OpenRice Index
  
wahju
This is wahju living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Buffet , Pasta, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review39 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity115 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲34 Follower(s)
wahju  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 39 Reviews in Singapore
Food for thought indeed. Smile Sep 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly


I have a liking for cafe or restaurant that embraces the concept for their customers to customise their own dish. I guess it's a little more of a hassle for the chef but definitely more pleasing to the individual customers since all of us have unique taste.

Like eighteen chef, Food for thought also have the similar interesting concept that I love, one which allow customers to be adventurous to customize their own dish.

 
As you can see, the price of the various 'ingredients' are stated individually and you can easily customize your own dish according to your taste bud and also, financial practicalitly wise, according to your budget.

Now that there is also circle line that leads to Botanical Garden, makes travelling alot easier.

 
The garlic mushroom smell and taste really good and does not have a too over powering garlic taste. People like me who do not prefer too heavy garlic taste would still love it i'm sure.

Salad is freshly made and vegetables are really crunchy and good.

Sausage is grilled(I supposed) nicely and not too geasy. Chewy and tangy.

Love my own customized dish! smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Customize your own dish
 
Date of Visit: Feb 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Roasted Chicken Smile Sep 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French


Situated directly opposite Jamie's Italian yet able to sttract their own group of crowd.

 
When My sister and I was waiting for our turn to get a table into the restaurant, on the first look, the first comment my sister made was: Ayer, the chicken looks kinda dry and tough.

Thank God I never listen to her. I thought since the poulet chicken is their signature dish, it should'nt be that bad after all and decided I should still give it a try.

There is a saying of don't judge a book by the cover. Well, I 'll say never judge a chicken by how the skin looked.
The chicken came in their special mushroom sauce and the skin taste kinda sweet like some honey roasted chicken. The meat on the otherhand, is totally not what we expected but rather the opposite. It was tender and juicy and goes well with their sauce. However, do note that the sauce given i guarantee you is not enough for the half chicken. Suggest you request for extra sauce since it wont be charged to your bill anyway.

 
On a side note, the Oxtail stew taste kinda like the kind of canned food braised pigs trotters which our mom would have feed us with during our childhood days during her busy day. Beef is marinated well but it is rather on the tough side and really taste like the canned food. If you prefer tender beef then I guess more or less this dish ain't gonna please you.

Service wise, somehow the server will 'forget' to give your change back once you make payment(it happened to the couple next to our table as well) and we ended up waiting aimlessly for 15minutes until we enquire again while the servers stand around doing nothing.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Poulet Roasted Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Sep 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Steak in a quiet cafe Smile Sep 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

 
Initially I thought that the portion of the 250g looking steak look rather deceivingly small. After my first bite and it is so unexpectedly good that all the more I thought that the portion confirm wont make me full at all. But after finishing every bit on the plate plus a cocktail drink, I am bloated till I can even order any dessert at all.

Ordered medium rare and the steak came out just right. Not too bloody. Wish it is more tender other than just chewy. The beef taste of the charcoal grill taste and combining it with the red wine sauce taste really unexpectedly great. would definitely come again for the beef.

 
Rosemary grill Pork Chop taste good but the beef has a stronger taste and if I were to come back again, I would pick the beef. Rosemary spice taste is not very strong. Onion rings are god as they come with real big rings of onions.

Bought a deal coupon and paid $14.90 with a complementary cocktail. Great deal of the day. Cocktail prices are not stated on the menu.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Steak
 
Date of Visit: Jul 15, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Kids-Friendly

 
Not the first time there and brought friends there for a belated birthday celebration.

Coming into this restaurant feels like stepping into Korea. Real Korean servers welcome you, Korean music blasting and authentic Korean food served onto the table.

The seafood army stew's broth is not too spicy and best of all, it is not oily and does not give a jelak feel unlike the one I have tasted at bibigo. Only disappointment is that the portion is not very big and honestly as a Korean soup lover I would really wish for more broth to be serve for tis dish.

Seafood pancakes taste best when it is combined with the sauce. Totally not oily at all and I am sure it will please any healthy conscious people as well.

Ja Jung Myun serve there is not too sweet and goes really well with the noodle. Personally I am not a sweet tooth and this dish is my favourite from this restaurant. With a lot of onion bits and (I suppose Chicken Meat) bits and pieces of meat that complement perfectly with the noodle and black sauce. I am no gourmet expert but with this dish? I am sold.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ja Jung Myun; Pancakes
 
Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Thumbs up for food and service! Smile Sep 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Kids-Friendly

 
Wide selection of sushi to choose from is available to satisfy hungry taste buds.

 
This sashimi salad comes with 2-3 kind of sashimi which consist of salmon, tuna and the other kind of fish which is unknow to me haha. Sashimi is very fresh and definitely food to satisfy sashimi lovers who are on some strict diet plan.

 
Their crabmeat chawanmushi comes with really alot of authentic crabmeat. Sweet yet not overpowering the egg.

 
The sukiyaki pot is good enough to feed two. Although not on the menu, you can request to order chicken sukiyaki instead of the beef ones on the menu. Comes with really abundance of vegetables and alot of ingredient. Rice or udon cost extra $5. In total, I paid $25 inclusive of GST for sukiyaki + Udon. Which the portion is good enough to feed 2. Totally worth the money!

Only downside, the chicken meat is chicken karaage instead of chicken slices. Karaage turns soggy after soaking the soup up. sad

Service is great too. The server will keep on topping up green tea(If your ordered any). And be very prompt to remove any empty plates.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sukiyaki,Sashimi salad
 
Date of Visit: Sep 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0