OpenRice Index
  
toroamtheworld
This is toroamtheworld . Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Bakery, Café and Pasta, Buffet , Desserts and Cakes.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review26 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity281 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos187 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant26 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲11 Follower(s)
toroamtheworld  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 26 Reviews in Singapore
Food Review: Toby's Estate Smile Dec 23, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Café

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/12/food-review-tobys-estate.html

Besides coffee, Toby's Estate serves up delicious brunch food too. I really appreciate their all-day breakfast because this means you can have it on weekday lunches too! (They're closed at night.)

 
Eggs Benedict ($19): One of their most common orders, this Eggs Benedict came with smoked salmon and a side of mixed greens. It was executed perfectly, with the egg yolks runny and flowy with a small slit from the knife. The two eggs were sitting atop a thick slice of brioche. I would have preferred if there was a bit more smoked salmon though.

 
Toby's French Toast ($14): This French Toast is made up of a slice of eggy bread topped with green apple slices, berries, and espresso bacon. The bread was soft and indeed the eggy-custardy taste was there. The bacon sounded interesting with the word 'espresso' there, but I felt it tasted like ordinary bacon...? Nevertheless it was a good combination of sweet and savoury. The berry compote was tangy too, which I like to eat with the bread.

Overall, I love this cafe the most for its ambience! It's really very relaxing, regardless of whether you're sitting indoors or outdoors. There's free Wifi here so it's also conducive to do work (during off-peak hours). Their food is delicious too, though a bit pricey given the atas location.
Supplementary Information:
Very nice ambience for brunch or for whiling your afternoon away!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Eggs Benedict Rodyk Style,Toby's French Toast
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 02, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/08/food-review-roosevelts-diner-and-bar.html

At the ground floor of apartment Dorsett Residences, Roosevelt's Diner and Bar is conveniently located outside Outram Park Exit H. The interior is spacious and I love the high ceilings that give that relaxing and cool vibe. I was here to try their new weekend brunch menu.

 
Brioche French Toast Waffles ($14++): This is actually a brioche bun soaked in Amaretto-laced moisture, and then pressed into the waffle machine. So you get this bun-c**-waffle creation! The texture quite dense to me - well, rightly so I guess since it's not your normal waffle batter. For people who don't like bread, perhaps you should stay away from this, because you'll complain that it's too gelat. But I enjoyed the combination of everything - I tasted a bit of cinnamon which was just right to go well with the mixed berries sauce. And with that Vanilla ice cream, how can it go wrong?

 
Spiced Potato Bacon Hash ($16++): This dish consists of spiced potato, bacon, poached egg and served with house-made tomato relish. Even though I don't like potato and hence the dish wasn't my top favourite, I have to say that the potato was delicious and the spices sure did give it lots of flavour. A tip: break the poached egg and mix everything up together.

 
Crab Cake Benedict ($21++): A more unique twist to the classic (and perhaps overdone) Eggs Benedict, this one replaces the usual ham/smoked salmon/mushrooms with crab cake! It's served on english muffins and with a thin layer of garlic mayo, plus a side salad. The eggs were runny and nicely poached. But I can't quite get the taste of the crab cake... Except its saltiness.

 
BBQ Baby Back Ribs ($22++): Even though I'm not a meat person, I was delighted that the meat fell off the bone with one slice of the knife/fork! It was tender, not too salty and oh-so-good with the BBQ sauce! And I like the accompaniment of the corn salsa too!

 
Breakfast Waffle Candied BLT ($14++): Essentially all the breakfast items sandwiched between two crisp layers of waffles. And it was so delicious! It sounds like a very plain idea but the tastes, aesthetics... all worked for me. On the whole it was a bit salty but I guess cos there's bacon. But I still love this dish - and oh yes, the waffles! It didn't turn soggy despite the many fillings inside. And you'll think that you'll feel gelat since it's waffles right? But no, it filled me up just fine!

 
Apple Berry Crumble ($10++): All my favourites in this dessert. Muesli and berries crumble mixed with some apple slices and then topped with vanilla ice cream, this was polished clean!

All in all the newly introduced food in the weekend brunch menu are worth a try. Some dishes are rather unique, like the Brioche French Toast Waffle and Spiced Potato Bacon Hash.
Supplementary Information:
Good place for brunch or group gatherings
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Brioche French Toast Waffles,Breakfast BLT Waffle,BBQ Baby Back Ribs,Apple Berry Crumble
 
Date of Visit: Apr 27, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Western | Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/06/food-review-fabulous-baker-boy.html

The Fabulous Baker Boy is located at the foot of Fort Canning Park, directly opposite Liang Court. Cross the road from Liang Court and walk in from the carpark entrance. It's been around for a few years already, but about a year ago, they installed aircons and made the whole cafe indoors instead of having only alfresco dining. A very good move, I'd say, because it's perpetually HOT here!
Rows of cakes!

Rows of cakes!

 
Boy, are they really serious about their cakes! That's 11 different kinds of cakes right there! Plusplus 5 more inside the fridge just beside the cake rows! 

 

 
Pancakes with Cheese ($12++)
They have a few types, with strawberries, with blueberries or with cheese. I thought the latter was the most unconventional so I decided to try it. Wow, the fragrant smell of the pancakes wafted to my nose before the three big and fluffy were presented right in front of me.
The cheese was stuffed in the pancake batter and it was rich in flavour! But the downside is that it makes you feel full very fast. I stopped at 2 pancakes because of that + I just had to leave some stomach space for the cakes!! Oh and it got a little bit dry afte a while so some maple syrup would come in handy.

 
Beef BBQ Grilled Cheese Sandwich ($13++)
Triple cheese grilled sandwich filled with smokey BBQ beef brisket
This is a fine example of a sandwich done right. The beef was not too tough, plus the cheese was just ooey gooey and yum! And there, the toast, was nice and crispy! What an all rounder. Well if I had to pinpoint, it would be that they gave a bit too much toast because there were carbs leftover heh.

 
Strawberry Shortcake ($8.50++)
This was a weekend special so we thought we should order it. Initially I was scared off by the thick layer of cream. But when I sliced my fork through the (very tall) cake, I realise it's actually cream cheese, which was delightfully light! The sinful-ness meter just went down a few notches hah. Frosting aside, the sponge cake was also light and just the right sweetness, and went hand-in-hand with the strawberry cream. Both of us like this cake!

 
Blueberry Lemon Cake ($8.50++)
Blueberry is my favourite food so I was kinda attracted to this cake. Plus the light blue frosting was so pleasing to the eyes! I know it's just food colouring but I thought the flavour is relatively uncommon so I suggested trying this.
Hmm I thought this cake tasted a bit oiler and sweeter than the first cake. Well ok yeah because of that it was also more moist. But we still prefer the first cake.

Overall, the food is of good quality. I really want to return to try more of their cakes! The ambience became better ever since they converted an alresco-dining style to all indoors in the comfort of airon.
Supplementary Information:
Nice place for brunch and definitely their cakes!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pancakes with Cheese,Beef BBQ Grilled Cheese Sandwich
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 12, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/06/food-review-park-at-holland-village.html

A cafe by day and bar by night, PARK is a relatively quieter spot away from the enclave of bars on the other side of Holland Village.

 
Truffle Fries ($11++): My friend redeemed this from the Sugar app and she loved it. I didn't try because I don't eat fries but this is one of their famous dishes so you may want to order it.
With sliced turkey ham and cream truffle

With sliced turkey ham and cream truffle

 
Truffled Mac and Cheese ($13.20++): PARK is known for this dish and I now understand why. It was really cheesy and creamy (almost like a soup) and the portion was just nice. I couldn't taste much truffle though.
With sauteed prawns and poached egg

With sauteed prawns and poached egg

 
Mentaiko Cream Pasta ($18.90++): This is yet another of their signatures and it was good! Prawns were fresh and the cream based pasta was flavourful. However the hefty price tag makes me reconsider having this again...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Supplementary Information:
Cafe by day, bar by night. Try their signature dishes and it should be alright.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Truffle Fries,Truffled Mac and Cheese,Mentaiko Cream Pasta
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 13, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food Review: Whisk and Paddle Smile Jun 24, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/06/food-review-whisk-and-paddle.html

A relaxing cafe with good food and a good view to boot, even better if you come in the evenings. Spacious cafe grounds adds to the ambience too!

 
We came on a weekend evening and the weather was perfect for alfresco/outdoor dining! Especially given that they are situated right beside the park connector and Punggol Reservoir.

 
Mac and Cheese ($12.80++): Very tasty and cheesy, but was not that overwhelming to make me feel jelat.

 
Carbonara ($13.80++): This was ordinary, nothing much to rave about. But note that this is the less creamy and soupy version, aka the traditional Italian one.

 
Eggs Benedict with Honey Baked Ham ($13++): The eggs were a disappointment because it was overcooked and the yolks didn't flow. But the waffles stole the show instead with its light and crispy texture!

 
Very spacious with one or two tables for larger groups

Very spacious with one or two tables for larger groups

 
This was separate from their food menu, believed to be relatively new additions

This was separate from their food menu, believed to be relatively new additions

 
Supplementary Information:
Good food and even better ambience!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mac and Cheese,Waffles
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 10, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0