OpenRice Index
  
nekyouto
This is nekyouto living in Tiong Bahru. I am a Developer, work in Bukit Panjang. I like to hang out in Chinatown, Paya Lebar, Tiong Bahru. Japanese, Indian, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Coffeeshop, Hawker Centre and Curries, Dim Sum, Ramen, Spicy Stuff.
Member 6 First(s)
No. of Review31 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity139 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos60 Photo(s)
Upload Videos1 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲23 Follower(s)
nekyouto  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 31 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

One doesn't need a reason to fall in 'Love' with the Japanese food that they are serving at 'Tonkichi'.

 
For a start, the 'Tonkatsu' set meal over here comes with free flow of 'Cabbages' and 'Rice'. Secondly, all the various types of 'Tonkatsu' that they are serving over here are pretty crispy and succulent. And even though the 'Tonkatsu' sauce is relatively sweet, it can actually blend with the taste of the 'Tonkatsu' nicely.

 
Best of all, the fried 'Oysters' that they are serving over here taste pretty much the same as those that I have eaten in 'Japan'. It simply reminds me of the delicious 'Hiroshima' Oysters. lol

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Any Tonkatsu Set Meals
 
Date of Visit: Jun 15, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cream Puff from Beard Papa Smile Jul 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bakery

 
This is how the stall looks like. It's located on level 3.

 
The 'Mango Yogurt Cream Puff' over here comes with a not so hard and not so soft texture, a fluffy interior topped with a nice aroma of 'Butter'. As for the filling inside, the sweet and refreshing 'Mango Yogurt' is delicious and cooling.

In fact, I have eaten the 'Cream Puffs' of 'Beard Papa' as I was travelling in Japan back then. The way that they are selling the 'Cream Puff' over here are pretty much the same as those in Japan. After a customer place an order for a 'Cream Puff', they will pick up one of them and inject a generous portion of fillings into it. In other words, you will be getting lots of fresh cream inside the 'Cream Puff' itself. There is this amazing sense of happiness, when I was savouring the nice 'Cream Puff'.

For full review and more photos, please visit
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2013/07/cream-puff-from-beard-papa.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cream Puff
 
Date of Visit: Jul 27, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

This is currently my favourite Japanese Ramen stall in Singapore.

 
'Nama Karashi Ramen'
For the soup base, rather than using the common strong salty Pork Broth, they are using Chicken Broth over here.

 
There are using the thinner type of Ramen noodles over here too, which is one of my favourite type of Japanese Ramen noodles.

 
On top of that, the Ramen Egg, 'Ajitsuke Tamago' that they are using over here are one of the best in Singapore. The half boiled egg yolk + the boiled egg white combination makes this a must try. And if you are lucky enough, you might be getting a generous thick slice of 'CHar Siew' too.

Actually, I would order a bowl of 'Nama Karashi Ramen', 'Ajitsuke Tamago' and 'Kaedama'(Adding an extra portion of Noodles) twice, whenever I visit Marutama Ramen Store. Some would ask, why do I order Kaedama twice when a bowl of Nama Karashi Ramen is sufficient for an average person. Actually, for the Marutama Ramen Store at Liang Court, you will be given a free topping after you had Kaedama twice. Without thinking, I would always order for an extra piece of "Char Siew".

Click here for a more detailed review and photos:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/07/singapore-most-delicious-ramen-marutama.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nama Karashi Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Jun 29, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

One of the best of it's kind... Smile Aug 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles

Ever since I have given the 'Laksa' over here a try, the thought of the delicious 'Laksa' have been floating inside my mind. If anyone wants me to recommend good 'Laksa', I would strongly encourage them to give this a try.

 
Here's my order that day, a bowl of Laksa with Chicken, Cockles, Fried Bean Curd and Prawns.

 
So what makes this 'Laksa' so special?
For a start, the soup itself is superb. It comes with a nice blend of sweet coconut milk and a strong taste of prawns. On top of that, the 'Laksa' over here isn't too spicy too. Even though I have gone for the thicker 'Rice Vermicelli', but texture of the 'Rice Vermicelli' doesn't ended up to be too soggy. In fact, it have absorb the greatness from the 'Laksa' gravy, which makes it pretty Yummy. Even though the fresh 'Cockles', slices of 'Chicken', and 'Prawns' are pretty delicious, they can't hold a finger against the cooked crispy 'Fried Bean Curd' that submerged into the 'Laksa' gravy itself and yet, it still can sustain the crispy texture which makes it super delicious. smile

For full review and more photos, please visit
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/06/wei-yi-laksa-at-tanglin-halt-market.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Laksa
 
Date of Visit: Jun 14, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

An unexpected journey ...? Smile Jul 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery

Found this new place at Clementi that sells relatively affordable and delicious buns. For a start all the fluffy buns come with a generous portion of fillings. On top of that, they also have...

 

 
'Golden Sands Bun'(黃金流沙包)
The sweet and salty taste of this bun is deliciously wonderful. Just be careful with this bun and don't let the 'gold' flow out of
the bun and get wasted.tongue


For full review and more photos, please visit
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2013/07/an-unexpected-journey.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Custard Bun,Butter Bloom,Golden Sands Bun
 
Date of Visit: Jul 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0