OpenRice Index
  
wahju
This is wahju living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Buffet , Pasta, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review39 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity115 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲34 Follower(s)
wahju  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 39 Reviews in Singapore
Suger overload Cry Sep 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Brunch

 
This Lemon Tart that my Boy friend got for me is definitely not for those that does not like soury food at all. Not only is it sweet, it is also extremely sourish(or at least for me).

Pros and cons. Sour would wet your appetite more but too sour can also kill your mood for more food i guess.

They also have this brownie which you can literally taste bits of sugar in the cake and honestly, not for the faint hearted. You really need to be a die hard sweet tooth to like all these sugary pastry.

Like I say, if you are not a sweet tooth, the pastries they sell will really not to your liking.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Chinese Soup

 
Love their honey mustard chicken!

Located near where I stay makes it conveniently available for satisfying my food cravings after a tired day.

A Chicken Chop that cost just $7.90 comes with either fries/ rice and 2 other side dish to choose from. For a small eater, this meal would be able to feed 2!

If you are a big eater, and this is not enough for you? You can also choose to top up $2.50 for a mushroom soup that is thick and savoury and you can totally taste and eat the mushroom bits in the soup unlike many that choose to blend the soup into puree mode, Lava Rock choose to allow you to taste and savour on the mushroom bits in the soup also proving that their soup are not made from Campbell after all.

Only down side: Their mushroom soup used to come with free garlic bread but now they decided to charge the garlic bread for $2 if you actually want any in the 1st place.

Only thing to compensate: A friendly server who would always smile and be very polite serving and advising you on their menu.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  honey mustard chicken chop,mushroom soup
 
Date of Visit: May 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value for money OK Sep 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

Hidden at the basement level of The Cathay, Nihon Mura provides a wide range of choices for hungry patrons to satisfied their taste buds.

The sushi bar provides a over flowing plates of sushi and dishes from the menu and if you cant find what you want, you can also make ala carte order that is of affordable and attractive price range.

 
Mussels with mentai with a tinge of lemon juice over it brings out the freshness of the mussels. A pity that the Mentai is not 'roasted' over the fire enough. Other wise would taste even better without the fishy taste.

 
Classic sushi taste like the crabstick sushi or tuna sushi is also available to choose from.

 
Innovative sushi such as roast duck sushi is one of my favourite. Meat is tender and not bland.

 
Craving for some fried food? Tempura choices are also available. whether or not you are craving for some vegetable tempura or ebi fry, Nihon mura will satisfy your needs.

 
Sashimi comes in thickness just right. Not too small or thin. Honestly speaking, for the price you are paying, the sashimi is already very worth the price. After all, you get what you are paying for.

 
Overall, Nihon Mura is a place that is more affordable for even students or working adults who just want to satisfy their sushi craving yet not willing too pay too much for the food they are eating. A place value for money indeed.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  duck sushi,agedashi tofu and sashimi
 
Date of Visit: Jun 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice ambience OK Sep 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Seafood | Chinese Soup | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads | Roasted Meat | Kids-Friendly

 
Love the ambience of this place! A good place for dates and there is a drink counter that sells over a 100 types of beer and good for working adults to unwind.

Still prefer the rosti over at marche. Marche's rosti is bigger and less soggy as compared to Medz's.

Medz's chicken paella is not too bad for a try too. chicken is tender and dish is not too dry.

Price of dish is still consider steep but kinda feel like we're paying more for the ambience.

Self service place. Marche concept.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Paella
 
Date of Visit: Apr 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

We are ambushed! Smile Sep 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

Have to make reservation early. Otherwise there might e queue when it comes to lunch or dinner time.

 
This is a red wine dish. Only this dish taste very bitter. It is as though it is soaked in herbal wine and feels like you are drinking some tonic soup.

 
The Ambush Paella is a great dish! The tomato base seafood dish is a dish that does not give off a sick feeling.

 
Fan of Squid Ink related food would love this dish.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ambush Paella
 
Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0