OpenRice Index
  
nekyouto
This is nekyouto living in Tiong Bahru. I am a Developer, work in Bukit Panjang. I like to hang out in Chinatown, Paya Lebar, Tiong Bahru. Japanese, Indian, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Coffeeshop, Hawker Centre and Curries, Dim Sum, Ramen, Spicy Stuff.
Member 6 First(s)
No. of Review31 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity137 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos60 Photo(s)
Upload Videos1 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲23 Follower(s)
nekyouto  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 31 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

 
Peanuts(花生)+ Preserved Vegetables(梅菜) + Youtiao(油条)

 
Ya Hua Bak Kut Teh(亞華肉骨茶)

Although, Bak Kut Teh in Singapore is slightly a bit costly, but after tasting and trying numerous Bak Kut Teh stores in Singapore, this is one of the better ones. The service provided by the place is considerably good as compared to the other Bak Kut Teh stores. For example, the waitress would top up the soup of the Bak Kut Teh automatically, topping up of the soup is free and the best part is the Bak Kut given in each bowl of Bak Kut Teh was fantastic. Even though the soup had a lot of pepper in it, I still managed to empty the soup of the Bak Kut Teh a few times.

For full review and more photos, please visit
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/07/bak-kut-teh-old-time-favourite.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bak Kut Teh
 
Date of Visit: Jul 08, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dim Sum is meant for Supper? Smile Aug 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

Probably, during different parts of the day, one would try to eat different kinds of food. As for me, eating Dim Sum in the middle of the night was quite an interesting experience. Usually, Dim Sum were the kind of food that you would eat for Breakfast but eating it for supper was a completely different experience for me.

 
After I have given the 'Carrot Cake' over here a good try, I have been a big fan of this 'Dim Sum' place for at least 3-4 years. The 'Carrot Cake' not only come with a generous portion, the fragrance and the taste are fantastic too and the nice crispy texture would be something that one could look forward to.

The 'Yang Chun Mian' over here would be something that I would highly recommend too. The Noodles are handmade by one of the chefs over here and it's pretty chewy and springy. Even though it doesn't come with a lot of ingredients, but it's definitely something that the Noodles lovers shouldn't miss.

By the way, the 'Har Gao'(Shrimp Dumplings) over here are a big (+) too. The amount of fresh prawns added into the 'Dim Sum' are extremely generous. I wonder why didn't the prawns burst out of the Dumplings itself. By the way, one thing that I like about the 'Har Gao' over here would be the nice balance between the skin and the ingredients used in the process of making this 'Dim Sum'.

(However, too bad that have impose the additional charges into the dine-in 'Dim Sum' orders already. I kinda miss the cheap 'Dim Sum' that they were offering back then.)

Click here for more photos and a more detailed review:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/07/dim-sum-is-meant-for-supper.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Carrot Cake,Yang Chun Mian,Shrimp Dumplings
 
Date of Visit: Jul 02, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sometimes, a change is needed :D OK Aug 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vegetarian

If you have been having a lot of heavy meals for the past few days, you should consider giving vegetarian food a try. Not only the appearance looks pretty much the same as the genuine thing, the taste of it are pretty much the same too.

 
'Vegetarian Laksa'
I don't know how the chef manage to do it, but the taste of the soup of the laksa were pretty close to those that I had tried outside in the hawkers. (However, it would be great if they can remake the taste of the cockles. tongue)

For more photos and full review, please visit
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/07/sometimes-change-is-needed-d.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Laksa
 
Date of Visit: Jul 02, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $4

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Time to Spize Up... Smile Aug 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Halal

 
Chicken/Mutton Murtabak
Not only the Murtabak that they are offering were pretty generous in terms of the size and the ingredients that they had stuffed inside, almost every single bite comes with a good mixture of vegetables and meat, which makes it ultra yummy.

 
This drink is a combination of the following, Chinese tea, lime and lemon slices. Trust me, it's a drink that you must try when you are going there for the first time. Although it's pretty sour but it's super refreshing too. lol

Click here to find out more about my food journey @ Spize:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/07/spize.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ice Teh 'O' Limau,Murtabak,
 
Date of Visit: Jul 01, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

This is currently my favourite Japanese Ramen stall in Singapore.

 
'Nama Karashi Ramen'
For the soup base, rather than using the common strong salty Pork Broth, they are using Chicken Broth over here.

 
There are using the thinner type of Ramen noodles over here too, which is one of my favourite type of Japanese Ramen noodles.

 
On top of that, the Ramen Egg, 'Ajitsuke Tamago' that they are using over here are one of the best in Singapore. The half boiled egg yolk + the boiled egg white combination makes this a must try. And if you are lucky enough, you might be getting a generous thick slice of 'CHar Siew' too.

Actually, I would order a bowl of 'Nama Karashi Ramen', 'Ajitsuke Tamago' and 'Kaedama'(Adding an extra portion of Noodles) twice, whenever I visit Marutama Ramen Store. Some would ask, why do I order Kaedama twice when a bowl of Nama Karashi Ramen is sufficient for an average person. Actually, for the Marutama Ramen Store at Liang Court, you will be given a free topping after you had Kaedama twice. Without thinking, I would always order for an extra piece of "Char Siew".

Click here for a more detailed review and photos:
http://nekyouto-food.blogspot.sg/2011/07/singapore-most-delicious-ramen-marutama.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nama Karashi Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Jun 29, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0