OpenRice Index
  
nekyouto
This is nekyouto living in Tiong Bahru. I am a Developer, work in Bukit Panjang. I like to hang out in Chinatown, Paya Lebar, Tiong Bahru. Japanese, Indian, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Coffeeshop, Hawker Centre and Curries, Dim Sum, Ramen, Spicy Stuff.
Member 6 First(s)
No. of Review31 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity139 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos60 Photo(s)
Upload Videos1 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲23 Follower(s)
nekyouto  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 31 Reviews in Singapore
Dim Sum is meant for Supper? Smile Aug 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

Probably, during different parts of the day, one would try to eat different kinds of food. As for me, eating Dim Sum in the middle of the night was quite an interesting experience. Usually, Dim Sum were the kind of food that you would eat for Breakfast but eating it for supper was a completely different experience for me.

 
After I have given the 'Carrot Cake' over here a good try, I have been a big fan of this 'Dim Sum' place for at least 3-4 years. The 'Carrot Cake' not only come with a generous portion, the fragrance and the taste are fantastic too and the nice crispy texture would be something that one could look forward to.

The 'Yang Chun Mian' over here would be something that I would highly recommend too. The Noodles are handmade by one of the chefs over here and it's pretty chewy and springy. Even though it doesn't come with a lot of ingredients, but it's definitely something that the Noodles lovers shouldn't miss.

By the way, the 'Har Gao'(Shrimp Dumplings) over here are a big (+) too. The amount of fresh prawns added into the 'Dim Sum' are extremely generous. I wonder why didn't the prawns burst out of the Dumplings itself. By the way, one thing that I like about the 'Har Gao' over here would be the nice balance between the skin and the ingredients used in the process of making this 'Dim Sum'.

(However, too bad that have impose the additional charges into the dine-in 'Dim Sum' orders already. I kinda miss the cheap 'Dim Sum' that they were offering back then.)

Click here for more photos and a more detailed review:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/07/dim-sum-is-meant-for-supper.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Carrot Cake,Yang Chun Mian,Shrimp Dumplings
 
Date of Visit: Jul 02, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Time to Spize Up... Smile Aug 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Halal

 
Chicken/Mutton Murtabak
Not only the Murtabak that they are offering were pretty generous in terms of the size and the ingredients that they had stuffed inside, almost every single bite comes with a good mixture of vegetables and meat, which makes it ultra yummy.

 
This drink is a combination of the following, Chinese tea, lime and lemon slices. Trust me, it's a drink that you must try when you are going there for the first time. Although it's pretty sour but it's super refreshing too. lol

Click here to find out more about my food journey @ Spize:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/07/spize.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ice Teh 'O' Limau,Murtabak,
 
Date of Visit: Jul 01, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

This is currently my favourite Japanese Ramen stall in Singapore.

 
'Nama Karashi Ramen'
For the soup base, rather than using the common strong salty Pork Broth, they are using Chicken Broth over here.

 
There are using the thinner type of Ramen noodles over here too, which is one of my favourite type of Japanese Ramen noodles.

 
On top of that, the Ramen Egg, 'Ajitsuke Tamago' that they are using over here are one of the best in Singapore. The half boiled egg yolk + the boiled egg white combination makes this a must try. And if you are lucky enough, you might be getting a generous thick slice of 'CHar Siew' too.

Actually, I would order a bowl of 'Nama Karashi Ramen', 'Ajitsuke Tamago' and 'Kaedama'(Adding an extra portion of Noodles) twice, whenever I visit Marutama Ramen Store. Some would ask, why do I order Kaedama twice when a bowl of Nama Karashi Ramen is sufficient for an average person. Actually, for the Marutama Ramen Store at Liang Court, you will be given a free topping after you had Kaedama twice. Without thinking, I would always order for an extra piece of "Char Siew".

Click here for a more detailed review and photos:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/07/singapore-most-delicious-ramen-marutama.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nama Karashi Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Jun 29, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

I have been eating the 'Fishball Noodles' over here ever since I was a kid. As for the reason why, it's pretty straightforward.

 

 
'Fishball Noodles' - $2.50
For a start, the stall owner has added the correct amount of sauce into the bowl of 'Kway Teow'. After you stir the 'Kway Teow' thoroughly, the taste of the bowl of 'Kway Teow' are heavenly. And that's just the beginning... The stall owner are making all the fishballs himself and all of them are pretty bouncy and fresh. On top of that, these delicious 'Fishballs' doesn't come with the fishy smell at all. By the way, the stall owner over here always serve a generous portion of ingredients, which is an ideal place for big eaters like me. lol

 
By the way, here's a photo of the stall itself.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fishball Noodles
 
Date of Visit: Jun 19, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $3

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

One of the best of it's kind... Smile Aug 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles

Ever since I have given the 'Laksa' over here a try, the thought of the delicious 'Laksa' have been floating inside my mind. If anyone wants me to recommend good 'Laksa', I would strongly encourage them to give this a try.

 
Here's my order that day, a bowl of Laksa with Chicken, Cockles, Fried Bean Curd and Prawns.

 
So what makes this 'Laksa' so special?
For a start, the soup itself is superb. It comes with a nice blend of sweet coconut milk and a strong taste of prawns. On top of that, the 'Laksa' over here isn't too spicy too. Even though I have gone for the thicker 'Rice Vermicelli', but texture of the 'Rice Vermicelli' doesn't ended up to be too soggy. In fact, it have absorb the greatness from the 'Laksa' gravy, which makes it pretty Yummy. Even though the fresh 'Cockles', slices of 'Chicken', and 'Prawns' are pretty delicious, they can't hold a finger against the cooked crispy 'Fried Bean Curd' that submerged into the 'Laksa' gravy itself and yet, it still can sustain the crispy texture which makes it super delicious. smile

For full review and more photos, please visit
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/06/wei-yi-laksa-at-tanglin-halt-market.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Laksa
 
Date of Visit: Jun 14, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0