OpenRice Index
  
toroamtheworld
This is toroamtheworld . Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Bakery, Café and Pasta, Buffet , Desserts and Cakes.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review26 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity165 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos187 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant26 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲11 Follower(s)
toroamtheworld  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 26 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant | Burgers and Sandwiches | Pizza

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/12/food-review-nassim-hill-bakery-bistro.html
At the back of Tanglin Post Office, facing the drop-off point

At the back of Tanglin Post Office, facing the drop-off point

 
Nassim Hill Bakery is a cafe by day and bar by night, though they do serve proper food at all times. It's located at the back of Tanglin Post Office and right outside the drop off point for cars.

You can find their menu at their website http://nassimhill.com.sg

 
Steak and Eggs ($23+): A 150g grilled ribeye steak topped with two sunny-side up eggs, served with their homemade entrecote sauce. The steak was juicy and very flavourful and not too uncooked for my liking.

 
Mac and Cheese ($18+): This is macaroni baked with creamy bechamel sauce and four cheeses. Even though it was just plain Mac and Cheese, no other ingredients, it was superbbb. The cheese was so tasty and rich, probably because four types of cheese are used here. The portion was just nice, deliberately smaller so you don't feel jelat halfway.

 
DIY Steak Sandwich ($22+): The grilled US Angus ribeye steak with balsamic onions are placed beside the toasted ciabatta cut smaller for easier consumption, and it's up to you how you wanna pair both together and eat it. The was good as usual, same as the Steak and Eggs! The ciabatta was crispy and somehow the kind that you won't get full very easily.

 
Cheddar Cheese Bacon Waffles ($19+): Cheddar cheese and bacon bits are baked into their signature waffles, and served with a side of bacon and chive sour cream. The waffles were really crispy. The cheese inside wasn't the gooey kind, but I could still taste it together with the bacon bits. The bacon on the side was nicely grilled too.

 
Nassim Hill Bakery is a good place to go for delicious food, and they have quite a wide variety of drinks too. Their Happy Hour promotion of 1-for-1 draught beers lasts the whole day from 9am to 9pm.
Supplementary Information:
Sometimes they have credit card promotions of 1-for-1 mains, so do look out for that!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mac and Cheese,Cheddar Cheese Bacon Waffles
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 16, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: The Dessert Project Smile Dec 30, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/12/food-review-dessert-project.html

The Dessert Project is an ice cream parlour located in an unassuming HDB void deck in Tiong Bahru. It's not at the hipster/gentrified enclave where Tiong Bahru Bakery is, but towards Havelock Road/Bukit Ho Swee that side. They are surprisingly surviving despite being in a mature neighbourhood!
Price does not include additional scoop of ice cream

Price does not include additional scoop of ice cream

 
Nutella Toast ($14.90): I forgot the exact name of the dish, but it comes with vanilla ice cream, Ferrero Rocher ice cream, whipped cream, and drizzled liberally with Nutella sauce. We ordered an additional scoop of Pistachio ice cream. The ice cream flavours were pretty rich, especially the Ferrero Rocher and Pistachio. The toast was very crispy, light, fluffy and buttery! It was very fragrant and it didn't feel gelat at all.
Fluffy innards of the thick toast

Fluffy innards of the thick toast

 
I definitely think the thick toasts here deserves more than a try. But share it with at least one person! The shop owners are friendly and readily give recommendations. Can tell they take pride in their interesting ice cream flavours and everything else that they do. (:
Supplementary Information:
Yummy thick toasts, interesting range of ice cream flavours
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nutella Toast
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 04, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: Group Therapy Coffee Smile Dec 28, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.sg/2015/12/food-review-group-therapy-coffee_83.html

Group Therapy Coffee is one of the pioneer third-wave coffee cafes to sprout up in Singapore. One or two years ago, they opened another branch in Katong V, and a sister cafe called Regoup x Scoop Therapy. I went to the first one at Duxton, and it is located on the second storey of a shophouse.

 
Organic Granola and Muesli ($12): This was crunchy and good and I love the balance of the sweet berries and the yogurt! Don't think this is Greek yogurt but I'd like it better if it is.

 
Poached Eggs ($17): Essentially an Eggs Benedict, this was two poached eggs atop a bed of smoked salmon, gruyere and thick toast. The eggs were wonderfully runny and the smoked salmon was fresh and quite generous.

 
Bacon and Mushroom Aglio Olio ($16): It was very flavourful and they were also generous with the ingredients! The serving was big so it'll definitely fill up those hungry folks out there! But as with any Aglio Olio, this was rather oily too.

 
Linguine Bolognese ($16.50): This was another huge plate of pasta. It came with minced beef, onions, carrots, tomatoes herbs and parmesan cheese atop the heap of linguine below. My friend said it was good, but not extraordinary.

 
Steak and Cheese Pie ($16): The lean beef cubes were sufficiently tender, combined with the melted cheddar cheese... Mmm so good! Plus the shortcrust pastry was not too thick so you don't get full just on carbs. The serving may look small but my guy friend found it just nice. Oh and it comes served with a side salad and some chips.

 
Overall Group Therapy Coffee does its food well. Although it's not that cheap since most dishes are above the $15 mark, the portion and quality of food justifies the price. They have free Wifi too so if you come during off-peak hours, you'll have a conducive environment and nice ambience to do some work!

 

 

 

 

 
Supplementary Information:
A bit pricey but portions somewhat justifies the price
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Poached Eggs,Bacon and Mushroom Aglio Olio
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 30, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $16

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: Nunsongyee 눈송이 Smile Dec 27, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Café | Desserts and Cakes

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/12/food-review-nunsongyee.html

The Bingsu craze has taken over Singapore by storm a few months back. But now, there are still Bingsu shops popping up, and I wonder how they are gonna fight the competition... Nunsongyee has been doing well though, as it has opened three branches within its first 10 months here.

I went on 3 separate occasions, each time ordering something new. The below are all that I've tried so far.

 
Injeolmi Bingsu ($12.90): This is kind of like their original flavour of Bingsu - chopped almonds with soy powder and rice cakes. The soy flavour was quite strong.

 
Strawberry Bingsu ($15.90): You can't go wrong with strawberries, can you? This was satisfying - the strawberries sweet and the shaved milk soft and fluffy.

 
Cheesecake Bingsu ($15.90): This is one of my favourite of the lot! It's served with real cheesecake cubes and finely crushed digestive biscuits. It's really like eating a cheesecake, because you've got the crumb base and the cheesecake itself, plus the additional shaved milk! The best part is that in the middle of the bowl they layer more digestive biscuits too, so fret not about finishing the toppings!

 
Black Sesame Bingsu ($18.90): Recommended as one of their signatures, this Bingsu is served with a big scoop of red bean paste instead of the usual ice cream, plus almond flakes, black sesame powder and more rice cakes. I don't like black sesame so this naturally wasn't my favourite...

 
Oreo Bingsu ($12.90): Once again, the finely-crushed Oreo bits are not only found at the top, but in between the soft, fluffy shaved ice too. Below is actually more milk (wondering if it's condensed) because it gets a bit sweeter at the bottom. So, once you've dug a path downwards, try to mix it with the top layer so it doesn't get too bland at the start.

 
Choco Banana Bingsu ($13.90): It comes with two sticks of Pepero and a squeeze of caramel sauce and sliced almonds atop the ice cream. The interesting thing is that at the bottom, instead of the suspected condensed milk, there is something that tastes somewhat like Milo? It could be that the chocolate powder mixed with the milk below hence giving such a flavour haha.

I love the Bingsus here as they are very soft and really melts in your mouth. It's nothing like the coarse ice from ice kachang and they are indeed fine like snow! Although there is condensed milk served at the side, I don't think it's necessary to pour it in because I'm comfortable with the sweetness level. Prices are a little on the high side (especially the $18.90 ones) so I recommend the ones at a lower price range, which are equally yummy and satisfying! Service was good as the Korean shop owners and assistants were friendly!
Supplementary Information:
Come in a big group so you can order more to share!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cheesecake Bingsu,Oreo Bingsu,Strawberry Bingsu
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 17, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $6

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: OMB (Oh My Bacon!) OK Dec 25, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

For the full review or more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/12/food-review-omb-oh-my-bacon.html
One can easily spot the colour storefront from afar

One can easily spot the colour storefront from afar

 
OMB stands for 'Oh My Bacon', and no prizes for guessing what they specialise in! Yeap, almost all their dishes have bacon incorporated, from the usual pasta, breakfast plate to more unconventional ones like bacon ice cream (say what?) and desserts.

 
The interior is playfully decorated with bacon figures and cartoons, plus the mismatched furniture brings out the lively and quirky style in this cafe.

 
Bacon Bomb ($28): This consists of pork, beef, bacon and cheese all rolled into one, and served with mashed potatoes and a few leaves below. It's one giant roll so it's good for two persons to share. However, it was a little hard to share because once we sliced it open, everything seemed to fall apart! Taste wise I felt like there was a lot going on. There was the bacon, beef etc, and they didn't go that well together. Or maybe it's cos I'm not really a meat person so I can't appreciate the flavours all at once...? Otherwise it's a perfect dish for carnivores out there!

 
The Cure ($21): It's more like the usual Big Breakfast plates that most cafes offer, but this one here has a bit more ingredients: sausage, bacon, potatoes, mushrooms, eggs (scrambled or sunnyside) and waffles or pancakes. It also comes with a small cup of maple syrup and butter. I love the waffles as it was crispy and not doughy. All the other ingredients were alright, nothing spectacular. Nothing stood out much for me here.

 
Beef and Bacon Cheeseburger ($17): This was a beef patty with bacon, lettuce, tomatoes and pickles served in toasted sesame buns, with a side of paprika fries. My dining partner said it tasted ordinary, only slightly better than the run-of-the-mill fastfood burgers.

 
Bacon Love, Truly ($15): This is essentially a BLT. You can choose between classic, candied or spicy bacon, and it is served in pita bread smothered with bacon jam. We went with candied bacon for this sandwich and it was sweet just right. I was hoping they could spice up this sandwich a bit more, because otherwise it's like a Subway sandwich?

 
Waffles with Bacon Ice Cream ($14): As mentioned earlier the waffles were of a good texture, light and crispy and not doughy. The bacon ice cream tasted a bit salty (must be from the bacon haha) but it was injected with bacon bits here and there, which tasted like bak kwa! Haha but this is indeed a unique flavour.

 
Jekyll and Hyde (6 for $12): These are bacon strips dipped in white and dark chocolate. It really was a good combination of sweet and salty! I preferred the dark chocolate as it was slightly less sweet. A good dessert to end the meal!

Overall I think OMB is creative with its bacon-inspired food. It doesn't have GST or service charge too. But it has to work harder to improve the taste and quality of the food, otherwise it'll just be quite ordinary.

 
Nice mural

Nice mural

 
Supplementary Information:
Plus points for its bacon-inspired theme, but quality of food needs to improve
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bacon Bomb,Jekyll and Hyde,Waffles with Bacon Ice Cream
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 30, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $16

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend