OpenRice Index
  
wahju
This is wahju living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Buffet , Pasta, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review39 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity115 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲34 Follower(s)
wahju  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 39 Reviews in Singapore
Good Steak in a quiet cafe Smile Sep 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

 
Initially I thought that the portion of the 250g looking steak look rather deceivingly small. After my first bite and it is so unexpectedly good that all the more I thought that the portion confirm wont make me full at all. But after finishing every bit on the plate plus a cocktail drink, I am bloated till I can even order any dessert at all.

Ordered medium rare and the steak came out just right. Not too bloody. Wish it is more tender other than just chewy. The beef taste of the charcoal grill taste and combining it with the red wine sauce taste really unexpectedly great. would definitely come again for the beef.

 
Rosemary grill Pork Chop taste good but the beef has a stronger taste and if I were to come back again, I would pick the beef. Rosemary spice taste is not very strong. Onion rings are god as they come with real big rings of onions.

Bought a deal coupon and paid $14.90 with a complementary cocktail. Great deal of the day. Cocktail prices are not stated on the menu.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Steak
 
Date of Visit: Jul 15, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Kids-Friendly

 
Not the first time there and brought friends there for a belated birthday celebration.

Coming into this restaurant feels like stepping into Korea. Real Korean servers welcome you, Korean music blasting and authentic Korean food served onto the table.

The seafood army stew's broth is not too spicy and best of all, it is not oily and does not give a jelak feel unlike the one I have tasted at bibigo. Only disappointment is that the portion is not very big and honestly as a Korean soup lover I would really wish for more broth to be serve for tis dish.

Seafood pancakes taste best when it is combined with the sauce. Totally not oily at all and I am sure it will please any healthy conscious people as well.

Ja Jung Myun serve there is not too sweet and goes really well with the noodle. Personally I am not a sweet tooth and this dish is my favourite from this restaurant. With a lot of onion bits and (I suppose Chicken Meat) bits and pieces of meat that complement perfectly with the noodle and black sauce. I am no gourmet expert but with this dish? I am sold.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ja Jung Myun; Pancakes
 
Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | European | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

 
Cant remember if it is seafood chowder or clam chowder soup. Soup base taste sweet and but a pity that it is too watery. There is really quite abit of clam meat and vegetable bits in the soup. A dish that children will love.

 
Chicken is a little tougher and drier done by this branch and taste more blend. Not as tender and savoury as the one done by The Cathay outlet.

 
Lettuce in the salad shd be cut into smaller pieces for consumptions instead of the actual slices size. Sauce is too watery and cannot really coat the vegetables well.

 
Pork Slices is too blend and again, too dry. Portion does not really feed a big eater well.

This outlet obviously has not enough man power to cater for the peak hour such as lunch or dinner crowd. Situated at a corner opposite the 7eleven, the queue for a table eventually leads to blocking the way of the rest of the people visiting the mall when there is not enough help in clearing the tables fast and allowing people to go in. Even when you eventually gets a table, it takes really quite awhile before the servers have time to cater to your need to make an order.

Basically, if you are really thinking of visiting this outlet, I suggest that you pop by before or after peak hour. Unless you really dont mind queuing in a long queue to get a table, and eventually, also queue again to make payment.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Clam Chowder
 
Date of Visit: Sep 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Awesome Custard Bun OK Sep 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Coffeeshop | Dim Sum

 

 
Away from the buzzing town area hides a awesome Hong Kong Dim Sum Stall in a residential place in Ang Mo Kio.

What's the amusing thing? According to my sister who bought the Dim Sum, the food seems prepared by vietnamese instead of the typical chinese or even HongKongers. And what's more surprising is that the food taste really not too bad at all.

I would recommend their Special Dairy Salted Bun AKA custard bun. You can really taste the sweet and salty taste of the Salted egg flavour in the bun and it is the liquidify kind and bursting out when you take a bite from it.

Their Shrimp Dumplings is not the kind you will see one large prawn inside kind but more of chunks of shrimps with those minced shrimp paste as inner fillings.

What I dislike is probably their Chee Cheong Fun. If you have eaten authentic CCF in Hong Kong before, you will really prefer one which the rice skin is really thin and a little towards the translucent kind and those are the ones who made the best tasting CCF. And apparently it is not like this here. The rice skin is too thick and eating too much of those will give off a jelak feel. The sauce is also a little on the salty side for the Char Siew CCF that we've ordered.

Overall, It's a place good to try for the first time. But if given a choice? I'll rather go swee choon. (Unless I have a Die hard craving for their custard buns theh perhaps. Till then, we shall see.)

FYI: We Ordered 1 porridege, 1 Char Siew CCF, 1 set Shrimp Dumplings, 1 set Coriander Dumplings, 1 set Special Dairy Salted Bun, 1 set pan-fried Turnip cake, 1 set sesame Mango Shrimp Roll(Thumps up! best eaten there. 2nd love other than the Special Dairy Salted Bun) for 3 person. IT'S ABUNDANCE OF FOOD FOR 3 GIRLS.

1 set comes in 3 pieces.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Special Dairy Salted Bun,sesame Mango Shrimp Roll
 
Date of Visit: Sep 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Thumbs up for food and service! Smile Sep 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Kids-Friendly

 
Wide selection of sushi to choose from is available to satisfy hungry taste buds.

 
This sashimi salad comes with 2-3 kind of sashimi which consist of salmon, tuna and the other kind of fish which is unknow to me haha. Sashimi is very fresh and definitely food to satisfy sashimi lovers who are on some strict diet plan.

 
Their crabmeat chawanmushi comes with really alot of authentic crabmeat. Sweet yet not overpowering the egg.

 
The sukiyaki pot is good enough to feed two. Although not on the menu, you can request to order chicken sukiyaki instead of the beef ones on the menu. Comes with really abundance of vegetables and alot of ingredient. Rice or udon cost extra $5. In total, I paid $25 inclusive of GST for sukiyaki + Udon. Which the portion is good enough to feed 2. Totally worth the money!

Only downside, the chicken meat is chicken karaage instead of chicken slices. Karaage turns soggy after soaking the soup up. sad

Service is great too. The server will keep on topping up green tea(If your ordered any). And be very prompt to remove any empty plates.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sukiyaki,Sashimi salad
 
Date of Visit: Sep 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0