OpenRice Index
  
feleats
This is feleats . Korean, Thai, Chinese, - are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café, Hawker Centre, - and Sushi/Sashimi, Pasta, Ramen, -.
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review8 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity713 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos435 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant7 My Restaurant(s)
Follow118 Following
粉絲114 Follower(s)
feleats  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 8 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Italian

Violet Herbs is a relatively new restaurant along Tras Street, which caught my attention from its name. Purple hues can be found in their space on the first level. If you are not used to it and wants a more neutral location for your gatherings or even corporate events, the space on the second level boost a more formal color setting. Why Violet Herbs you might ask? Interestingly, the couple shared with us that violet herbs are actually quite a rare breed of herbs. They wanted to stand out from the crowd and be unique, hence taking after this name. They have cleverly incorporated various herbs into their dishes to enhance its taste profile. Also, they have their own mini herb garden at their roof top!

Set course meals or ala carte items are available at Violet Herbs. From what I have observed, prices seemed to be rather pocket friendly!! Set lunch starts from $32++, set dinner from $48++ (Mon-Thurs) and 6 course degustation from $98++. Menu available here: http://www.violetherbs.com.sg/menu/. Courtesy of Openrice, I was able to try a few of the dishes that Violet Herbs have to offer.

 
Beef Tender and Saffron Bread

The amuse bouche for the day was Beef Tender with Madeira Sauce. Though it might be small in quantity, it was packed with flavors especially with the red wine sauce. The bread of the day was the Saffron Bread. It was unlike the usual plain breads that are served and it was rather memorable as it was a very rich and herb-y bun. At the same time, it shows how much effort was placed in the food being served!

 
Mango Scallops

To start, we had the Mango Scallops with parsnip puree, mango gel, mango salsa and micro herb. Scallops make a very good starter, more so with accompanying ingredients that can bring out the sweetness. I appreciate the use of mango in this dish, as the slightly tangy taste worked very well with the freshness of the scallop. I love the mango salsa atop the scallops, as I bite into the juicy mango flesh against the scallop.

 
Parsnip Veloute

Next, we had the Parsnip Veloute with fresh sri lankan crab, crumble and herb oil. This is a form of slightly thickened soup with a smooth consistency throughout. It is hard not to like it with the chunk of crab meat within! The sweet little touch of edible flowers also adds a classy tone to this soup.

 
Truffle Foie Gras

The Truffle Foie Gras with one hour poached egg, summer truffle, cepes reduction and shiso cress was a combination of common favorites. I’ve got to say that the flowy egg yolk really stole the limelight here! Mix in the egg with the soy sauce base and you get a velvety gooey mixture. Coat it around the foie gras and it was definitely a delight. Thank you for putting 2 things that I like (foie gras & eggs) together and letting me have it at the same time!! Be assured that good quality truffles are used as the cost price was really high!

 
Braised Kurobuta Pork Belly

 
Marinated Red Miso Cod

Onto the mains, I had the Braised Kurobuta Pork Belly and Marinated Red Miso Cod. The pork belly came with asparagus, homemade herb fries, spicy blood orange sauce and micro herbs. It is one sinful dish for the ladies, but it is worth it when it’s delicious! While I thought the meat could be even more tender, the braise on the belly was to my liking! The other codfish main was my favorite of the night. Just look at the piece of beautiful cod! I have a personal preference for cod, and Violet Herbs really did a great job with it. The cod was nicely marinated, bringing out that creamy and sweet flavor of the fish at the same time. It was a main that I wish would not end that soon. Accompanying the cod on the plate is some almond eggplant, roasted pumpkin puree and mix herbs. I did not enjoy them as much as I do not take eggplant and pumpkin. It’s either you hate it or love it. In any case, I still finished them up as they’re healthy food for the body!

 
Frozen Nougat with Lychee Sorbet

We ended our meal with the Frozen Nougat with lychee sorbet, raspberry sauce and mixed berries. Nicely plated with a minimalist touch as it was served on a wide white plate. Nougats are familiar to many and it can be tough and dry at times. Pairing it with the refreshing lychee sorbet was a good match!

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Marinated Red Miso Cod,Truffle Foie Gras
 
Date of Visit: Apr 29, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lady M Smile Sep 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes

 
Lady M Confections has made it's way into Singapore! This is the fifth outlet of the chain, and the very first out of United States. Known worldwide for their Mille Crepes, it features no less than twenty paper -thin handmade crepes layered with pastry cream.

I was there on a Sunday afternoon, a week after their official opening. However, we were informed that only their Signature Mille Crepes was available while all other cakes are sold out. Hence, we ordered a slice of their Signature and some coffee to go along with it.

 
Signature Mille Crepes SGD7.50

What is so captivating about crepe cakes is the layers of crepe alternating with the cream, creating an especially pretty cross section after having it sliced out and served on a plate. The top layer is gently caramelized till golden, giving the cake a nice finishing touch. We took our first bite of the cake, and the layers of the crepe was so soft it melts easily in our mouths. There was a tinge of sweetness amidst the frothy whipped cream sandwiched between the layers. As we made our way to the thicker portion of the slice, the cake got too creamy - practically much more cream than crepe. Hence, the cake turned a little too soggy and moist for my liking.

 
Green Tea Mille Crepes SGD8
Lady M in New York - Prices start from USD7.50

Oh and did I mention that we were lucky enough to coincide with the delivery of a new batch of cakes? (It was around 1715 for a Sunday) Yay! It was quite a sight seeing the customers flocking up to the counters as they display their new batch of cakes. We decided to go for their Green Tea Mille Crepes because I have an undying love for crepe cakes.. The green tea version may appeal to some of you guys more, as the earthy tea taste has cut down the sweetness a little. However, the same problem was found in this cake - too creamy and moist!

On a side note, we had their Cafe Mocha (SGD5) and Macchiato (SGD3) for those who are interested, but nothing spectacular there. I'll definitely skip the coffee and go straight for the cakes on my next visit!

 
Earlier on this year, I had tried Lady M when I was in New York for a holiday. I visited their store on the 59th Street(Plaza Food Hall Boutique), as it was conveniently situated next to Central Park. This store was located as part of a dining hall at the basement - likened to the Takashimaya Food Hall we have in Singapore. I managed to try a number of their cakes, namely their Signature Mille Crepes, Strawberry Mille Crepes, Chocolate Mille Crepes, Green Tea Mille Crepes and Checkers. The New York version was drier due to the thicker consistency of the cream, and also the ratio of cream to crepe works just right for me.

I guess my heart still lies with the Lady M in New York, but I don't fault them as it is definitely much more difficult to replicate the cakes in Singapore due to limitations in ingredients or bakers. Having said that, I am still happy to see Lady M in Singapore. It also implies that the food scene in Singapore is developing and I can't wait to see more overseas brands here soon!

I suspect that Lady M in Singapore will only get more popular, so go early to get your mille crepe cakes fix or you'll have to wait for their new batch of delivery to the store.

Lady M Confections is located at
Marina Square Shopping Mall
6 Raffles Boulevard
#02-103

Daily | 1100-2100 (last order at 2030)

Keep a lookout for their upcoming store at One Fullerton in Oct ;)

http://feleats.blogspot.sg/
 
Date of Visit: Sep 15, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Carne & Caipirinha OK Mar 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Latin American/South American | Steaks and Grills | BBQ | Buffet

Carne & Caipirinha is a Brazilian churrascaria in Singapore that uses charcoal fire for roasting quality meats. The usage of charcoal fire not only retains the rich flavours of the meat but also delivers the charred smoky taste. How appealing! A meal here comes buffet style, featuring a self service salad and starters bar to accompany your never-ending supply of meat.
You will be spoilt for choice at the salad and starters bar! If you want to feel less sinful, help yourself to the lettuce with various dressings for you to choose from, although this isn’t really the place for it. Otherwise, hop over the starters side and pick out whichever that catches your eye — sauteed vegetables, grilled corn, green olives, coleslaw, mushroom with onions, mixed fruits, potato & egg and more. The selection is just endless! Traditional Brazilian Feijoada, a type of black bean stew, is also available at Carne & Caipirinha. This is stewed together with some pork and it was easy to eat with the soft textures.
As attractive as the salad and starters bar might be, remember to save lots of stomach space for the main character of the night — the slow roasted meats! A disc will be available to every diner. You can flip it to the “Yes, please” side and the servers will offer you the skewers. But if you would like to take a break, you can turn it to the “No, thanks” side that signals them to stop!
These are the meats available — Pork (sausage, belly, rib, ham), Lamb leg, Chicken (thigh, fillet wrapped with bacon, heart), Beef (rump cap, rump, hump, rib), Fish and Grilled Pineapple. What a hearty selection!
The highlights for me were the pork ham, chicken thigh and grilled pineapple! The chicken thigh was beautifully roasted with a brown glazed skin, yet retaining the moisture and tenderness on the inside. Perhaps it’s the nature of thigh meat being more tender, but it was definitely a crowd pleaser amongst us! The pork ham was flavorful and tender, and contrasted well with the rest of the roasted meats. After all that meat indulgence, a piece of sweet juicy and tangy roasted pineapple definitely served as a good break. It came with thin layer of slightly charred exterior and beneath that was where all the goodness was. The warm pineapple was a great way to end off the heavy meal!
More at https://feleats.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 17, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Burp Kitchen and Bar OK Mar 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

Burp Kitchen and Bar, located next to Bedok Reservoir with seating for 30, serves up a wide variety of American grub. You would be happy to know that there is no GST and service charge at Burp! Serving not just the typical burgers and fries, Burp seeks to introduce a local twist to their food. Riding along the recent food trend, Burp has been experimenting in the salted egg space! During the tasting, we managed to try a few of them such as salted egg fries, salted egg wings and salted egg burger (WHAT?), along with various other dishes.
Out of the many dishes that we tried, my favorite would be the Baja Fish Tacos and Crabby Patty Burger.
Baja Fish Tacos (SGD12)
The Baja Fish Tacos have a generous amount of fried fish, coleslaw, salsa fresca and spicy mayo served with corn chips at the side. That fried fish was the star of the dish — fried to a golden brown yet so juicy and tender on the inside. The thickness of the fish makes this even more enjoyable as you can definitely have plenty of fish in every bite. Even though this was the last dish of the night and I was somewhat full by then, I couldn’t resist more helpings of it! The zesty apple slaw and salsa was tangy and made great pairings with the fish tacos.
Crabby Patty Burger (SGD18)
This is no ordinary soft shell crab burger — it is a salted egg soft shell crab burger! The Crabby Patty Burger has a whole fried soft shell crab as the “patty” with salted egg sauce drizzled over it and sandwiched between two squid ink buns. How innovative! The buns had no distinct taste, but the combination was great for me. Fried food and salted egg sauce, what could go wrong? This would be the choice for you if you’re looking for an alternative to the usual beef patty burger. However, it comes at the price tag of $18 which I find to be on the expensive side.
Under the “Bar Grub” menu, we tried the Salted Egg Tofu Fries, Salted Egg Wings, Burp Kitchen Wings and Chicken Quesadilla.
Salted Egg Tofu Fries (SGD8)
Tofu fries? That’s a first for me! Tofu cubes are being cut into strips before being fried to a golden brown. Don’t they look like spam fries? Except that this is not processed meat but a much healthier choice! Salted egg sauce was then drizzled onto them. I found the skin to be a little tough and tasted more like tau kwa than tofu to me. Perhaps I was expecting a more silky inner layer when I think of tofu, but this was on the dry side. There was also insufficient salted egg sauce but thankfully the owners kindly offered more of their wasabi mayo which I really liked too. Their sauces are all home made, and I found the salted egg sauce just right with some bits in it. But personally, I thought there could be more chilli padi as I love it spicy!
Burp Kitchen Wings (SGD10)
Salted Egg Wings (SGD14)
The chicken wings here are air-fried, making it a healthier for the health conscious! The Burp Kitchen Wings are coated with the Adobo sauce — a savoury sauce with sour tones. As for the Salted Egg Wings, they are coated with the same sauce used on the tofu fries. These would definitely make a great bar bite with some beer. For draught beer lovers, Burp serves Asahi Super Dry and Kronenbourg Blanc on tap.
Chicken Quesadilla (SGD9)
The Chicken Quesadilla came with a tortilla wrapping the slow cooked pulled chicken and melted cheddar and mozzarella cheese. This was a little plain tasting as compared to the other dishes, though the melted cheese was really satisfying!
Other than the above, we also tried the Burp’s Beef under “Burgers” and Pork Carnitas under “Tacos”.
Burp’s Beef (SGD16)
The Burp’s Beef is made of two brioche bun sandwiching the beef patty, american cheese, caramelized onions, pea sprouts and spicy mayo. The folks of Burp have creatively replaced the usual lettuce with pea sprouts, or what we know as dou miao. The taste of the vegetables is definitely stronger here with a more chewy bite. However, I still prefer my crunchy lettuce! The buns were not as fluffy and the patty was not as juicy as I’d like them to be, resulting it to be rather dry overall.
Pork Carnitas (SGD12)
The Pork Carnitas is a dish of soft tacos wrapping slow cooked BBQ pulled pork, coleslaw and salsa fresca. The pulled pork is beautifully seasoned with sweet tasting notes as the juices flow with each bite. The strong flavors in this will definitely appeal to those who likes stronger tasting dishes.
It might not be as accessible for those who don’t drive as a short bus ride is needed from Bedok MRT station, but located right beside Bedok Reservoir Park means that you can take a slow walk and enjoy the surroundings after your meal! I would definitely recommend you this place for you to grab a drink and some (baja fish) tacos!
Find more reviews at http://feleats.blogspot.sg/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Baja Fish Tacos,Crabby Patty Burger
 
Date of Visit: Feb 25, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Boruto OK Feb 25, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Japanese | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant | Pasta

Boruto is located along South Bridge Road, which is just a stone’s throw away from Clarke Quay and Raffles Place. The prime location is convenient for office workers to unwind while grabbing a bite from their tapas menu and a drink from the sake bar. With this concept, the dishes served are of a smaller portion, but that would mean that you get to try a greater variety of food!
During our visit, we managed to try Boruto’s 5 signature dishes.

We started our meal with the Saga Beef Tataki. Wow, just wow. The beautiful marbling of the beef resulted in tender pieces of thinly sliced meat. Heavily marinated with a soya based sauce, it made up a small bite but was definitely not lacking in flavour. Next, we had the Crispy Rice Cracker Tacos (SD12.80 pictured above). The tacos are topped with pulled pork, guacamole and chilli salsa. Easily a crowd pleaser, the crunchy rice cracker serves as a contrast to the tender pulled pork. It is beautifully completed with a creamy guacamole and some zest from the chilli salsa. Just pop it into your mouth and enjoy the flavours on your tastebuds!

The cold tapas of the night was the Ahi Tataki. Sliced tuna tataki with black olives, japanese leek, chilli and wasabi yuzu dressing. The tuna was slightly pan fried on the outer layer and very well seasoned with the sauces. I thought this was average, perhaps it’s because I’m not a big fan of tuna.

The Tori-take Roll is a crispy chicken roulade stuffed with shiitake jam, drizzled with a chinese sauce. The rolled chicken was so tender and juicy that we couldn’t just stop at one. This was when I thought the small serving of tapas wouldn’t be able to satisfy the diners — I needed more!

More on http://feleats.blogspot.sg/

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Saga beef tataki
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 16, 2016 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0