes were really fluffy. It was a great combination of sweet and savoury.
Thick layers of pancakes sandwiched with a fried egg

Thick layers of pancakes sandwiched with a fried egg

 
The food has maintained their standard as in the previous location and I'm so glad they've continued to offer quality food at affordable prices. They are just a minute away from one-north MRT exit B so kudos to the convenience!

 

 

 
Supplementary Information:
Good food at reasonable prices. Try to avoid the lunchtime or less be prepared to wait long!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Candied Bacon and Grilled Cheese Pancakes
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $9

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: The Pizza Collective Smile Jan 09, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta

For the full review, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-pizza-collective.html

Have you ever wanted to build your own pizza? Here at The Pizza Collective, it is precisely what you do! But wait, the best part? There are UNLIMITED TOPPINGS you can pile onto your pizza! All for the same price - $12 nett.

*Disclamer: I lost a lot of photos that I took during this visit and could only find these few... So sorry we just have to make do with these... sad sad

 
First, you choose the dough base - original or herb. Second, you choose the cheese - mozarella, ricotta or brie (can't remember if it's brie). This part onwards it's unlimited already, so if you'd like to have all 3, that's fine! Third, the veggies. There were capsicum, mushroom, zucchini, cucumber, cheery tomatoes etc. Fourth, the meat - ham, roasted pork belly (wow), teriyaki chicken and one or two more. The variety may not be thaaat great, but hey, for unlimited toppings, I think it's good enough! Last but not least, pick a sauce!

The chefs will build the pizza for you as you pick and choose the ingredients and go down the line. Then you'll receive a number tag and wait for your pizza to be ready.

 
Build-your-own-pizza ($12): My pizza was herb base, with lots of mozarella and some ricotta, zucchini, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, ham and BBQ sauce. The size of the pizza is about 7" to 8", and there is only one size. It was so good! The ingredients were fresh the pizza dough was the flat kind, though not crispy. Each pizza is cut into 8 slices, but I got quite full towards the last two haha.

 
There are other set meals like those that come with a cold drink ($14), hot drink ($13) etc. They do have a few fixed flavours and creations of their pizza, ranging from the savoury to the sweet! So you'll definitely have a wide variety of pizza flavours to choose from. (:

 
Supplementary Information:
Highly recommended to come with friends or family so you can have fun choosing what goes into your pizza and experimenting with different combinations
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $12

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: Five By Five Smile Jan 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-five-by-five.html

 
Five By Five is a relatively new cafe opened by the same guys behind November 8 (now defunct), but at a space just below the latter's unit. The interior design is every Instagrammer's dream - white tiles, marble table tops, light-coloured wooden chairs, and unpolished cement floors. Plus the abundant natural lighting completes the checklist of beautiful photos!
White walls, natural lighting - an Instagrammer's paradise

White walls, natural lighting - an Instagrammer's paradise

 
Forgot the price, ordered by my friend

Forgot the price, ordered by my friend

 

 
For the drinks, I can't remember what they were, although the green ones are obviously matcha, because my dining partners ordered it.

 
5by5 Breakfast ($15.50): The usual big breakfast plate, with eggs (sunny or scrambled, of which we chose the latter), chorizo sausage, bacon, honey ham, mushroom and tomato, served on toast and greens by the side. The eggs were very runny and silky, while the bacon and sausages were a bit salty as usual. Mushrooms and tomatoes were fresh and juicy!

 
Miso Roasted Pork ($16.50): Slow roasted pork belly with Japanese Miso seasoning, served with orzo rice pasta with greens by the side. The pork belly was tender and well marinated. The orzo, which was a kind of short-cut pasta, reminded me of the rice in Briyani haha. Overall this dish was not bad.

 
Waffles with 3 scoops of ice cream ($17.80): I felt the waffles could be a little lighter and crispier. But I enjoyed the Durian and Ferrero Rocher ice cream (last flavour was Thai Milk Tea). Also, I think it's pricier than it could have been.

There's nothing wrong with this cafe, but there's also nothing outstanding of it either. Food was alright, the ice cream and waffles weren't that mindblowing either. But I guess if you're in the area and bored of the usual Upper Thomson offerings, you can try out this place!

Food was alright, worth going if in Thomson area.
Food menu (1)

Food menu (1)

 
Food menu (2)

Food menu (2)

 
Ice cream flavours

Ice cream flavours

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: Kokomama Marketplace OK Jan 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Fusion | Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-kokomama-marketplace.html

Kokomama is a casual eatery on the first floor of SOTA. The prices on the posters were affordable and the food looked not bad, so we went in to try.

 
Volcano Chicken Rice Bowl ($7.90): Their rice bowl series allow you to choose a side serving of sauce - chilli crab, mushroom or curry. My friend chose the first one. She said the chicken was quite tender and the sauce was nice. But it wasn't a very outstanding dish.

 
Tuna Mayo Panini ($7.90): My friend said this was comparable to Subway. Hahaha.
Student price at $7.90

Student price at $7.90

 
Ham and Mushroom Baked Rice ($9.90): Under the student meal, you get it at a discounted price ($7.90) plus a drink, of which I chose ice lemon tea. The rice was flavourful and there were sufficient portions of ingredients given! It was also cheesy enough for me.

This place really stands out on its affordable food. Taste wise some were good, some ordinary. But they really serve a wide variety of food: baked rice, curry rice, Japanese rice bowls, ramen, pasta, sandwiches, Bingsu and even homemade artisan breads! Plus they are very accessible.
Stretchy cheese!

Stretchy cheese!

 
Supplementary Information:
Food was average, but justifiable for the affordable pricing.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ham and Mushroom Baked Rice
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $8

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: The Benjamins Cry Jan 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Bakery | Café | Kids-Friendly

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2016/01/food-review-benjamins.html

 
The Benjamins, formerly known as Benjamin Browns, is a cafe in Forum the Shopping Mall. A few months ago they shot to fame with their Over-The-Top (OTT) milkshakes, which are milkshakes with many ingredients and snacks piled on top such that it's nearly overflowing.

 
Nutella Banana Milkshake($16++): One of their bestsellers, this milkshake has Khong Guan-like biscuits layered with banana slices, cream, Tim Tam inside, a wedge of chocolate cake, and Nutella smeared on the rim to hold the pretzels there. The milkshake was rich, decadent and definitely a chocolate lover's dream. However, as you can see from the picture, it was hard to drink and start eating the ingredients!

 
Strawberry Cheesecake Milkshake ($16++): This milkshake was also milky and creamy, but I couldn't taste any sort of cheesecake flavour in the drink. So I guess the 'cheesecake' comes from the wedge of cheesecake on top, together with the Khong Guan biscuits, cream, strawberry, Tim Tams and wafer sticks.

 
Crabmeat Arriabiata Linguine ($23++): Unfortunately this dish failed to impress. There was little crabmeat, and because of that, it made the dish seem like an ordinary plate of Spaghetti Bolognese...

 
Fish and Chips ($23++): It was such a small and skinny serving of fish. And it came with a scant portion of salad, some fries, and sour cream. I didn't manage to try this from my friend, but even if it was really delicious, I'd rather order something else that's more worth my penny.

 
300g Sizzling Beef Chunks ($25++): It comes with roasted baby potatoes and melted cheese on tomato. The beef chunks were really juicy and flavourful! They were chewy yet had a nice bite too. Very tasty, and this is what I call value for money.

 
The Benjamin burger with bacon, eggs, cheese and mushroom ($25++): The beef patty was shaped in a ball, not the flat kind that's about the same circumference as the burger bun. As a whole it was quite tasty, the beef well cooked. But it wasn't very outstanding either.

Overall, for the milkshakes, I think they taste ordinary. It's definitely the presentation that creates the wow factor. And actually, $16++ for a cup of this is very expensive! Food wise it was disappointing. For the prices that you pay, you'd expect a certain quality and portion of the food, but it certainly fell short.
Food menu

Food menu

 
Drinks menu

Drinks menu

 
Supplementary Information:
Used the Entertainer App so it was less costly. Food needs to be improved while milkshakes can be tried once.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0