OpenRice Index
  
feleats
This is feleats . Korean, Thai, Chinese, - are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café, Hawker Centre, - and Sushi/Sashimi, Pasta, Ramen, -.
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review8 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity149 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos435 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant7 My Restaurant(s)
Follow118 Following
粉絲114 Follower(s)
feleats  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 8 Reviews in Singapore
Carne & Caipirinha OK Mar 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Latin American/South American | Steaks and Grills | BBQ | Buffet

Carne & Caipirinha is a Brazilian churrascaria in Singapore that uses charcoal fire for roasting quality meats. The usage of charcoal fire not only retains the rich flavours of the meat but also delivers the charred smoky taste. How appealing! A meal here comes buffet style, featuring a self service salad and starters bar to accompany your never-ending supply of meat.
You will be spoilt for choice at the salad and starters bar! If you want to feel less sinful, help yourself to the lettuce with various dressings for you to choose from, although this isn’t really the place for it. Otherwise, hop over the starters side and pick out whichever that catches your eye — sauteed vegetables, grilled corn, green olives, coleslaw, mushroom with onions, mixed fruits, potato & egg and more. The selection is just endless! Traditional Brazilian Feijoada, a type of black bean stew, is also available at Carne & Caipirinha. This is stewed together with some pork and it was easy to eat with the soft textures.
As attractive as the salad and starters bar might be, remember to save lots of stomach space for the main character of the night — the slow roasted meats! A disc will be available to every diner. You can flip it to the “Yes, please” side and the servers will offer you the skewers. But if you would like to take a break, you can turn it to the “No, thanks” side that signals them to stop!
These are the meats available — Pork (sausage, belly, rib, ham), Lamb leg, Chicken (thigh, fillet wrapped with bacon, heart), Beef (rump cap, rump, hump, rib), Fish and Grilled Pineapple. What a hearty selection!
The highlights for me were the pork ham, chicken thigh and grilled pineapple! The chicken thigh was beautifully roasted with a brown glazed skin, yet retaining the moisture and tenderness on the inside. Perhaps it’s the nature of thigh meat being more tender, but it was definitely a crowd pleaser amongst us! The pork ham was flavorful and tender, and contrasted well with the rest of the roasted meats. After all that meat indulgence, a piece of sweet juicy and tangy roasted pineapple definitely served as a good break. It came with thin layer of slightly charred exterior and beneath that was where all the goodness was. The warm pineapple was a great way to end off the heavy meal!
More at https://feleats.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 17, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Burp Kitchen and Bar OK Mar 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

Burp Kitchen and Bar, located next to Bedok Reservoir with seating for 30, serves up a wide variety of American grub. You would be happy to know that there is no GST and service charge at Burp! Serving not just the typical burgers and fries, Burp seeks to introduce a local twist to their food. Riding along the recent food trend, Burp has been experimenting in the salted egg space! During the tasting, we managed to try a few of them such as salted egg fries, salted egg wings and salted egg burger (WHAT?), along with various other dishes.
Out of the many dishes that we tried, my favorite would be the Baja Fish Tacos and Crabby Patty Burger.
Baja Fish Tacos (SGD12)
The Baja Fish Tacos have a generous amount of fried fish, coleslaw, salsa fresca and spicy mayo served with corn chips at the side. That fried fish was the star of the dish — fried to a golden brown yet so juicy and tender on the inside. The thickness of the fish makes this even more enjoyable as you can definitely have plenty of fish in every bite. Even though this was the last dish of the night and I was somewhat full by then, I couldn’t resist more helpings of it! The zesty apple slaw and salsa was tangy and made great pairings with the fish tacos.
Crabby Patty Burger (SGD18)
This is no ordinary soft shell crab burger — it is a salted egg soft shell crab burger! The Crabby Patty Burger has a whole fried soft shell crab as the “patty” with salted egg sauce drizzled over it and sandwiched between two squid ink buns. How innovative! The buns had no distinct taste, but the combination was great for me. Fried food and salted egg sauce, what could go wrong? This would be the choice for you if you’re looking for an alternative to the usual beef patty burger. However, it comes at the price tag of $18 which I find to be on the expensive side.
Under the “Bar Grub” menu, we tried the Salted Egg Tofu Fries, Salted Egg Wings, Burp Kitchen Wings and Chicken Quesadilla.
Salted Egg Tofu Fries (SGD8)
Tofu fries? That’s a first for me! Tofu cubes are being cut into strips before being fried to a golden brown. Don’t they look like spam fries? Except that this is not processed meat but a much healthier choice! Salted egg sauce was then drizzled onto them. I found the skin to be a little tough and tasted more like tau kwa than tofu to me. Perhaps I was expecting a more silky inner layer when I think of tofu, but this was on the dry side. There was also insufficient salted egg sauce but thankfully the owners kindly offered more of their wasabi mayo which I really liked too. Their sauces are all home made, and I found the salted egg sauce just right with some bits in it. But personally, I thought there could be more chilli padi as I love it spicy!
Burp Kitchen Wings (SGD10)
Salted Egg Wings (SGD14)
The chicken wings here are air-fried, making it a healthier for the health conscious! The Burp Kitchen Wings are coated with the Adobo sauce — a savoury sauce with sour tones. As for the Salted Egg Wings, they are coated with the same sauce used on the tofu fries. These would definitely make a great bar bite with some beer. For draught beer lovers, Burp serves Asahi Super Dry and Kronenbourg Blanc on tap.
Chicken Quesadilla (SGD9)
The Chicken Quesadilla came with a tortilla wrapping the slow cooked pulled chicken and melted cheddar and mozzarella cheese. This was a little plain tasting as compared to the other dishes, though the melted cheese was really satisfying!
Other than the above, we also tried the Burp’s Beef under “Burgers” and Pork Carnitas under “Tacos”.
Burp’s Beef (SGD16)
The Burp’s Beef is made of two brioche bun sandwiching the beef patty, american cheese, caramelized onions, pea sprouts and spicy mayo. The folks of Burp have creatively replaced the usual lettuce with pea sprouts, or what we know as dou miao. The taste of the vegetables is definitely stronger here with a more chewy bite. However, I still prefer my crunchy lettuce! The buns were not as fluffy and the patty was not as juicy as I’d like them to be, resulting it to be rather dry overall.
Pork Carnitas (SGD12)
The Pork Carnitas is a dish of soft tacos wrapping slow cooked BBQ pulled pork, coleslaw and salsa fresca. The pulled pork is beautifully seasoned with sweet tasting notes as the juices flow with each bite. The strong flavors in this will definitely appeal to those who likes stronger tasting dishes.
It might not be as accessible for those who don’t drive as a short bus ride is needed from Bedok MRT station, but located right beside Bedok Reservoir Park means that you can take a slow walk and enjoy the surroundings after your meal! I would definitely recommend you this place for you to grab a drink and some (baja fish) tacos!
Find more reviews at http://feleats.blogspot.sg/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Baja Fish Tacos,Crabby Patty Burger
 
Date of Visit: Feb 25, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Boruto OK Feb 25, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | Japanese | Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant

Boruto is located along South Bridge Road, which is just a stone’s throw away from Clarke Quay and Raffles Place. The prime location is convenient for office workers to unwind while grabbing a bite from their tapas menu and a drink from the sake bar. With this concept, the dishes served are of a smaller portion, but that would mean that you get to try a greater variety of food!
During our visit, we managed to try Boruto’s 5 signature dishes.

We started our meal with the Saga Beef Tataki. Wow, just wow. The beautiful marbling of the beef resulted in tender pieces of thinly sliced meat. Heavily marinated with a soya based sauce, it made up a small bite but was definitely not lacking in flavour. Next, we had the Crispy Rice Cracker Tacos (SD12.80 pictured above). The tacos are topped with pulled pork, guacamole and chilli salsa. Easily a crowd pleaser, the crunchy rice cracker serves as a contrast to the tender pulled pork. It is beautifully completed with a creamy guacamole and some zest from the chilli salsa. Just pop it into your mouth and enjoy the flavours on your tastebuds!

The cold tapas of the night was the Ahi Tataki. Sliced tuna tataki with black olives, japanese leek, chilli and wasabi yuzu dressing. The tuna was slightly pan fried on the outer layer and very well seasoned with the sauces. I thought this was average, perhaps it’s because I’m not a big fan of tuna.

The Tori-take Roll is a crispy chicken roulade stuffed with shiitake jam, drizzled with a chinese sauce. The rolled chicken was so tender and juicy that we couldn’t just stop at one. This was when I thought the small serving of tapas wouldn’t be able to satisfy the diners — I needed more!

More on http://feleats.blogspot.sg/

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Saga beef tataki
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 16, 2016 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant

Cato is a modern asian restaurant along South Bridge Road in the Chinatown district that serves dishes incorporating many familiar asian flavors. For the bar, they carry over 60 small batched craft beers and spirits from all over the world and you’re definitely bound to find something to your liking! Into the night, you can find a DJ spinning your favorite music on the second storey.
Prawn Bisque with Home Made Cod Fish Ball & Coriander Leaf - SGD12
To start, we were served with a prawn bisque, which could be enjoyed in one shot or savoured with small sips. Upon my first sip, the umami flavor dispersed throughout my mouth and I thoroughly enjoyed this given how rich and flavorful it was. The cod fish ball, though small in size, was nicely seasoned with a crunch on the outside.
Snacks to Share:
Garlic Fries - SGD8 / Cato Wings in Homemade Chilli Glaze - SGD15 / Crispy Squid in Thai Style Glaze - SGD12
These dishes are a no-brainer. Fries, wings and fried squid are well liked by many and would make a good snack over drinks. Fries here at Cato are served with a garlic seasoning, albeit a little on the salty side. The wings are coated with a chilli sauce which I found to be more sweet than spicy, hence suitable even for those who don’t take spice. The squid featured a thin layer of light batter that is fried until it is crispy and airy, leaving it without any trace of greasiness - thumbs up!
Acai Cured Salmon - SGD18
This dish is a healthier choice offered by Cato with the use of the superfood, Acai. Raw salmon is cured with acai as part of the preparation, which did not make any difference in taste. The black jelly on the side is acai jelly, which were harvested from the Amazon. Other components on this plate are the star fruit ceviche, salad and calamansi creme fraiche. Without any attention grabbing component, I found this dish to be nothing more than average.
Chicken Noodles Salad - SGD16
Never judge a book by its cover! This chicken noodles salad may seem like any other salad out there, but the noodles are tossed with blended ghost chilli. Known as the world’s hottest chilli, this is not for the faint hearted. This salad has 4 chillis next to it on the restaurant menu so diners are warned! As I’m a fan of spicy food, I was able to take the spice though it had a slight numbing effect on my tongue after a while. The chicken topping on the salad was roasted with tea and rice and served with big and juicy tomatoes.
Steamed Baked Pork Cheek - SGD28
Strips of pork cheeks wrapped within a foil and baked till tender. Unwrapping the “parcel”, we were greeted with weaves of fragrance from the pork cheeks and seasonal vegetables. The cheeks were beautifully cooked and tender. The creamy port wine mustard sauce was surprisingly not too heavy and the combination worked quite well for me!
Auntie Jasmine’s Fish Curry - SGD25
First mouthful of this curry and I was already sold! It reminded me very much of an Indian curry that you can find at prata stores, so it might feel a bit abstract having it in a bar restaurant! This is actually a family secret recipe from the owner’s mother. New zealand ling fish is used in this dish, which I thought was slightly too tough and bland for my liking. Nevertheless, the fantastic sauce here makes up for it. Also on the plate are the star fruit ceviche, eggplant and little balls of olive.
Desserts:
Papaya Nougat Glace - SGD14 / Valrhona Warm Pistachio Chocolate Cake - SGD14
A homemade nougat using fresh chunks of papaya and yogurt sitting in a plate of papaya and sweet wine reduction! It was slightly icy which makes a cooling dessert and the pomegranate bits added some sour tones. For something more classic, choose the chocolate lava cake. It is a definite hit and the combination of rich gooey chocolate with a scoop of ice cream rarely fails.
Located just right next to the Central Business District, I foresee Cato being a hot spot for office goers to unwind with a drink. Cato enables customers to dine in a modern setting yet being able to relate to dishes highlighting familiar asian flavors, from which I recommend the thai glazed crispy squid and fish curry.

Great place to hang out with friends over some bar snacks and drinks!

http://feleats.blogspot.sg/2015/11/cato.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Auntie Jasmine's Fish Curry,Crispy Squid in Thai Glaze Sauce
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 28, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Criollo Cocoa Cafe OK Jun 14, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
Shop interior

 
Seating area

Ever found Orchard Road to be too busy and wanted a quiet corner to people watch on a weekend afternoon? If so, then Criollo Cocoa Cafe is the perfect choice for you. Located at Level 2 of Orchard Gateway, its direct link to Somerset MRT station means that you do not even need to brave that blazing sun! You can expect to find comfort food favorites here such as big breakfast, burgers, pasta and desserts all day long.

My initial impression of the place would definitely be their fanciful name! Mr. Lam, one of the owners, very kindly shared with us that the name was taken after one of the three main varieties of cacao beans. His partners and him took a liking to criollo and decided to name their new business venture after it!

Courtesy of Openrice, I had the opportunity to try out some of their dishes!

 
Big Breakfast - SGD12

It is definitely happiness on the plate for those who love having brunch! Think scrambled eggs, chicken sausage, sauteed mushrooms, bacon, hash brown and toast! And no i’m not done yet - there’s even fruits with sweet yogurt! I thought this was really value for money. Special mention goes to their toast as it was toasted with butter till crispy and finished off with sugar. Such a simple touch but it made the dish very homely!

 
Portobello Burger - SGD12.90

One for the vegetarians out there, this burger has a portobello mushroom “patty”. Stuffed with lots of onions and capsicum then sealed with toasted cheese, this makes a very juicy and flavorful component of the burger! The onions and capsicum were a great addition, as it added more layers of flavor. I wished that the filling:bun ratio would be more equal though. The fries had crispy edges filled with soft potatoes on the inside, quite addictive i must say!

 
Seafood Laksa Pasta - SGD16.90

The dish that I was most looking forward to! Yay to having laksa even in a cafe! I love how they incorporate local flavors into their food for the Singaporean taste buds. Laksa sauce and abundance of seafood - what’s not to like? Criollo Cocoa does not scrimp on their ingredients at all. You get 2 huge mussels, 2 huge prawns and squid rings in your pasta. The sauce was rich in coconut taste, with an appropriate amount of heat which means that almost everyone can have it!

 
Mixed Grilled Platter - SGD18.90

This sounded so good at first, but when the dish arrived… we were underwhelmed. 4 yakitori sticks, 2 sausages, some greens and a bucket of fries doesn’t match up to what one might expect from a platter. The beef yakitori was on the tough side, while the chicken yakitori was under seasoned. The whole dish just felt like they were forcefully placed together.

 
Chocolate Waffle – SGD9.90

Finally a dish that is representative of the chocolate-named cafe; their chocolate waffles! Cocoa flavored waffles topped with chocolate ice cream, marshmallow, dark chocolate sauce, strawberries and maple syrup drizzled all over. Made for that sweet tooth in us! I thought that the waffles could be slightly fluffier and crispier, only then would it be perfect for me! The highlight here would definitely be their in-house ice cream, where new batches of ice cream would be made every 10 days. During our visit, they had chocolate, vanilla, lychee, coconut and mango. It was a unanimous vote that the best flavour was the coconut.

 
The Malt Cake - SGD6.90

 
Earl Grey Tea Cake - SGD5.90

Due to some of our major cravings for more sweets that was activated by their display of cakes, the kind folks at Criollo Cocoa also let us sample 2 of their cakes - The Malt Cake and The Earl Grey Tea Cake. Cakes here are supplied by the central kitchen of Pies & Coffee. The portions are very generous and are good for sharing amongst your girlfriends!

Criollo Cocoa Cafe is offering a 20% discount till 30 June 2015. In the coming months (July - Sep), they will also be rolling out new items, new discounts and more! Prices here are also nett, so be sure to head on down to enjoy the promotions!

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Big Breakfast,Laksa Pasta,Ice cream
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 10, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0