OpenRice Index
  
ikuan
This is ikuan living in Woodlands. I am a Admin, work in City Hall. Japanese, Cantonese/Hong Kong, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Seafood, Steaks and Grills, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review11 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity57 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos71 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant3 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲41 Follower(s)
ikuan  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 11 Reviews in Singapore
The Bark Cafe OK Dec 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Seafood | Burgers and Sandwiches

This is a place definitely worth it to visit even though it may be a challenge for many to find the venue. But any place that serves good food is worth that occasional taxi trip I guess.

An open concept dining place, don't expect to have the air-con treatment but with the multiple huge fans all around, you will not feel the heat.

The place is big enough for parties up the size of 150, so I would recommend families who are planning a small party and would like to have a huge space to move around, there is even a stage with sound system available. Just check with the manager.

Food wise, we ordered a simple salad which tastes superb on its own. My personal recommendation would be the Tau Hu Goreng and Sliced Beef. It's definitely the top pick of the cafe.

Or if you are not that hungry, then order the equally nice chicken wings and just relax for the afternoon with a cup of tea or coffee.

Besides the cafe is a museum that exhibits some prison artifacts and information. Would be a great chance to just pop by and learn a bit more.

 

 
Salad

Salad

 
Tau Fu Goreng

Tau Fu Goreng

 
Chicken Wings

Chicken Wings

 
Beef

Beef

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tau Hu Goreng, Sliced Beef
 
Date of Visit: Oct 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Arashi Yakiniku Japanese Grill Smile Dec 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | BBQ

Looking for really nice Japanese Grill? Look no further! This newly opened (in their 3rd month of business) at Boat Quay offers top grade Japanese Grill at an affordable price.

Like all grills, one of the headaches we all face was the after-smell on our clothes after the entire meal. But here at Arashi Yakiniku, the boss brought in the latest grill stove from Japan which is smoke-less and practically leaves no trace of BBQ smell on you when you leave. Superb!

With the minute detail put aside, the main question is the quality of the food.

The restaurant offers both Japanese Wagyu Beef and Australian Wagyu Beef, from the usual Tenderloin to Ribeye to Sirloin, the meat are all grade A4. The highest grade for beef is A5, which upon earlier reservation, the restaurant is also able to offer to customers. That is how good a meal you are paying for.

Besides that, the Japanese Kurobuta (Belly and Collar) are both amazing too. Coming from a person who don't really fancy pork, I was totally blown away by how nice the pork belly was. The tenderness and the subtle oil melting in the mouth was too nice to properly describe in words. You got to try it to understand.

Seafood is also part of the menu, offering Scallop, Squid and Tiger Prawns. A good variation from all the meat.

If you wish to try chicken, then order the Momi Tare Chicken for only $9.80 (good for at least 3 pax). What I like about all the grills was the slice of pumpkin that came along with it. If you have never tried grilled pumpkin like me, then you would be surprised how good it taste, especially with so much meat.

Last but definitely not least, the other side dishes you can order, or as the boss recommended, the 'cooked food'. Arashi Kaisen Salad (Seafood salad), Asari Miso Soup (Clam miso soup), Gindara Nitsuke (Cod fish), Tempura, Ninniku Gohan (Garlic fried rice), Arashi Mango Pudding.
Arashi Kaisen Salad (Seafood Salad) - $15.80

Arashi Kaisen Salad (Seafood Salad) - $15.80

 
Japanese Tenderloin - $68.80

Japanese Tenderloin - $68.80

 
Tempura Moriwase - $23.80

Tempura Moriwase - $23.80

 
Japanese Sirloin - $88.80

Japanese Sirloin - $88.80

 
Japanese Kurobuta Collar - $20.80

Japanese Kurobuta Collar - $20.80

 
Arashi Mango Pudding

Arashi Mango Pudding

 
Momi Tare Chicken - $9.80

Momi Tare Chicken - $9.80

 
Squid - $6.80 / Tiger Prawn - $12.80 / Scallop - $12.80

Squid - $6.80 / Tiger Prawn - $12.80 / Scallop - $12.80

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Japanese Wagyu Beef,Japanese Kurobuta,Ninniku Gohan,Tempura Moriwase,Asari Miso Soup
 
Date of Visit: Dec 02, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Verandah Contemporary Bristo Smile Oct 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Café

 
Curry Chicken

Curry Chicken

 
Cafe Latte

Cafe Latte

 
Kids' Meal - Sausage Set

Kids' Meal - Sausage Set

 
Kids' Meal - Fish Set

Kids' Meal - Fish Set

 
Mushroom Linguine

Mushroom Linguine

 
Beef Hor Fun

Beef Hor Fun

 
Tom Yum Seafood Linguine

Tom Yum Seafood Linguine

 
Usually when we visit a tourist attraction, it was expected to pay for expensive and not so nice food. But it was a different case at Verandah situated in Gardens by the Bay.

This restaurant is a fushion of local and western food. Set in the midst of a garden, the place did well to deco the place sort of like a park feel, with air-conditioning. The place has a very homely feel, bright and clean.

As for the food, it was surprisingly nice! My definite recommendation would be the Curry Chicken and Tom Yum Seafood Pasta. Each set of food is about $10-15, quite reasonable for such a place and quality of food.

Special mention to the kids' menu, it was served in a very cute lunch box, much to the delight of my 2 girls. Which probably helped them to be more enthusiastic to finish their meals.

Latte was not bad, sitting a restaurant like this definitely is able to enjoy a nice afternoon.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fukuya Japanese Restaurant Smile Oct 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen | Sushi/Sashimi

Zensai ($10.80) – Seafood Mayo on Fresh Salad

Zensai ($10.80) – Seafood Mayo on Fresh Salad

 
Sashimi ($68.80) – Fukuya Tokusen Platter (7 kinds)

Sashimi ($68.80) – Fukuya Tokusen Platter (7 kinds)

 
Dobin Mushi ($10.80) – Teapot Soup

Dobin Mushi ($10.80) – Teapot Soup

 
Yakimono ($20.80) – Gintara Mentaiyaki

Yakimono ($20.80) – Gintara Mentaiyaki

 
Fukuya Aburi Sushi Mori ($28.80)

Fukuya Aburi Sushi Mori ($28.80)

 
Menrui ($26.80) – Fukuya Seafood Ramen

Menrui ($26.80) – Fukuya Seafood Ramen

 
turbot fin muscle

turbot fin muscle

 
Kyoho Ice Cream ($8.80)

Kyoho Ice Cream ($8.80)

 
Japanese food is not difficult to find in Singapore, but to find one that serves really fresh Japanese sashimi with an affordable price is not easy.

Fukuya is not the best Japanese Restaurant in Singapore, even the Chef will tell you that. And after tasting one of the best in Tokyo Japan, I can only say very few can be comparable. But what stood out besides the few dishes I will be recommending is the first-class service from the staff. Right from the start, how attentive the staff were in refilling the tea pot with hot green tea, removing the plates when we are done, up till the Chef himself coming out frequently to ensure we had a pleasant dining experience, this is something rare in current service line. I would give a 4.5/5 for service.

As for the food, my personal favourite is the Dobin Mushi, simply because this is my first time trying the teapot soup, and tho there was dry oyster (which I generally dislike), the taste came out very well, I actually finished the entire pot of soup.

Ramen was special, cos it's not your usual pork base soup but rather a deep broth of veg soup. Very different but not too bad. Portion is huge enough for 2 pax to share.

Sashimi is nice. Fresh and sweet. That's all you need to ask for!
 
Date of Visit: Oct 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Halal

 

 
Fried Chicken Biryani

Fried Chicken Biryani

 
Nann

Nann

 
Bandung

Bandung

 
It is not called Famous for nothing. Probably the best Biryani ever tasted. The Fried Chicken is done to perfection, but the main deal is the Rice! The special long grain used for Biryani, this is the best rice possible for this dish. The fragrance is undeniable. And for less than $10, the portion is big enough for lunch (which is usually the time I go).

Next up is the Nann. Some say the simplest dish is at times the most difficult to prepare. The Nann doesn't look spectacular, but the taste is first class. Not too thick or thin, the dough was done till almost a crispy pull.

The environment is simple and gives the feeling of a rustic Malay Kampong. Finish off the meal with a glass of Bandung, excellent!
 
Date of Visit: Aug 10, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0