OpenRice Index
  
hburn10
This is hburn10 living in Hougang/Kovan. I am a Executive, work in Eunos. I like to hang out in City Hall, Clarke Quay, Orchard. Italian, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Pasta, Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review6 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity30 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos34 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
hburn10  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 6 Reviews in Singapore
Happy Hour!  Smile Aug 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges

I first discovered this palce via a e-mailer from Les Amis and have since recommended other friends to go there too. This place has such a nice chill-out vibe which makes going with friends or otherwise very condusive!

The address is misleading as it says level 2 but if you know the area well enough, its actullay on ground level on the slope leading from the Scotts taxi stand.

The draw of this place is its Happy Hour which is from 5-8pm with house wines at $8nett. Selected bar bites are also on promotion from 6:30pm-8pm at $8 nett. The wines are always nice, and the bites although portions a little small, nonetheless tasty.

Potato croquette ($8) - smallish deep fried mashed potato pieces which are thankfully not oily and makes a good filling snack which may substitute for dinner for small eaters. Ask for some sauces to go with it as it otherwise can be quite boring.

Spicy chicken drumlets ($8)- I love these drumlets! Totally not oily at all, and deep fried to a delightful spicy-ish crisp. Super moreish and adds a bit of protein for the happy hour. I do feel the portions can be bigger though, as its only 4 drumlets which means each is $2.

Wines ($8) - I've always gone for the white which is served very chilled and quite easy to drink even for beginners. Rose and red are also available but have not tried them. They have a menu board which tells you what wines are being served but doesn't matter for me as long as they're easy to drink.

The only drawback is that the space is really small and fills up quite quickly - so go early or call to book a table. For those who are looking for more than just bites, you can also order from the neighbouring Bistro Du Vin but orders take some time to arrive.

This is going to be my new hangout haunt for quite some time!
Drinks!

Drinks!

 
Menu

Menu

 
Happy hour menu

Happy hour menu

 
Potato croquette

Potato croquette

 
Seats

Seats

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Happy Hour
 
Date of Visit: Aug 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great value for a promotion! Smile Aug 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel

I had the opportunity to be entitled to their facebook promotion - buy main course and get free dessert plus unlimited wine (after 6pm daily except Tue and Fri) - what's not to like! So 3 of us made our way down on a Saturday evening expecting a crowd because of the promotion but were surprised.

Casserole is on level 3 and the lobby is on level 5 - take note. The name Cassrole actually doesnt quite hint of its morrocan / indian / Med cuisine but doesnt matter - we were there for the food.

The menu is not big, with most mains hovering around $30 - $45 which was unexpectedly affordable for a Shangri-La. We had 3 mains:

Crabmeat Masala ($30) - this was interesting combi of crabmeat - and it is really a huge dome of densely packed crabmeat - and some morrocan spices. The cashew nuts mixed into the meat provided a very nice crunch to the dish. It wasnt as savory as I expected it to be though. I would think this makes a a terrific paste on plain bread and toasted.

Curry chicken ($30) - obviously this is not the actual name on the menu: I forgot what is was so I had to randomly give a layman name. It came in a big pan of about 8 large pieces of chicken (de-boned), sitting in a pool of thick curry. For some reason, the dish is more sweet than savory but nonetheless the chicken was tender and very more-ish.

Morrocan baked fish ($30) - The smallest portion of the lot but the fish was super fresh. The accompanying sliced veg was crunchy, and the slightly tangy broth was very re-freshing.

Garden salad - this is served at all tables complimentary. I thought it was rather nice of them to make a proper salad than giving you the usual garden greens in thousand island - this had carrot, olives, rocket leaves, cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, spinach, all tossed in a vinegrette sauce. And they make this on a side bar so you know where your salad comes from.

Dessert - the promo was supposed to come with dessert too but the chef apparently couldnt decide what to serve us so we were simply asked to help ourselves at the Silver Shells Cafe dessert buffet spread next door which worked for us.

Wines - they do really live up to the promo, although there was an initial confusion if we were entitled to wine at all. But there were no problem after all and they keep piling us with wine, both white and red. The wine was not the best I've had but with the promo, I'm not complaining.

It was a evening well spent, and each of us had at least the equivalent of 1 bottle of wine each. All in all, the bill was $101 for 3 of us - a deal you'd never ever get anywhere. Oh, and they have ice plastic to chill the wines instead of an ice bucket - very cute touch.
Menu

Menu

 
Salad

Salad

 
Food~

Food~

 
Chickem~

Chickem~

 
Desserts

Desserts

 
Chill Bag

Chill Bag

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Crabmeat Masala
 
Date of Visit: Jul 06, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Seafood | Buffet

I had the opportunity to eat breakfast here during my staycation and I have to concur and say it is truly the most expansive (and expensive!) hotel buffet breakfast I have ever tried.

I started eating at 830am for 2 whole hours and yet did not manage to try everything - and I doubt anyone can. The selection is huge - Chinese, western, indian, korean, Japanese, local, breads, waffles & pancakes, fresh juices, cuppucinos & lattes etc. It is mind boggling how much food is there and how must goes to waste after that. Almost everything was of above average quality.

I'm just not sure if it is worth just going there to eat unless you're an in-house guest and your room includes breakfast, as it costs $46 ($56 after ) per pax on its own. Its almost too luxurious for breakfast.
Egg station

Egg station

 
All wiped out

All wiped out

 
Crackers

Crackers

 
Condiments

Condiments

 
Noodle station

Noodle station

 
Bread station

Bread station

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Buffet breakfast
 
Date of Visit: Jul 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $56(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good for a promo~ OK Aug 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet | Brunch

I've always wanted to try The Kitchen Table but never had a chance to until I found out that they have a 1-4-1 buffet dinner promotion for SPG members. So my and 3 other frens trotted all the way in - the promotion is only valid for more than 1pair if you have more than 1 SPG membership.

The place was smaller than I thought - seafood, sushi, cold cuts / salads / appetizers, indian, western / pasta, and chinese noodle / soup. And it being a weekday it was not as empty as I thought it would be.

Seafood - a smallish almost hidden counter but fresh seafood. Usual suspects like oysters, prawns, mussels, clams, lobsters were all good.

Cold cuts / appetizers - The salads didnt leave a very big impression on me as they were quite medicore eg tuna, mushrooms salads. But they had about 3 variety of cold cuts including parma ham which were quite nice.

Indian - made to order naans, chicke tikka, curries and lentils etc which were all good.

Pasta - I headed straight for the made to order pastas instead of the handful of western buffet choices - you can basially take your pick of ingredients eg veg, sausages, and type of pasta, then choose the type of sauce you want. Very nice!

Chinese - Soups and noodles available but I only had the soup - Pork rib and winter melon soup which was superb.

Desserts - Very prettily arranged like a showcase of 3 'cabinets' and had rather good variety but quality wise was just okay. Strangely enough, the tiramisu had almost no sponge fingers nor any cocoa powder on top.

Coffee - the buffet comes with coffee / latte / cap / tea - the cap was quite nice and did not taste like it came out of a Nestle machine.

Honestly, I would not have recommended this place without the SPG promotion as I think $65 per pax is too ex for the variety and quality. But paying $33 with the promo is definitely worth it!
Bread station

Bread station

 
Indian condiments

Indian condiments

 
Indian station

Indian station

 
Desserts

Desserts

 
Seafood

Seafood

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  NA
 
Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $38(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice food with nice prices~ Smile Aug 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

This was a dinner choice for a casual night with some friends and I'm glad I made the decision to book prior - was surprised there was a wait for table on a weekday evening!

The usual Ambush styple for deco but slightly different from its Plaza Sing outlet - casual vibes and wooden furnitutre.

German style potato pancake (rosti) ($7.50) - I liked this as its plain and simple but some commented that it was too thin.

Mini sausage platter ($8.80) - grilled mini chicken garlic and chicken cheese sausage with mustard and brown sauce dip - Good for sharing (and with some beer!) - the sausages were nicely warm from the grilling and goes very well with the mild mustard.

Baby scallop and flying fish roe - squid ink sauce ($14.80) - My main course which I struggled to finish. Plenty of fresh scallops with a heap of linguini which was just nicely al dente for me. Squid ink itself doesnt have any taste but I choose to believe it was healthy - which I read somewhere...but not a good dish for a date!

Crispy chicken and seaweed - alio olio ambush style ($13) - Very good - so much so I wish I had ordered this. The ambush style alio olio was very tasty with mild spicy seasoning, the chicken was not oily and the seaweed sprinkled over the top added a nice taste to the whole dish. Big porton too.

Paella seafood ($14.80) - Slightly disappointing after the excellent pasta dishes. While the seafood was fresh and quite a generous portion, the rice was too soggy for my liking and the tomato sauce tasted just medicore.

Cauliflower soup & ice tea ($5.50) - You can add this to any main course, but I'll advise against it if you get Cauliflower soup like us. No hint of the veg at all - basically we can only tell it's a cream soup, that's all.

Service was quite prompt despite us sitting in a corner. Wil definitley return for their mussels next time!
Mini sausage platter

Mini sausage platter

 
Cauliflower soup

Cauliflower soup

 
Rosti

Rosti

 
Crispy chicken & seaweed alio olio

Crispy chicken & seaweed alio olio

 
Seafood paella

Seafood paella

 
Scallops Squid ink

Scallops Squid ink

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Crispy chicken & seaweed alio olio
 
Date of Visit: Aug 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0