OpenRice Index
  
wenzes
This is wenzes .
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review19 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity791 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos634 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant47 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5969 Following
粉絲2614 Follower(s)
wenzes  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 19 Reviews in Singapore
Good but didn't wow Smile Jan 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Ramen

black spicy ramen

black spicy ramen

 
There were 3 levels of spiciness to choose from - Red, black and white. I tried the Black Spicy Ramen which was a peppery and spicy mix for broth. The noodles were tangy and the pork slices were soft and tender but I would have liked the yolk of the ramen egg to be a tad more underdone.

I must say that with practically the entire foodie world raving about Ramen Keisuke Tonkotsu King's ramen, I'd heightened my expectations and was looking forward to be blown away by its flavours. While the bowl of ramen was undoubtedly good, I was pretty disappointed that it didn't surpass.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Spicy Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Jan 15, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Generous servings! Smile Jan 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Salads

 
Toss & Turn is one salad shop I would go to on days I feel the need for a healthy punch during lunch. You can create your own salads here at $7.80 for a small serving and $9 for a regular. Difference being half the size and 2 less vegetable add ons. Fair warning, the regular salad is huge and their servings are beyond generous.

You can also choose from their line of salad combinations but it's always nice to be able to decide what exactly goes onto your plate.

I had a regular salad here, which was made up of:
1 Salad base - Cold pasta
ted Chicken & Sauteed mushrooms
4 Veggie/Crunchies - Wasabi sprouts, Cherry tomatoes, Beans & Almond flakes

Then you get to top it up with sauce, of which I chose Honey mustard.

The end product was extremely flavouful though I did find the roast chicken to be a bit dry. Also, $7.80/$9 stands pretty steep for a salad (which was why I chose noodles instead, to try and get my money's worth) but having said that, I would still head here for my salad fix in town. It pays to be/feel healthy.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $9(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

Though Koh Grill & Sushi Bar is slightly hidden at the same level as Food Republic, there's no need for an introduction to this popular Japanese restaurant with a signature like the Shiok Maki ($16.80). It now comes in 2 versions - The first being "Generation 1" with unagi and of course, the 2nd generation featuring prawns, which we had.

What the Shiok Maki comprises of:
shiok maki

shiok maki

 
Avocado and prawn bits are wrapped around by seaweed, with an outer bed of rice (of course). Then, aburi salmon is draped over the top, slathered with a thick cheesy mentai dressing and finally topped with bursts of tobiko. As with many others who would highly recommend at least one order of the Shiok Maki when you're here, same for me. It's definitely a must-try, especially for those with a weakness for cheese. It comes in a great sharing portion too - 8 pieces of maki, unless you're made up of an odd number. Then, fight for it.
bento set I : sashimi moriawase

bento set I : sashimi moriawase

 
Besides that perfect starter, I had a lunch set - Bento I ($14.90), which was basically Sashimi Moriawase with sides of rice, miso soup and a salad. Compared to the Shiok Maki, the bento set was a letdown. While the sashimi slices (salmon, tuna and yellowtail) were generous in terms of thickness, I really wish the portions were larger (3 each). As for the soup and salad, they were pretty standard.

In conclusion,
I don't know about their other food offerings like Ramen and grilled items but I wouldn't be particularly happy to order Bento I again. My colleague had Bento A, which had a far bigger portion of salmon sashimi slices (five). But of course, the Shiok Maki was a pleaser and I would certainly return for that again.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Shiok maki
 
Date of Visit: Jan 20, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Waffle with Ice Cream! Smile Dec 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

 
The Daily Scoop is my go-to place for ice cream whenever I'm in Holland Village. And it's always crowded at night with their limited seats available.

We had the waffle with a scoop of Nutty Macadamia to share, which came drizzled with chocolate sauce. While we wished there had been more sweet lines of chocolate lashed over the dessert, the waffle carried a good texture and was firm to chew, and went really well the the creamy yet refreshing notes of the ice cream.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great unwavering standards Smile Dec 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

Every time I head to Ice Edge Cafe, I settle for the same thing - Aglio Olio and a Belgium Dark Chocolate Gelato. This time, I had a quick lunch and tried something new (to me).

 
The Crab Bisque was thick with a generous amount of shredded crab meat blended in and over the top -- A bowl just so comforting on that cold rainy day.

 
While the Salmon Baked Rice didn't look like much, underneath that crusted cheese was a pretty satisfactory mix of rice and baked salmon, which was moist enough so that a spoonful of cheese, rice and salmon harmonized well.

 

 
For dessert, we tried the Lava Cake (but I'll be back for their infamous waffles). The thing I appreciate about Ice Edge Cafe is their unwavering standard and attention to details like this. The Lava Cake took a while to prepare and although the chocolate didn't ooze out as much as I'd hoped, the taste was pretty phenomenal. You get to choose the flavour of Gelato that comes with the Lava Cake, so we chose one that would pair well with the immense load of chocolate on the other side of the plate - Cookies & Cream. A good choice we made, I must say.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lava Cake, Gelato
 
Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0