OpenRice Index
  
wahju
This is wahju living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Buffet , Pasta, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review39 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity115 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲34 Follower(s)
wahju  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 39 Reviews in Singapore
Good food. Not enough manpower. OK Sep 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Seafood | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
Food taste awesome. Just portion is really not enough for a guy. Not too bad for a small eater girl though.
The Duck Confit taste a little like the Ayam Penyat in my opinion. Just too salty. The mash potato taste really superb with milky taste yet not too over powering. Skin of the duck confit can be rather tough. The mash potato wins more points from me.

Plus points: great service from great attitude servers.
Down side: waiting time during peak hour is horrible. Even when you get to go int the restaurant, it will probably take 15 minutes before your order is taken and 45mins to 1 hour for the food to serve. It's a small little place so don't expect it to be a quiet place but rather, the opposite spectrum instead.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Awesome Custard Bun OK Sep 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Coffeeshop | Dim Sum

 

 
Away from the buzzing town area hides a awesome Hong Kong Dim Sum Stall in a residential place in Ang Mo Kio.

What's the amusing thing? According to my sister who bought the Dim Sum, the food seems prepared by vietnamese instead of the typical chinese or even HongKongers. And what's more surprising is that the food taste really not too bad at all.

I would recommend their Special Dairy Salted Bun AKA custard bun. You can really taste the sweet and salty taste of the Salted egg flavour in the bun and it is the liquidify kind and bursting out when you take a bite from it.

Their Shrimp Dumplings is not the kind you will see one large prawn inside kind but more of chunks of shrimps with those minced shrimp paste as inner fillings.

What I dislike is probably their Chee Cheong Fun. If you have eaten authentic CCF in Hong Kong before, you will really prefer one which the rice skin is really thin and a little towards the translucent kind and those are the ones who made the best tasting CCF. And apparently it is not like this here. The rice skin is too thick and eating too much of those will give off a jelak feel. The sauce is also a little on the salty side for the Char Siew CCF that we've ordered.

Overall, It's a place good to try for the first time. But if given a choice? I'll rather go swee choon. (Unless I have a Die hard craving for their custard buns theh perhaps. Till then, we shall see.)

FYI: We Ordered 1 porridege, 1 Char Siew CCF, 1 set Shrimp Dumplings, 1 set Coriander Dumplings, 1 set Special Dairy Salted Bun, 1 set pan-fried Turnip cake, 1 set sesame Mango Shrimp Roll(Thumps up! best eaten there. 2nd love other than the Special Dairy Salted Bun) for 3 person. IT'S ABUNDANCE OF FOOD FOR 3 GIRLS.

1 set comes in 3 pieces.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Special Dairy Salted Bun,sesame Mango Shrimp Roll
 
Date of Visit: Sep 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value for money OK Sep 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

Hidden at the basement level of The Cathay, Nihon Mura provides a wide range of choices for hungry patrons to satisfied their taste buds.

The sushi bar provides a over flowing plates of sushi and dishes from the menu and if you cant find what you want, you can also make ala carte order that is of affordable and attractive price range.

 
Mussels with mentai with a tinge of lemon juice over it brings out the freshness of the mussels. A pity that the Mentai is not 'roasted' over the fire enough. Other wise would taste even better without the fishy taste.

 
Classic sushi taste like the crabstick sushi or tuna sushi is also available to choose from.

 
Innovative sushi such as roast duck sushi is one of my favourite. Meat is tender and not bland.

 
Craving for some fried food? Tempura choices are also available. whether or not you are craving for some vegetable tempura or ebi fry, Nihon mura will satisfy your needs.

 
Sashimi comes in thickness just right. Not too small or thin. Honestly speaking, for the price you are paying, the sashimi is already very worth the price. After all, you get what you are paying for.

 
Overall, Nihon Mura is a place that is more affordable for even students or working adults who just want to satisfy their sushi craving yet not willing too pay too much for the food they are eating. A place value for money indeed.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  duck sushi,agedashi tofu and sashimi
 
Date of Visit: Jun 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice ambience OK Sep 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Seafood | Chinese Soup | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads | Roasted Meat | Kids-Friendly

 
Love the ambience of this place! A good place for dates and there is a drink counter that sells over a 100 types of beer and good for working adults to unwind.

Still prefer the rosti over at marche. Marche's rosti is bigger and less soggy as compared to Medz's.

Medz's chicken paella is not too bad for a try too. chicken is tender and dish is not too dry.

Price of dish is still consider steep but kinda feel like we're paying more for the ambience.

Self service place. Marche concept.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Paella
 
Date of Visit: Apr 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Could be better. OK Sep 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

 
Hidden at a corner and a little hard to find the main door. Service is pretty slow.

The chicken cutlet with egg taste good. The fun thing is that you can beat the egg and pour onto the cutlet and cook together on the stove and off the fire once the egg cook to your liking.

Another one that taste not too bad is their sukiyaki. The only down side is that the pot is really shallow and no refilling of the soup. Would prefer more soup to their sukiyaki.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  chicken cutlet with egg
 
Date of Visit: Jul 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0