OpenRice Index
  
feleats
This is feleats . Korean, Thai, Chinese, - are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café, Hawker Centre, - and Sushi/Sashimi, Pasta, Ramen, -.
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review8 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity713 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos435 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant7 My Restaurant(s)
Follow118 Following
粉絲114 Follower(s)
feleats  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 8 Reviews in Singapore
Lady M Smile Sep 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes

 
Lady M Confections has made it's way into Singapore! This is the fifth outlet of the chain, and the very first out of United States. Known worldwide for their Mille Crepes, it features no less than twenty paper -thin handmade crepes layered with pastry cream.

I was there on a Sunday afternoon, a week after their official opening. However, we were informed that only their Signature Mille Crepes was available while all other cakes are sold out. Hence, we ordered a slice of their Signature and some coffee to go along with it.

 
Signature Mille Crepes SGD7.50

What is so captivating about crepe cakes is the layers of crepe alternating with the cream, creating an especially pretty cross section after having it sliced out and served on a plate. The top layer is gently caramelized till golden, giving the cake a nice finishing touch. We took our first bite of the cake, and the layers of the crepe was so soft it melts easily in our mouths. There was a tinge of sweetness amidst the frothy whipped cream sandwiched between the layers. As we made our way to the thicker portion of the slice, the cake got too creamy - practically much more cream than crepe. Hence, the cake turned a little too soggy and moist for my liking.

 
Green Tea Mille Crepes SGD8
Lady M in New York - Prices start from USD7.50

Oh and did I mention that we were lucky enough to coincide with the delivery of a new batch of cakes? (It was around 1715 for a Sunday) Yay! It was quite a sight seeing the customers flocking up to the counters as they display their new batch of cakes. We decided to go for their Green Tea Mille Crepes because I have an undying love for crepe cakes.. The green tea version may appeal to some of you guys more, as the earthy tea taste has cut down the sweetness a little. However, the same problem was found in this cake - too creamy and moist!

On a side note, we had their Cafe Mocha (SGD5) and Macchiato (SGD3) for those who are interested, but nothing spectacular there. I'll definitely skip the coffee and go straight for the cakes on my next visit!

 
Earlier on this year, I had tried Lady M when I was in New York for a holiday. I visited their store on the 59th Street(Plaza Food Hall Boutique), as it was conveniently situated next to Central Park. This store was located as part of a dining hall at the basement - likened to the Takashimaya Food Hall we have in Singapore. I managed to try a number of their cakes, namely their Signature Mille Crepes, Strawberry Mille Crepes, Chocolate Mille Crepes, Green Tea Mille Crepes and Checkers. The New York version was drier due to the thicker consistency of the cream, and also the ratio of cream to crepe works just right for me.

I guess my heart still lies with the Lady M in New York, but I don't fault them as it is definitely much more difficult to replicate the cakes in Singapore due to limitations in ingredients or bakers. Having said that, I am still happy to see Lady M in Singapore. It also implies that the food scene in Singapore is developing and I can't wait to see more overseas brands here soon!

I suspect that Lady M in Singapore will only get more popular, so go early to get your mille crepe cakes fix or you'll have to wait for their new batch of delivery to the store.

Lady M Confections is located at
Marina Square Shopping Mall
6 Raffles Boulevard
#02-103

Daily | 1100-2100 (last order at 2030)

Keep a lookout for their upcoming store at One Fullerton in Oct ;)

http://feleats.blogspot.sg/
 
Date of Visit: Sep 15, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Seasons Bistro OK Jan 18, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Brunch

The baja cobb's salad is for those who wants a hearty salad. It's full of greens but yet the cajun spiced chicken was a sinfully good addition to the otherwise too healthy salad. Lightly tossed in red wine vinaigrette, it is lightly acidic in taste but was well balanced out with the abundance of olives, corns and greens.
The superfood salad is for the full time vegetables lover. Loaded with lots of greens, the serving portions here at Seasons don't seem to scrimp any bit so the salad can just be your main course anytime! The downside is that the vegetables tasted a bit too raw so it can be a little hard to finish the whole serving on your own.
Cajun blacken fish taco is made with haddock, avocado mayonnaise, pickled onions, crispy shallots and cotija cheese sitting beautifully on a tortilla chip. The taco was an explosion of flavors in the mouth with the sweetness of the fish which was elevated by the other toppings with the crunchiness of the chip. It's a classic Mexican dish that is not so common in Singapore so I would recommend you to try this here!
My favorite dish of the night would be the pan seared foie gras! It is served on a thick toast with chocolate ganache, accompanied by bacon jam, caramelized bananas, tomatoes & granola crumbs. Doesn't that sound interesting already? Surely, the foie gras itself wasn't that outstanding but I enjoyed the dish as the combination of the flavors was very unique. Who would have thought that chocolate, bacon jam & foie gras would go so well together?
How can you miss out on fried chicken in an American restaurant? The skin was crispy but I thought it was overly battered! Chicken size was a little small so it became a little dry. What was delightful is the homemade ketchup served with it. It is tangy and went very well with the fried food. Homemade items just makes the entire dish stand out more, even if it's just a sauce as it portrays the chef's effort in the dish.
Season's bistro rendition of meatloaf is ground pork meat mixed with cornmeal and seasonings, on a bed of spinach and mashed potato with gravy. While the taste wasn't that much to my liking (acquired taste I guess!), I thought the mash was very smooth and creamy! The addition of some maple bacon on top was nice too, as the bacon was sweet and crispy!
The hit amongst the group was definitely the Seasons Cheese Burger! Just look at the homemade beef patty - so thick and juicy!!! Toppings include the classic burger selections like caramelized onions, cheese, bacon and mushrooms. The patty really make or break the burger and I'm so happy to find out that Seasons scored with theirs! It's not fully cooked so there will be plenty of meat juice as you sink your teeth into the burger!

We were also pleasantly surprised when we were served with their Valentine's Day special - Lamb rack. It comes with some sautéed mushrooms, asparagus (always a good side!) and meat sauce. The cook on the lamb was decently executed, as it was tender and did not have the gamey smell to it. 

Last but not least, we also tried the southend pasta which was made of tagliatelle, chorizo sausages and homemade tomato sauce. This dish was disappointing as the pasta was clearly overcooked, and the sauce was too light for a tomato based dish.

We ended our meal with a maple pumpkin cheescake and pecan pie with vanilla ice cream. While the maple pumpkin cheesecake was slightly too dense on the palate, the berries cream at the side did help to lighten it. Pecan pie was made from whole pecans and served with a scoop of ice cream - great for the sweet tooth and it was nice to end the meal on a sweet note!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Carne & Caipirinha OK Mar 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Latin American/South American | Steaks and Grills | BBQ | Buffet

Carne & Caipirinha is a Brazilian churrascaria in Singapore that uses charcoal fire for roasting quality meats. The usage of charcoal fire not only retains the rich flavours of the meat but also delivers the charred smoky taste. How appealing! A meal here comes buffet style, featuring a self service salad and starters bar to accompany your never-ending supply of meat.
You will be spoilt for choice at the salad and starters bar! If you want to feel less sinful, help yourself to the lettuce with various dressings for you to choose from, although this isn’t really the place for it. Otherwise, hop over the starters side and pick out whichever that catches your eye — sauteed vegetables, grilled corn, green olives, coleslaw, mushroom with onions, mixed fruits, potato & egg and more. The selection is just endless! Traditional Brazilian Feijoada, a type of black bean stew, is also available at Carne & Caipirinha. This is stewed together with some pork and it was easy to eat with the soft textures.
As attractive as the salad and starters bar might be, remember to save lots of stomach space for the main character of the night — the slow roasted meats! A disc will be available to every diner. You can flip it to the “Yes, please” side and the servers will offer you the skewers. But if you would like to take a break, you can turn it to the “No, thanks” side that signals them to stop!
These are the meats available — Pork (sausage, belly, rib, ham), Lamb leg, Chicken (thigh, fillet wrapped with bacon, heart), Beef (rump cap, rump, hump, rib), Fish and Grilled Pineapple. What a hearty selection!
The highlights for me were the pork ham, chicken thigh and grilled pineapple! The chicken thigh was beautifully roasted with a brown glazed skin, yet retaining the moisture and tenderness on the inside. Perhaps it’s the nature of thigh meat being more tender, but it was definitely a crowd pleaser amongst us! The pork ham was flavorful and tender, and contrasted well with the rest of the roasted meats. After all that meat indulgence, a piece of sweet juicy and tangy roasted pineapple definitely served as a good break. It came with thin layer of slightly charred exterior and beneath that was where all the goodness was. The warm pineapple was a great way to end off the heavy meal!
More at https://feleats.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 17, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Burp Kitchen and Bar OK Mar 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

Burp Kitchen and Bar, located next to Bedok Reservoir with seating for 30, serves up a wide variety of American grub. You would be happy to know that there is no GST and service charge at Burp! Serving not just the typical burgers and fries, Burp seeks to introduce a local twist to their food. Riding along the recent food trend, Burp has been experimenting in the salted egg space! During the tasting, we managed to try a few of them such as salted egg fries, salted egg wings and salted egg burger (WHAT?), along with various other dishes.
Out of the many dishes that we tried, my favorite would be the Baja Fish Tacos and Crabby Patty Burger.
Baja Fish Tacos (SGD12)
The Baja Fish Tacos have a generous amount of fried fish, coleslaw, salsa fresca and spicy mayo served with corn chips at the side. That fried fish was the star of the dish — fried to a golden brown yet so juicy and tender on the inside. The thickness of the fish makes this even more enjoyable as you can definitely have plenty of fish in every bite. Even though this was the last dish of the night and I was somewhat full by then, I couldn’t resist more helpings of it! The zesty apple slaw and salsa was tangy and made great pairings with the fish tacos.
Crabby Patty Burger (SGD18)
This is no ordinary soft shell crab burger — it is a salted egg soft shell crab burger! The Crabby Patty Burger has a whole fried soft shell crab as the “patty” with salted egg sauce drizzled over it and sandwiched between two squid ink buns. How innovative! The buns had no distinct taste, but the combination was great for me. Fried food and salted egg sauce, what could go wrong? This would be the choice for you if you’re looking for an alternative to the usual beef patty burger. However, it comes at the price tag of $18 which I find to be on the expensive side.
Under the “Bar Grub” menu, we tried the Salted Egg Tofu Fries, Salted Egg Wings, Burp Kitchen Wings and Chicken Quesadilla.
Salted Egg Tofu Fries (SGD8)
Tofu fries? That’s a first for me! Tofu cubes are being cut into strips before being fried to a golden brown. Don’t they look like spam fries? Except that this is not processed meat but a much healthier choice! Salted egg sauce was then drizzled onto them. I found the skin to be a little tough and tasted more like tau kwa than tofu to me. Perhaps I was expecting a more silky inner layer when I think of tofu, but this was on the dry side. There was also insufficient salted egg sauce but thankfully the owners kindly offered more of their wasabi mayo which I really liked too. Their sauces are all home made, and I found the salted egg sauce just right with some bits in it. But personally, I thought there could be more chilli padi as I love it spicy!
Burp Kitchen Wings (SGD10)
Salted Egg Wings (SGD14)
The chicken wings here are air-fried, making it a healthier for the health conscious! The Burp Kitchen Wings are coated with the Adobo sauce — a savoury sauce with sour tones. As for the Salted Egg Wings, they are coated with the same sauce used on the tofu fries. These would definitely make a great bar bite with some beer. For draught beer lovers, Burp serves Asahi Super Dry and Kronenbourg Blanc on tap.
Chicken Quesadilla (SGD9)
The Chicken Quesadilla came with a tortilla wrapping the slow cooked pulled chicken and melted cheddar and mozzarella cheese. This was a little plain tasting as compared to the other dishes, though the melted cheese was really satisfying!
Other than the above, we also tried the Burp’s Beef under “Burgers” and Pork Carnitas under “Tacos”.
Burp’s Beef (SGD16)
The Burp’s Beef is made of two brioche bun sandwiching the beef patty, american cheese, caramelized onions, pea sprouts and spicy mayo. The folks of Burp have creatively replaced the usual lettuce with pea sprouts, or what we know as dou miao. The taste of the vegetables is definitely stronger here with a more chewy bite. However, I still prefer my crunchy lettuce! The buns were not as fluffy and the patty was not as juicy as I’d like them to be, resulting it to be rather dry overall.
Pork Carnitas (SGD12)
The Pork Carnitas is a dish of soft tacos wrapping slow cooked BBQ pulled pork, coleslaw and salsa fresca. The pulled pork is beautifully seasoned with sweet tasting notes as the juices flow with each bite. The strong flavors in this will definitely appeal to those who likes stronger tasting dishes.
It might not be as accessible for those who don’t drive as a short bus ride is needed from Bedok MRT station, but located right beside Bedok Reservoir Park means that you can take a slow walk and enjoy the surroundings after your meal! I would definitely recommend you this place for you to grab a drink and some (baja fish) tacos!
Find more reviews at http://feleats.blogspot.sg/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Baja Fish Tacos,Crabby Patty Burger
 
Date of Visit: Feb 25, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Boruto OK Feb 25, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Japanese | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant | Pasta

Boruto is located along South Bridge Road, which is just a stone’s throw away from Clarke Quay and Raffles Place. The prime location is convenient for office workers to unwind while grabbing a bite from their tapas menu and a drink from the sake bar. With this concept, the dishes served are of a smaller portion, but that would mean that you get to try a greater variety of food!
During our visit, we managed to try Boruto’s 5 signature dishes.

We started our meal with the Saga Beef Tataki. Wow, just wow. The beautiful marbling of the beef resulted in tender pieces of thinly sliced meat. Heavily marinated with a soya based sauce, it made up a small bite but was definitely not lacking in flavour. Next, we had the Crispy Rice Cracker Tacos (SD12.80 pictured above). The tacos are topped with pulled pork, guacamole and chilli salsa. Easily a crowd pleaser, the crunchy rice cracker serves as a contrast to the tender pulled pork. It is beautifully completed with a creamy guacamole and some zest from the chilli salsa. Just pop it into your mouth and enjoy the flavours on your tastebuds!

The cold tapas of the night was the Ahi Tataki. Sliced tuna tataki with black olives, japanese leek, chilli and wasabi yuzu dressing. The tuna was slightly pan fried on the outer layer and very well seasoned with the sauces. I thought this was average, perhaps it’s because I’m not a big fan of tuna.

The Tori-take Roll is a crispy chicken roulade stuffed with shiitake jam, drizzled with a chinese sauce. The rolled chicken was so tender and juicy that we couldn’t just stop at one. This was when I thought the small serving of tapas wouldn’t be able to satisfy the diners — I needed more!

More on http://feleats.blogspot.sg/

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Saga beef tataki
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 16, 2016 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0