OpenRice Index
  
wahju
This is wahju living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Buffet , Pasta, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review39 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity115 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲34 Follower(s)
wahju  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 39 Reviews in Singapore
Awesome chilli OK Sep 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Singaporean | Restaurant | Rice

 
The chilli for this Nasi Lemak place makes the rice really awesome. Not too spicy for my taste bud but not too sure for thos ewho cant really take spicy food. Otah is nice and big. The price for the Nasi Lemak is acceptable in my opinion and there are many side dishes for you to choose from.

On a down side, if you are looking for awesome chicken wing, then I would really think that Punggol Nasi Lemak serves better ones. Or maybe because we bought take away that food turns a little soggy? well, benefit of doubt.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nasi Lemak
 
Date of Visit: Aug 29, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dont like curry? fear not! OK Sep 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Zi Char

 
I went this place with a group of friends on a day I am having sore throat. The fact that I am having sore throat also means that curry is out for me so in the end I ordered their 卤肉饭, a.k.a braised pork rice set. As I have eaten authentic taiwanese style braised pork rice before, I cant help making a comparison and would say the one at Heng Heng is a little too sweet and unlike the taiwanese ones, it does not come with some pickled vegetable to help ease the greasy sick feeling. Such a waste. Other wise would taste alot better.

On the otherhand, my friend seated opposite me who also is having sore throat(Okay don't start judging us, out of 10 only the 2 of us have bad throat so we went along with majority's choice of restaurant) ordered chicken cutlet noodle. And yes. The chicken cutlet did make her sore throat worst. So advise to all, don't try to kid with your health over food. In the end she did not manage to finish her noodle and cutlet. Almost half a portion is leftover. According to her, the noodle was'nt too fantastic either. I've tried a mouth of the fish curry my friend ordered and I find them really spicy and not fragrant enough. It's like other than spicy, I don't seems to taste the fragrance of coconut milk, curry or even pandan. Their curry is more of nonya style, rather thick but could still be better. 美中不足,中看多过中吃。
 
Recommended Dish(es):  braised pork rice,home-made chrysanthemum tea
 
Date of Visit: Aug 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $14(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Low Budget Italian OK Sep 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | European | Pasta


A cheap alternative place for italian food can be found in this place. There are a few outlets available currently. Currently there is one at Liang Court, Hougang1, city square, Bukit Timah Plaza, Toa Payoh Central and the newest branch can be found at The Cathay.

You can easily settle a meal within $10.

 
The chicken cubes in the stew is a little over done and tough, otherwise, it is not too bad as a overall.

 
Love the chicken. very tender and not over cook. The pork is a little over done as well and bland in taste. Not really a favourite.

 
If you are like me, who does'nt really fancy the 'beefy' taste in beef patty, then this dish is not really for you. Ma maison has better nicer hamburger steak. Then again, you are paying for what you get. If you wan better beef steak, I suggest you pick a better place.

The Saizeriya at The Cathay has a rather big venue and good for gathering.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Cutlet
 
Date of Visit: Sep 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nathan's low profile 21st OK Sep 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Burgers and Sandwiches


Just turn right and take a 15mins walk after you exit from Exit A from Mountbatten Mrt station will lead you to a stretch of shophouses with various pubs, cafes and restaurant at the opposite side of the road. Along the way you will pass by a school at your left. The cafe is just somewhere at the opposite side after you pass by the school.
Not too hard to locate this place.

 
I ordered their Honey mustard chicken kebab (Boneless chicken filets seasoned with honey mustard , skewered and grilled) for a try since I was'nt really craving on burgers as much as I have heard that their specialties are actually their burger dishes. I would really have to say this dish is best eaten hot. The honey mustard sauce makes a great combi that goes along with the kebab and bell pepper. Mash potato I would say its a little on the dry side though.

 
On the other hand, my date of the day, a.k.a the birthday boy ordered the Bolly Wooly burger (Juicy lamb patty, on a bed of lettuce and tomato, smothered with homemade curry remoulade and topped mango chutney on a honey oat bun). In my opinion, the burger really taste and smell very bolly wood. The patty itself taste and smell like the usual mutton curry you can get in prata stalls. Say, if you are not a indian spice fanatic, then I suggest you to give this dish a miss. Again, the main dish only comes with 1 side. Either a coleslaw or mash potato. For a heavy eater, I am pretty sure they will probably still have alot of stomach space for some dessert to end their meal.

 
Ended our meal with a sweet note. The ice-cream taste like Wall's Ice Cream and not Ben & Jerry. A little disappointed. Taste rather common and nothing special about it.

Venue is rather small but this place has long tables that can accomodate lasge group gathering up to 10pax each long table which they have 2 long stretch of tables. And few bar counter look alike tables. (We end up sharing table with 2 other strangers on 1 of the bar counter look alike table. That is how small the cafe is.)
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Honey Mustard Chicken Kebab
 
Date of Visit: Aug 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Interesting concept OK Sep 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Japanese | Fusion

 

 

 
This restaurant offers a wide range of selection of Western and Japanese fusion food. The only place with the interesting concept that allow me to eat spaghetti with chopsticks! Personally, I feel that the prices offered for their spaghetti is rather acceptable.

Only thing that I feel they should reconsider is the fact that they don't allow pre-reservation on a weekend. (And I thought all the more because of the large pool of weekend crowd they should allow a certain percentage of the patron intake as pre-reservation.)
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Yuba,Shrimp,Mozzarella & Onsen Egg
 
Date of Visit: May 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0