OpenRice Index
  
wahju
This is wahju living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Buffet , Pasta, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review39 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity115 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲34 Follower(s)
wahju  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 39 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Kids-Friendly

 
Not the first time there and brought friends there for a belated birthday celebration.

Coming into this restaurant feels like stepping into Korea. Real Korean servers welcome you, Korean music blasting and authentic Korean food served onto the table.

The seafood army stew's broth is not too spicy and best of all, it is not oily and does not give a jelak feel unlike the one I have tasted at bibigo. Only disappointment is that the portion is not very big and honestly as a Korean soup lover I would really wish for more broth to be serve for tis dish.

Seafood pancakes taste best when it is combined with the sauce. Totally not oily at all and I am sure it will please any healthy conscious people as well.

Ja Jung Myun serve there is not too sweet and goes really well with the noodle. Personally I am not a sweet tooth and this dish is my favourite from this restaurant. With a lot of onion bits and (I suppose Chicken Meat) bits and pieces of meat that complement perfectly with the noodle and black sauce. I am no gourmet expert but with this dish? I am sold.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ja Jung Myun; Pancakes
 
Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Thumbs up for food and service! Smile Sep 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Kids-Friendly

 
Wide selection of sushi to choose from is available to satisfy hungry taste buds.

 
This sashimi salad comes with 2-3 kind of sashimi which consist of salmon, tuna and the other kind of fish which is unknow to me haha. Sashimi is very fresh and definitely food to satisfy sashimi lovers who are on some strict diet plan.

 
Their crabmeat chawanmushi comes with really alot of authentic crabmeat. Sweet yet not overpowering the egg.

 
The sukiyaki pot is good enough to feed two. Although not on the menu, you can request to order chicken sukiyaki instead of the beef ones on the menu. Comes with really abundance of vegetables and alot of ingredient. Rice or udon cost extra $5. In total, I paid $25 inclusive of GST for sukiyaki + Udon. Which the portion is good enough to feed 2. Totally worth the money!

Only downside, the chicken meat is chicken karaage instead of chicken slices. Karaage turns soggy after soaking the soup up. sad

Service is great too. The server will keep on topping up green tea(If your ordered any). And be very prompt to remove any empty plates.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sukiyaki,Sashimi salad
 
Date of Visit: Sep 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

We are ambushed! Smile Sep 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

Have to make reservation early. Otherwise there might e queue when it comes to lunch or dinner time.

 
This is a red wine dish. Only this dish taste very bitter. It is as though it is soaked in herbal wine and feels like you are drinking some tonic soup.

 
The Ambush Paella is a great dish! The tomato base seafood dish is a dish that does not give off a sick feeling.

 
Fan of Squid Ink related food would love this dish.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ambush Paella
 
Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sushi with great deal! Smile Sep 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

The great deal about this place? They have daily special sushi that can cost as low as $0.40 each. YES YOU ARE NOT READING ME WRONG. Meaning even if you order two sushi on a plate (similar to what you can find elsewhere, two sushi per plate) will only cost $0.80! Itacho also has a wide range of creative sushi available that is not only looks good but taste great as well.

 
The sashimi available is also very fresh, unlike some that you find in other sushi places.

 
Chawanmushi with crabmeat really comes with substancial amount of fresh crabmeat.

Overall, value for money indeed! Would visit this place againsmile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  abalone sushi,chawanmushi,sashimi
 
Spending per head: Approximately $34(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Steak in a quiet cafe Smile Sep 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

 
Initially I thought that the portion of the 250g looking steak look rather deceivingly small. After my first bite and it is so unexpectedly good that all the more I thought that the portion confirm wont make me full at all. But after finishing every bit on the plate plus a cocktail drink, I am bloated till I can even order any dessert at all.

Ordered medium rare and the steak came out just right. Not too bloody. Wish it is more tender other than just chewy. The beef taste of the charcoal grill taste and combining it with the red wine sauce taste really unexpectedly great. would definitely come again for the beef.

 
Rosemary grill Pork Chop taste good but the beef has a stronger taste and if I were to come back again, I would pick the beef. Rosemary spice taste is not very strong. Onion rings are god as they come with real big rings of onions.

Bought a deal coupon and paid $14.90 with a complementary cocktail. Great deal of the day. Cocktail prices are not stated on the menu.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Steak
 
Date of Visit: Jul 15, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0