OpenRice Index
  
wahju
This is wahju living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Buffet , Pasta, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review39 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity115 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲34 Follower(s)
wahju  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 39 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Chinese Soup

 
Love their honey mustard chicken!

Located near where I stay makes it conveniently available for satisfying my food cravings after a tired day.

A Chicken Chop that cost just $7.90 comes with either fries/ rice and 2 other side dish to choose from. For a small eater, this meal would be able to feed 2!

If you are a big eater, and this is not enough for you? You can also choose to top up $2.50 for a mushroom soup that is thick and savoury and you can totally taste and eat the mushroom bits in the soup unlike many that choose to blend the soup into puree mode, Lava Rock choose to allow you to taste and savour on the mushroom bits in the soup also proving that their soup are not made from Campbell after all.

Only down side: Their mushroom soup used to come with free garlic bread but now they decided to charge the garlic bread for $2 if you actually want any in the 1st place.

Only thing to compensate: A friendly server who would always smile and be very polite serving and advising you on their menu.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  honey mustard chicken chop,mushroom soup
 
Date of Visit: May 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

We are ambushed! Smile Sep 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

Have to make reservation early. Otherwise there might e queue when it comes to lunch or dinner time.

 
This is a red wine dish. Only this dish taste very bitter. It is as though it is soaked in herbal wine and feels like you are drinking some tonic soup.

 
The Ambush Paella is a great dish! The tomato base seafood dish is a dish that does not give off a sick feeling.

 
Fan of Squid Ink related food would love this dish.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ambush Paella
 
Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cake in a Jug! Smile Sep 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Café | Desserts and Cakes

 
Was sourcing for a cake to celebrate my best friend's birthday and happen to walk passed this little café at the basement of The Central Clark Quay and decided to buy one for the birthday girl.

Just a single mouth and it came really as a surprise. Bought the tiramisu flavour. They have many other interesting taste that the lady boss came up with and even tiramisu comes with 2 types: Rum or without Rum. Good for people who dislike alcohol taste or allergic to it.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tiramisu
 
Date of Visit: Jul 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chee Ban Heng Restaurant Smile Sep 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Chinese Soup

A coffee shop within the shop houses along the same street as AVA hides stalls that sells really nice pig's organ soup by an elderly couple.

Down side, lunch hour the whole entire coffee shop would be really pack and that place is really warm. And the old couple would sometimes forget or mix up the orders.

The pig's organ soup sold by them does not have the over powering peppery taste which I really hate. The soup comes with pickled vegetable that adds on to the flavor of the soup making it more savoury. The chilli complements the soup alot as well.

This stall closes by 3pm according to the owner. If you are interested in 老味道, do remember to patronise early!

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pig's Organ Soup
 
Date of Visit: Sep 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

End your day with a sweet note Smile Sep 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Bakery | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads

I'm not really a sweet tooth person and I am really not a fan of caramel. But the Royal Pudding(Original taste) with a thin layer of caramel at the bottom yet not over powering the milky taste of the royal pudding but complementing it perfectly. Not too sweet and after one bottle of it, honestly I would still crave for more. A small little bottle for close to $4. A little steep but totally can be a reward to self once in a while as an encouragement or something. Perfect littl ensack for love ones.
Strawberry shortcake

Strawberry shortcake

 
Straberry shortcake is fluffy and not too sweet with fresh strawberries within. A refreshing snack that goes along perfectly with a little coffee/drink over tea break or dessert to end your day perfectly.
Original Royal Pudding

Original Royal Pudding

 
Venue can be a little too pack and tables might not be very clean as the turnover rate of the tables are really high especially during peak hours. Interesting fact that though the name says Paris, this entire place is serve by koreans.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Royal Pudding,Strawberry shortcake
 
Date of Visit: Aug 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0