OpenRice Index
  
nekyouto
This is nekyouto living in Tiong Bahru. I am a Developer, work in Bukit Panjang. I like to hang out in Chinatown, Paya Lebar, Tiong Bahru. Japanese, Indian, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Coffeeshop, Hawker Centre and Curries, Dim Sum, Ramen, Spicy Stuff.
Member 6 First(s)
No. of Review31 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity139 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos60 Photo(s)
Upload Videos1 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲23 Follower(s)
nekyouto  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 31 Reviews in Singapore
Not just Pasta and Sausages... Smile Oct 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

This would be my first visit to the new shopping mall 'Jem'. Rather than walking around the shopping mall aimlessly, I was actually invited to a food tasting event at a 'European Restaurant'. And the following are the list of items that we have tasted that day. lol

 

 

 
'Roasted Pork Knuckle (Half)' served with Sauerkraut, Light Brown Sauce and Mashed Potato
'Pork Knuckle', a difficult delicacy to savour. So why is it a difficult delicacy? While trying out the 'Pork Knuckle' that different types of restaurants are offering, I find the part of cutting the extremely crispy skin to be the most annoying. Some of the 'Pork Knuckle' out there in the market are as hard as a rock and the dining experience could easily turn into an unpleasant one. As for the 'Pork Knuckle' over here, they have nicely sliced it up into small slices, which makes it much more easier to be shared among a group of friends. Although I find parts of the skin to be a bit too tough, but the meat is pretty tender and it goes well with all the side dishes.

 
'CurryWurst'
Though it's known as 'CurryWurst', it's actually 'Bratwurst'(a type of German Sausage) topped with 'Curry Powder', 'Ketchup' and 'Onions'. The 'CurryWurst' were crispy on the outside and it's juicy, bouncy and tender on the inside. On top of that, the nice mixture between the taste of the 'Curry Powder' and the 'Sausage' is heavenly and it's worth a big (+). Fries wise, isn't something special, but you can dipped it in the sauce to enhance the taste of the fries even further.

 

 
'Baby Scallop & Flying Fish Roe - Squid Ink Sauce'
This is a plate of 'Black Coloured Pasta' topped with Japanese 'Hotate'(Scallop). Though the overall texture of the 'Pasta' is slightly a bit oily, but the overall taste is pretty interesting. In fact, there's a mix of butter and squid ink in every single bite, which is amazingly interesting. tongue

 
'Apple Crisp'
Probably because I'm not a big fan of chocolate, therefore out of all the desserts that I have tried over here, I find the taste of this to be the best. It's a slice of apple pie topped with a scoop of 'Vanilla' ice cream and sweet 'Caramel' syrup.

For a much more detailed review and more photos, do visit:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2013/10/not-just-pasta-and-sausages.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roasted Pork Knuckle,CurryWurst,Baby Scallop & Flying Fish Roe - Squid Ink Sauce
 
Date of Visit: Oct 05, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Pawn to Checkmate Smile Oct 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

 
Prawn Noodles - S$3

Depending on my mood, sometimes I will go for the Dry version and sometimes I will go for the Soup version of the 'Prawn Noodles'. For a start, ingredients like 'Prawns'(Of course lah), 'Meatballs', slices of 'Fish Cake', 'Beansprouts', 'Kang Kong' and few slices of 'lean meat'. If you are into spicy stuff, the dry version of the 'Prawn Noodles' over here can really be very spicy. Besides for the powderish 'Chilli Powder', you can also add the 'sliced chilli', which can really spice up the overall taste of this dish to the MAX and that's where the bowl of non pepperish, tasty soup steps in. lol The reason why I keep going back for more 'Prawn Noodles' was mainly due to the fresh ingredients and the tasty soup that they are offering over here. On top of that, the stall owner is pretty polite and he keeps saying 'Thank You' for patronising his stall and he really puts his heart in ensuring the quality of the delicious bowl of 'Prawn Noodles' that will be delivered to all the customers everyday. smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Prawn Noodles
 
Date of Visit: Jul 21, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

水粿 - ABC? (A Broken Chinese) Smile Oct 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

 
S$2.40 for 8 pieces.

Everyone has a different way of judging a good 'Chwee Kueh'. Some goes for the 'Dried Radish', some goes for the texture of the 'Chwee Kueh', some goes for the 'Chilli' and some of them would be looking at the combination of all 3 factors. As for myself, I go for the chilli of the 'Chwee Kueh' and the chilli that they are offering over here are fantastic and I love it... The crunchy and generous portion of 'Dried Radish' and the soft 'Chwee Kueh' are a big (+) too.

Even though, the overall taste of the 'Chwee Kueh' have dropped over the last 20+ years, but it's still remains to be pretty good. And I can empty the whole plate of 'Chwee Kueh' and all the ingredients effortlessly.

However, I still prefer the taste back then where 'Chwee Kueh' were once offered at a price of S$1 for 5 pieces and Tiong Bahru Market used to be a wet market. tongue
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chwee Kueh
 
Date of Visit: Jul 21, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Thai Food Feast... Smile Sep 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Kids-Friendly

I have been invited to a food tasting event at this Thai restaurant in Katong area. Even though I'm late for the event, but I still managed to reach the place as they were about to dig into the first dish...

 
'Dry Curry Pork' - S$8
This would be my favourite dish that night. Although, it's given the name 'Dry Curry Pork', but in actual fact the succulent 'Pork' have this nice aroma and taste of good 'Curry'. On top of that, the bite size pieces of 'Pork' not only makes it easy to chew, it also acts as a pretty good finger food too. lol

 
'Claypot Tung Hoon Prawn' - S$16
This is actually very good. The 'Tung Hoon'(Vermicelli) is pretty moist and even though it's dark in colour, it's not too salty. Too bad, I have to keep a bit of space in my stomach for the desserts, else I would have emptied the whole claypot of 'Tung Hoon' within minutes. By the way, there's lots of prawns inside this small little pot of 'Tung Hoon' too. lol

Click here for more photos and a detailed review:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2013/09/thai-food-feast.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Dry Curry Pork,Claypot Tung Hoon Prawn
 
Date of Visit: Sep 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

This is one of the places that I have been visiting for the past few years for delicious and affordable western food. Best of all, they won't charge you the ridiculous 10% service charge at some of the branches, unlike some other restaurants that will charge you a 10% service charge when they have absolutely no services at all. I still remember that they only used to have a branch at Katong only, but over the past few years, they have been opening a branch after another and now I could say that they were widely spread around Singapore.

 
Crispy Fried Chicken with 2 Side-dish(Potato Salad and Mashed Potato)
Most of the main dishes at Astons will come 2 side dishes. In fact, sometimes for the sake of the good sides dishes, rather than placing an order for the 'Double Chicken Set', I would place an order for 2 different types of 'Chicken set meal' and that would give you 4 side dishes to choose. The 'Potatoes' in the 'Potato' salad are crunchy and nice, in comparison the 'Mashed Potato' are gluey and yummy too. In fact, I have tried most of the side dishes over here and most of them are pretty yummy and delicious. Even though the 'Crispy Fried Chicken' is succulent and crispy, but when you are comparing it with the side dishes, the amount of excitement that I'm getting from the side dishes are far more than the main dish. tongue

Click here for more photos and a detailed review:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/07/astons-good-and-delicious-western-food.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mashed Potato,Potato Salad
 
Date of Visit: Jul 10, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0